Malthouse

• Thread starter Thread starter domus

i shouldn't have entered this thread. we've all done this before. agree to disagree.

my appologies

You shouldn't have entered this life..... but Collingwood supporters are very forgiving.

As for the comments about Malthouse, I have agreed with them all. I think most of us respected him before the premiership. He is an "alpha-male" "my way or the highway" type of person, so you have to expect a large degree of self-centredness. However, it's his unwillingness to address his faults, his shortcomings and instances where he has been wrong, that is his real weakness. One example is the Milne episode. He has refused to consider the divisiveness of his decisions to treat players like Swan as special cases.

His war with the media was laughable during the years. At its height when he coached West Coast, it was seen as a mechanism to prevent the media from causing division within the club. In later years, I think we've all discovered that, more than hating the media, he views everyone except himself, his family and a few trusted friends as outsiders. He talked about Collingwood supporters in such generous terms but I think we can see now that he was just "stroking" us.

I have to say something about the famed frontal defence, full court defensive zone that appeared in 2010 and basically won us that premiership. Malthouse, after the win, spoke of his love for Sun Tzu's "Art of War" and the Greek Phalanx. He spoke about the number of years that it took for develop such a formation. However, he didn't say a positive word about the forward line assistant coach at the time. I remember at the time smelling the stench of the crap that Malthouse was spreading around. I remember thinking that, except for a few words praising his fitness guru mate, he was happy to take all the glory of the premiership win. It was the start of my reappraisal of Michael Malthouse.

Looking back, Collingwood at the end of the 90s was a mess. It needed strong focused leadership and a clear direction. Malthouse assisted Eddie in doing just that. For a club that had lived with a type of Labor-party factional leadership for most of its life, the new leadership approach was critical. We needed everyone on the same page to ensure that Collingwood took advantage of its key advantage - the fact that it was the biggest club. But while Malthouse helped provide a strong football focus, it was Eddie who built bridges between all the different groups. It was Eddie who took the lead, just as he has done this time. So while Malthouse has played his part, it is Eddie who did the hard yards.

You only have to look at Malthouse's reaction of Ed's efforts to mend this bridge, to see that Malthouse's view of relationships is that you're either with him or against him. There is no middle ground. If he was an administrator at a club, there is no doubt in my mind that the club would eventually end in division. He has been lucky with his choice of clubs so far, or maybe he has chosen wisely. He has been assisted by some excellent administrators and coaches at West Coast and Collingwood, that has allowed him to put his "winning formula" into place.

The question now is whether the Blues are going to give him the same level of support. If they don't, he will end up looking like a greyer version of Mark Neeld.

I don't agree that he cost us the flag in 2011. Teams had worked us out and its hard to create a new style in a few weeks. He did a few odd things in the GF, such as leave Reid on Hawkins, but overall I just think Geelong were the better side on the day.

Mick Malthouse is a vindictive, nasty piece of work. Malthouse placed his own needs ahead of the team he coached throughout his final year. He has still never explained his appearance on The Footy Show six weeks before our finals campaign began It was the most sickeningly self indulgent display one could imagine and it was all about Mick and it derailed our season. He lied when he said he could never coach against his boys. We saw the real Malthouse only moments after we won the flag in 2010. Even then, only a minute after the final siren, Mick's first words were about himself and his contract with Eddie. It says so much about the man.

He took pot shots at Buckley even while still coaching Collingwood and did the same last year when he was in the media. He signed the contract and as far as I know there was no gun pointed at his head.

It amazes me how this bloke has tried to portray himself as an innocent victim when he is the one who should be apologising.

I can only hope [Mercenary "One Trick" Mick]'s time at Carlton is an abject failure. Sadly, he can coach, so my hopes will probably be thwarted.

Rest easy, son...

"One Trick" has shot his bolt.

As the drill Sergeant Major says, "WAAAIIIT FOOR IIIT!"

Can we just lay this to rest?

Malthouse was our coach.

Now he's Carlton's.

And along the way he did some very unprofessional things that reflected poorly on him as a coach and as a person. Still, he helped turn the rabble we were into perennial finalists and got us one premiership. Probably cost us another, but I'm pretty happy with where the Club is now compared to where it was.

Sure, he's up himself, but he's not our problem to deal with any more.

I doubt Bucks gets worked up or is kept awake at night because of Malthouse's comments. Why should we?

As for his tenure at Carlton, I always hope Carlton fails. So Malthouse being there doesn't change a thing in my book. ;)

He's a good coach, and we're indebted to him for winning us a flag, but like everyone on Earth he is flawed, and his particular flaw is that he is largely full of shit.
absolutely correct and if you can follow his somewhat convoluted train of thought when he has to explain anything in detail then you are a better man than i am gungerdin !

Cannot believe he is still angry, bitter and vindictive.

His comments were rubbish about "Eddie knows why". Like has been said, Ed has never changed his story about our succession plan and how it all took place and unfolded. It is Mick who is not being true to everyone and more importantly to himself.

He missed a golden opportunity to extend or attempt to extend an olive branch like Ed did a few weeks ago. In typical Malthouse fashion, not only did he blow it but he made it all about himself again.

There is zero class in a human being that is unable to display any social grace when another extends an olive branch.

In other words what a grumpy ol' ****a that dude is... MM suffers from P.L.O.M (Poor little Old Me) Syndrome.

Malthouse was always an abrasive, vindictive bastard. None of you noticed because he was coaching you!!
Exactly, he was our grumpy old fool for 12 years, now he's Carlton's GOF.:p

The difference is basically that he's older than he's ever been now, obviously, so he's grumpier, older and more foolish than before.:cool:

Im sliding with Malthouse in this tiff.

The whole succession plan was a massive **** up by Eddie. Purely designed to keep Buckley from coaching North as Eddies ego couldnt stomach Buckley coaching another team.

Malthouse role was not defined when the deal was 'apparently done' and obviously with Mick doing so well with the team in his last couple of seasons he didnt want to step aside after winning a premiership and grand final appearance. Fair enough if you ask me.

To suggest that Eddie has done nothing to agitate Mick and is therefore blameless is laughable.

Mick Malthouse is an adult. If he didn't like the succession plan proposal he didn't have to agree to it. If the role wasn't well enough defined for him, he could have sought clarification. He would have demanded similar mettle from his players and support staff, if analogous situations arose with their roles.

Instead he turned the plan into a long running, self-serving and distracting charade which went a long way toward derailing a premiership tilt.

It remains to be seen if his game plan is even still effective in 2013.

I like Mick as a coach, not as the man.
But that's all that matters to me in football. I don't give a shit what he had for breakfast. He lead us to a 2010 Premiership.
I am thankful for that. He is a legend in my books. I don't like seeing such stereotypical hate from people who are obviously just offended about him moving to Carlton.

Sad.

Mick Malthouse is an adult. If he didn't like the succession plan proposal he didn't have to agree to it. If the role wasn't well enough defined for him, he could have sought clarification. He would have demanded similar mettle from his players and support staff, if analogous situations arose with their roles.

Instead he turned the plan into a long running, self-serving and distracting charade which went a long way toward derailing a premiership tilt.

It remains to be seen if his game plan is even still effective in 2013.
I would bet that is the whole crux of this issue. Maybe there was an agreement between Eddie and Mick that was not follow through (probably verbal) and Mick is bitter about.

When Mick says that only Eddie knows the problem between the two, it is quite clear to me Eddie promised him something and changed his mind.

If i was to guess, i would bet Mick was under the illusion that if the team made the grand final again, he could still coach the team next season.

Personally I find that to be pretty dubious. Such an arrangement sounds way too amateur-hour to me, for the likes of Eddie and Bucks to agree to it.

I find it more likely that Mick expected to have a bigger role on match days, but Eddie recognized Bucks would need to be The Man if it was to work, otherwise the players, having been previously coached by MM, wouldn't know which way to look.

Rodney Eade was then able to be brought in with a match day role, because he had no prior history with the players and wouldn't cause a dilution of the message being put across.

Mick Maltouse came to a team that was a basket case and nearly pinched us a flag in 2002/2003. Then rebuilt so well that we have been top four for about 5 years, with one flag. When he left, our list was in absolutely fabulous shape and set to challenge for 5 years. I reckon he should go down as a Collingwood great and an absolute legend. To me,his only misdemeanour s that he publicly announced his annoyance over being sacked whilst he and his side were at the top of their game.

I was a Huge Mick fan, UNTIL he put up his hand after The Suns beat Carlton last year, Then he showed his true Colors, Egomaniac, Liar, Deceiver, Vindictive PR*CK!
After having a go at the Media for stepping on Rattens Grave all year, here he was stamping on it, Boots an All!
Mick lost us the 2011 Flag, dont fool yourselves, he or his manager where talking to Carlton in 2010, why the hell would Mick Malloy make such a prediction in Apr 2010?
Mick Malthouse is sly, because he won a flag in 2010, he wanted the Contract changed, he didnt get his way and Cracked it, 6 WEEKS before the 2011 Finals (on TFS), we lose the GF and he blames everybody but himself, WTF.
MM Cried after the Hawthorn Collingwood Prelim, he was conflicted between HIS boys and Shoving it up Eddie, at the end he shoved it up everybody.
MM is at Carlton for the wrong reasons, he knows it, if he can be honest with himself, but I doubt it, he can do no wrong, just ask him!
Go Pies!

First off, a great coach, and instrumental in putting the Collingwood playing group on a solid grounding. Had a hand, two feed and a torso in winning us a Premiership. However:

I think it's time Mick moved on. Put up, and shut up. Simple. Either come out and put his story straight about why Ed wanted Buckley over Malthouse with his version of the way it happened, or put it to bed. His immediate concern is Carlton, and boy do they have some problems.

Mick might be able to drag Ed's reputation through the mud a bit, but not without damaging his own brand. Collingwood did what it thought was best, move on. Mick has forgotten a very important thing; clubs stick around, where coaches, players, administrations - they move on and can be easily forgotten.

If he wants to be remembered at Collingwood for all the good he did, then quit while he's ahead. Pies fans loved him, and they'll turn real quick if he keeps this brand of bullshit up.

And, on a side note - he had a choice of any club that was available, he went to Carlton. That's not easily forgivable either.

I like Mick as a coach, not as the man.
But that's all that matters to me in football. I don't give a shit what he had for breakfast. He lead us to a 2010 Premiership.
I am thankful for that. He is a legend in my books. I don't like seeing such stereotypical hate from people who are obviously just offended about him moving to Carlton.

Sad.
He was a bitter , nasty man when he coached Collingwood. I said it repeatedly throughout his time with us. Just watch any press conference after a game, win,lose or draw. He treats people like they are the dirt beneath his feet. He is a good coach, but unlike you, I cannot always separate the person from the job. He is a liar with a huge ego. Good old "I could never coach against my boys, Mick"-full of shite to the bitter end.

Mick is a career coach. He likes to bring young players under his wing and give them big man hugs. He's not Collingwood, so people need to forget about this garbage.

If he was Collingwood, he would have stuck around to help Buckley. He f*cking BURNED Buckley in the transition. Hug Neeld, praise Watters but treat Buckley like a piece of excrement. For a man of his age, what immaturity.

He can eat a big one.

The whole succession plan was a massive **** up by Eddie. Purely designed to keep Buckley from coaching North as Eddies ego couldnt stomach Buckley coaching another team.

Malthouse role was not defined when the deal was 'apparently done' and obviously with Mick doing so well with the team in his last couple of seasons he didnt want to step aside after winning a premiership and grand final appearance. Fair enough if you ask me.

To suggest that Eddie has done nothing to agitate Mick and is therefore blameless is laughable.

Such short memories. As Nick Maxwell subtly pointed out today-at the time Malthouse was asked to sign the succession contract we were 3 and 6 in his 9th or 10th year at the club after another failed finals campaign the previous year. Ball and Jolly were not on the agenda and we looked like a club crying out for a fresh change. He chose to sign the contract-end of story. He then white anted the club for most of his final season and even had a dig on the premiership podium. It's all about Mick and always will be.

This thread here has a bunch of resources in the OP to remind folks about the sequence of events.

Such short memories. As Nick Maxwell subtly pointed out today-at the time Malthouse was asked to sign the succession contract we were 3 and 6 in his 9th or 10th year at the club after another failed finals campaign the previous year. Ball and Jolly were not on the agenda and we looked like a club crying out for a fresh change. He chose to sign the contract-end of story. He then white anted the club for most of his final season and even had a dig on the premiership podium. It's all about Mick and always will be.

That's it in nut shell. When he signed the contract we were middle of the road unable to beat the top sides. He had 9 years and we looked no closer to winning the flag. He was given two extra years when most people were saying we should turf him. We win the 2010 grand final and people forget how bad we were the last few years.

It shouldn't surprise anyone, but the parochialism of supporters is astounding. It's funny how so many, myself included, had this real hatred dislike of Mick while he was at Collingwood but we chose to ignore it and put it to the back of ours minds because of the success he brought us, yet as soon as he's out of the place we all bash him (a lot of it warranted) from pillar to post. Long live footy.