Certified Legendary Thread Future of James Aish, for a limited time only! (trolling opposition supporters automatic day off)

So additional cap?

Whatever it takes to stop your club being treated as a 1/2way house. The AFL right now seems to be out of control.
Your predicament filed in the too hard basket. We stood on principle with Nick Stevens in 2003 and got sweet FA.
We did our best to be fair re Polec. We ain't perfect but if its any comfort(probably isn't) Aish is seen by us a
duplicitous,deceitful flog. I've read a few pages of this thread and the anger is obvious AND justified.
The AFL have let you down by sitting on their hands for more than 10yrs judging from Lethal's quotes.
The obscene wages the AFL movers and shakers are on leads me to believe they are nothing more than
lazy comfortable thieves.

If the Lions do put him in the PSD, it would be a very rare occurrence. For the most part, players nominate a Club that they want to go to (even contacted ones, like Beams) and they get there ... no matter what.

It is essentially the player who chooses their own destiny after that first contract.

Last time it happen was Nick Stevens from Port... He wanted to go to the Pies and they wanted to bargain trade. Port back then had to make a stance and let him go into the drafts. He ended up go to carlton and missing out of a GF

What's one player in the bigger scheme of things?

No single player alone will ever get you to a Premiership.....It's that intangible thing called culture that takes individuals and the collective to another level.

Brisbane are making a statement that should have all Brisbane supporters happy in that..............we won't be walked over any more. Why not?
Lol you are a Carlton supporter. Only reason you agree with this stance is hoping he walks to the draft.

You win flags by creating a culture where everyone loves playing for your club (hawks). Forcing people to stay or go to the draft despite being able to trade for something of use wont get your anywhere. Surely anyone can see that.

You seen to forget that Brisbane poached a Collingwood contracted player last season, don't you think that if you wanted to piss Eddie off, that would have been top of the list of things to do. Eddie may have taken the whole things personally but I doubt anybody else involved in the club would have. At least he for filled his contract unlike Boyd last season.

I certainly hope you guys do the right thing and trade him but time will tell. His contracted until the end of the month so the call is yours. I don't think Collingwood will stuff you guys around. I pretty sure they will offer fair player value, but it will be up to Brisbane to come to the table.

I don't think we want to piss Eddie off. Considering the past I'm sure we just try to exist and do as many things we can do that don't draw the ire of the fat, dictatorial prat.

The contracted player we took had given the Pies years of great service and helped win you a premiership and was returning home to a sick father. If Aish had offered us half of what Beams had given you, I wouldn't begrudge him leaving. But he's leaving straight after his first contract which emphasises an inherent disadvantage your president refuses to acknowledge and worse, bleats from his radio show as us exploiting the system for some kind of advantage.

As for value I'm sure a trade will be met but considering you are already targeting another young gun from a frontier club I'm sure scraps are the best we'll be offered. Would rather Aish get accustomed to Carlton so we could send him there with sweetener if needed for Bell and Casboult.

not sure Pies and their supporters can feel our pain mate

You may be right. The current state of AFL in Queensland is not ideal, Brisbane have lost more than their fair share of players recently, and it seems GC are headed down a similar path. The AFL will eventually need to do something to prevent this from continuing if they want QLD football to thrive like we know it can, I don't know if Brisbane's stance on the Aish situation is overly helpful though?

Lol you are a Carlton supporter. Only reason you agree with this stance is hoping he walks to the draft.

You win flags by creating a culture where everyone loves playing for your club (hawks). Forcing people to stay or go to the draft despite being able to trade for something of use wont get your anywhere. Surely anyone can see that.

Yeah, not sure if you've been following footy for the past few years, but we're kinda getting sick of spoilt brats using us a step ladder to bigger clubs in Victoria and elsewhere. Someday, we had to make a stand, and if it means losing Aish for nothing, so be it. Make players think twice about nominaing for the national draft. FWIW I completely don't get how Freeman can dictate his terms, having never played a single game.

You got a better solution?
3-4yr contracts for first round picks to enable a bottom club to build up enough talent in a fair amount of time to move up the ladder and get rid of a bottom 6 culture to entice players to stay...

But no the AFL didn't listen to us back in 2013...

You create a culture where people want to stay by being successful. Much easier to do when you're getting priority picks (hawks) than when you're losing 6 first round picks in 3 years.

You may be right. The current state of AFL in Queensland is not ideal, Brisbane have lost more than their fair share of players recently, and it seems GC are headed down a similar path. The AFL will eventually need to do something to prevent this from continuing if they want QLD football to thrive like we know it can, I don't know if Brisbane's stance on the Aish situation is overly helpful though?

This pisses me off to no end. Something should have been done years ago and needs to be done now. Not ****ing eventually. And I hate that development of the sport at a junior level in the state seems to be reliant almost solely on two clubs rather than the AFL and we're expected to get nothing back in return.

You got a better solution?

Yes, the current flawed system is better that your "survival of the richest" proposed system which would be a Collingwood fan's wet dream.

You guys are so inculcated that you just can't see how naturally advantaged you are.

And for a poster who has claimed several times to be leaving, you're doing a shithouse job of it.

Lions stance on Aish will be...any 2nd round pick trade offers he can go to the drafts (I hope). Losing out on a 2nd round pick in this rubbish draft will hardly be be worthy of losing sleep ;)

You create a culture where people want to stay by being successful. Much easier to do when you're getting priority picks (hawks) than when you're losing 6 first round picks in 3 years.
Yeah also doesn't help you're not entitled to the very benefits that propelled the current top teams to the top of the ladder...

Not really sure it's relevant in the end is it? Is it Collingwood's fault a chunk of your players want out? I'd wager it's not.

But then, Dale Thomas, Sharrod Wellingham, Nathan Freeman, Chris Dawes and Harry O'Brien is still a decent chunk of players who have wanted out in the last 4 years too. So we're not exactly immune to it.
How many of those were high draft picks, that you really wanted to keep, really?
Wanting out is only half the story. How many more do big Vic clubs have wanting in?

My point is that so many Vic club supporters just don't get it. Despite the graphic of facts, you ignore the very real challenges of attracting a very good list up here.
It's not Collingwood's fault that it happens that way, but it is your own fault for not recognising it. It also doesn't help that the Collingwood President was instrumental in having a retention allowance (actually a locality allowance) removed. The same bloke bellyached about northern states having academies, leading to reduced access to those players.

So yeah, the "we feel your pain" and "Ahh, you'll be 'right" comments wear a bit thin.

No. If Carlton can't get what they want for Henderson, I'm good for letting him find his own way.

I'd be happy with this stance from my club but Brisbane seems to have gazumped us.

Lions stance on Aish will be...any 2nd round pick trade offers he can go to the drafts (I hope). Losing out on a 2nd round pick in this rubbish draft will hardly be be worthy of losing sleep ;)
Fair enough if that's your clubs stance you are more than entitled to see that through. With the Treloar trade being a priority I don't see us being in a position to offer that though. I'm happy to take our chances with him in the draft if it turns out we cannot facilitate a trade, but I feel a Carlton or Adelaide may swoop in before us. That is probably the worst case scenario for both clubs though would you not agree?

I don't think we want to piss Eddie off. Considering the past I'm sure we just try to exist and do as many things we can do that don't draw the ire of the fat, dictatorial prat.

The contracted player we took had given the Pies years of great service and helped win you a premiership and was returning home to a sick father. If Aish had offered us half of what Beams had given you, I wouldn't begrudge him leaving. But he's leaving straight after his first contract which emphasises an inherent disadvantage your president refuses to acknowledge and worse, bleats from his radio show as us exploiting the system for some kind of advantage.

As for value I'm sure a trade will be met but considering you are already targeting another young gun from a frontier club I'm sure scraps are the best we'll be offered. Would rather Aish get accustomed to Carlton so we could send him there with sweetener if needed for Bell and Casboult.
You forget there is the possibility of future picks as well. Both the Carlton players you are mentioning are worth a 2nd round pick each at best and your prepared to give something back, interesting.

From a playing perspective we have, Oxley who is a Queenslander, and Seedsman, but we also have a number of early 2nd round picks (early 20's) that could also land either or both of the Carlton Players you have mentioned. Its my understanding that Carlton will only offer you Casboult in a package for pick 2 which will not happen because there not worth that.

The news we have been expecting to hear for 12 months. The kid really hung us out to dry. No doubt in an attempt to get a better deal with the club of his choice. Which brings me to the most annoying part of these young players leaving. They say they want out and just want to get to Melbourne yet we have had Docherty and now Aish pick a club to play for. Surely it's a case of well you can play for the club who gives us the best deal? There are eight Melbourne sides.

I like the touch stance the club is making but i can't help think it's more a case of trying to stop pending players from leaving. If guys like Mayes are thinking of leaving this will make them think twice. Also is it a statement to Collingwood if you really hope to get Aish your going to have to give overs now. We are not afraid to send Aish into the draft - Collingwood will have to offer a lot better trade now then what they intended too.

Finally Liam Pickering if you honestly think anyone believes a word of crap you spew out you must be a bigger idiot than i thought. To spin the crap that James just made his mind up - please. You both played the game. Held out for as long as you could to get the best deal you could.

I don't think they go hand in hand at all, you could quite easily get rid of the draft without it effecting the draw. Or change the draw without it effecting the draft...

Or have a draw that is equal for all clubs, so players drafted know they will have equal development and travel times as their Victorian counterparts. Kid gets drafted to a northern team in a "national competition". The 1st couple of years they are finding their feet doing the state league thing. It's hardly a national standard or a second tier competition where we have a Brisbane 2nd V Pies 2nd instead they are running around in some paddock at the back of Burke, Why would you want to stay Seems strange with TV rights being as big as they are their isn't a more prestigious 2nd tier national competition that has an equal draw associated with it.

What would you say is fair value, given that we're not negotiating and there's no point in starting with a higher price

There is no feasible fair price for most highly promising players after two years - that is the point Matthews is making - for Aish pick 7 in the Draft - 3rd in the Rising Star after Lewy Taylor and the Bont in season one - forget this season happened in all the circumstances plus two years lost in developing a player if one is taken in the draft to replace him...whaddaya get? - pick 20 if very lucky,more like the picks 28 and 33 that the club got for Yeo and Docherty 2 years ago in this case - to replace a pick 7 after 2 years - LOVL.

In this Rugby League State of Queensland that just provided both teams for a crackajack Grand Final,repeated doses of what is described above is a one way ticket to near permanent residence for the club in Cellardwella Land or perhaps even worse - non existence.