List Mgmt. 2015 Draft Thread - Pre-Season & Rookie Draft Friday 11:00am AEDT

• Thread starter Thread starter Deanos

Bishop Thoughts on Hibberd if we were downgrade 12 to 20, big bodied midfielder who could start on the HBF believe his kicking is very good.

Would be an option, 191cm endurance runner. Kicks on both feet, I like Bonner as a player & if we were to do that Bonner could well be available to 20. I know he's rated pretty well by clubs- He just needs to remain fit, has had issues with injuries this year and last.

Hibberd and Bonner both kick exceptionally well on both feet, so are two very good options off HBF that can work into the midfield.

Don't know if he has been mentioned but where is Balic rated? His write up sounded good

20+, I'd be very surprised if he gets picked in the first round. He looks ok in packages, but I've seen a fair bit of them and he hasn't made me go wow.

As someone said, Brett Anderson reckons 20+ which is where I'd see him, Cal Twomey for example has him at 10.

Using Bishop current power rankings as the basis, what would people think of the following if we kept 12 19 & 52.

(12) 16. Clayton Oliver 187cm 86kg Inside Midfielder
(19) 24. Mitchell Hibberd 191cm 85kg Midfielder/Defender
(52) 57. Daniel Rioli 179cm 65kg Small Forward

For mine I'd be happy to miss out on Yarran if Carlton decide to keep being unreasonable flogs if we walked away with the following from the draft. Both Oliver and Hibberd would be able to be played from early on next year given their size. Along with the addition of Townsend we'd certainly have some very big bodied midfielders around to protect Cotchin and co.

Using Bishop current power rankings as the basis, what would people think of the following if we kept 12 19 & 52.

For mine I'd be happy to miss out on Yarran if Carlton decide to keep being unreasonable flogs if we walked away with the following from the draft. Both Oliver and Hibberd would be able to be played from early on next year given their size. Along with the addition of Townsend we'd certainly have some very big bodied midfielders around to protect Cotchin and co.

I'd be happy with that haul, I'm not a fan of Yarran personally- But I realistically think the deal will get done.

All depends on who is available, My personal two favourites for Pick 12 would be Clayton Oliver and Cal Ah Chee. I'd narrowly take Ah Chee, just think we need some X-Factor in the midfield and some elite pace. Oliver is a contested beast, but as unlikely at it seems he may still be around at Pick 19.

Pick 19 I'd look at a slinder (eg:Oliver), Bonner, Hibberd, R.Clarke- You never really know who is available, it wasn't until a couple of days before the draft that Richmond knew we'd get Ellis NOT Duggan. Hibberd is a good player, but I don't see the need for him and Oliver in the same draft. I'd take him if we took Ah Chee at 12.

52 could go anyway, Rioli might not be on the board- I rate Hisham Kerbatieh as a better small forward prospect than Rioli on pure footy ability (I'm disregarding combine testing, both have Elite speed for example) Another one to watch is Mabior Chol with a late pick, a project ruckman/forward who improve as the year went.

And another Thomas Jok from Dandenong Stingrays is one to consider at 190cm, can play any position and one I think will develop into a great footballer.

Hibberd is interesting. Reminds me of Josh Kennedy (Swans) with that height/body/looks. Has good legs underneath him, Hibberd. Covers the ground VERY well. Nice attacking and defensive elements to his game. My only question is, not sure about his in-game kicking. I know he tested well at the Combine, but I’d like to see his in-game effective stats. Anybody have those ?

Played footy with his old man (and JR’s) and if he’s got any of the same attributes Hibberd would come with a super good ‘club first’ attitude and enormous courage. His old man was pretty handy. He just projects beautifully as being one of those tall on-baller types.

Hibberd is interesting. Reminds me of Josh Kennedy (Swans) with that height/body/looks. Has good legs underneath him, Hibberd. Covers the ground VERY well. Nice attacking and defensive elements to his game. My only question is, not sure about his in-game kicking. I know he tested well at the Combine, but I’d like to see his in-game effective stats. Anybody have those ?

TAC Cup this year (Only played three games)
Game 1 vs Northern Knights: 25% Kicking efficiency (4 Effective, 12 ineffective)
Game 2 vs Bendigo Pioneers: 23% Kicking efficiency (3 effective, 10 ineffective)
Game 3 vs Geelong Falcons: 62% Kicking efficiency (8 effective, 5 ineffective)

I don't have his National Champs efficiency stats with me, If I can dig them up I'll post them here.

Game 1 vs Northern Knights: 25% Kicking efficiency (4 Effective, 12 ineffective)
Game 2 vs Bendigo Pioneers: 23% Kicking efficiency (3 effective, 10 ineffective)

I don't have his National Champs efficiency stats with me, If I can dig them up I'll post them here.

Thanks Bishop. Great work.

Geezus. That's not good reading.

Bishop, Hibberd vs. Bonner, who do you take?

Geezus. That's not good reading.

Bishop, Hibberd vs. Bonner, who do you take?

That's a small sample size mind you.

I'd take Bonner without doubt. He's an elite ball user (left footer) and kicks well on both feet which is something I place a very high value on. He's someone I can see setting up the play for us off half back- If I had to compare someone to him it would be a bit like K.Kolodjashnij (Gold Coast), at 191cm he would be nice to have running out of Defensive 50.

He's an outside player, so even at 191cm I really can't see him transitioning to an inside midfielder at all- Towards the later end of the season he began to move up the ground and play on a wing so I do think he could play there in the long term at AFL Level. At the same time though, he could play on an opponent in defence (similar to what Grimes has done this year on a 3rd tall or small) but some question marks on his marking ability and even then you'd probably lose some of his kicking if he was deep in defence.

He didn't test at the combine as he is nursing an ankle injury, but was All-Australian at the U18 Champs.

I've got limited vision/stats of the SA kids, so if you want any further detailed information I'd suggest asking Skippos on his Phantom Draft board.

Good call. happy to have Collins at 19 but given Astbury is more than likely staying, Dunkley shades him.
12: Callum Ah Chee
19: Josh Dunkley
52: Hisham Kerbatieh

Sent from my iPhone

Can someone please tell me what they see in Dunkley???!!! Other than the fact he played for our VFL team, If he didn't we wouldn't be talking about him.

He kicks at less than 50%!!!, one of the worst disposal efficiency out of any of the prospects in this draft.

That's a small sample size mind you.

I'd take Bonner without doubt. He's an elite ball user (left footer) and kicks well on both feet which is something I place a very high value on. He's someone I can see setting up the play for us off half back- If I had to compare someone to him it would be a bit like K.Kolodjashnij (Gold Coast), at 191cm he would be nice to have running out of Defensive 50.

He's an outside player, so even at 191cm I really can't see him transitioning to an inside midfielder at all- Towards the later end of the season he began to move up the ground and play on a wing so I do think he could play there in the long term at AFL Level. At the same time though, he could play on an opponent in defence (similar to what Grimes has done this year on a 3rd tall or small) but some question marks on his marking ability and even then you'd probably lose some of his kicking if he was deep in defence.

He didn't test at the combine as he is nursing an ankle injury, but was All-Australian at the U18 Champs.

I've got limited vision/stats of the SA kids, so if you want any further detailed information I'd suggest asking Skippos on his Phantom Draft board.

Thanks mate :thumbsu:

If he's anything like KK I hope we snag him with 12. Would be perfect for us.

Can someone please tell me what they see in Dunkley???!!! Other than the fact he played for our VFL team, If he didn't we wouldn't be talking about him.

He kicks at less than 50%!!!, one of the worst disposal efficiency out of any of the prospects in this draft.

I don't like Dunkley but apparently the club thinks highly of him

Sent from my iPhone

Coming off a reasonably serious back injury that can take time to recover from and meant he no preseason.

Pro:
  • Elite Tackler.
  • Strong overhead.
  • Good hands.
  • Strong clearance player.
  • Ready made, also use to Richmond's system.
  • Outstanding character.
  • Good around goal.
Cons:
  • Kicking, although workable like Tuck.
  • Age, born early in the year and a good size, limiting scope for improvement.

I wouldn't use 12 on him but for pick 19 I think he could be a good pick up.

Would use 12 on Mathieson if available and haven't seen an awful lot of Oliver to make a sound judgment but he does intrigue me.

Rioli will go earlier.

I'd be happy with that haul, I'm not a fan of Yarran personally- But I realistically think the deal will get done.

All depends on who is available, My personal two favourites for Pick 12 would be Clayton Oliver and Cal Ah Chee. I'd narrowly take Ah Chee, just think we need some X-Factor in the midfield and some elite pace. Oliver is a contested beast, but as unlikely at it seems he may still be around at Pick 19.

Pick 19 I'd look at a slinder (eg:Oliver), Bonner, Hibberd, R.Clarke- You never really know who is available, it wasn't until a couple of days before the draft that Richmond knew we'd get Ellis NOT Duggan. Hibberd is a good player, but I don't see the need for him and Oliver in the same draft. I'd take him if we took Ah Chee at 12.

52 could go anyway, Rioli might not be on the board- I rate Hisham Kerbatieh as a better small forward prospect than Rioli on pure footy ability (I'm disregarding combine testing, both have Elite speed for example) Another one to watch is Mabior Chol with a late pick, a project ruckman/forward who improve as the year went.

And another Thomas Jok from Dandenong Stingrays is one to consider at 190cm, can play any position and one I think will develop into a great footballer.
I thin we need to recruit tall, big bodied players. If Ah Chee is at 12 then everyone else needs to be ready made. We have players on the list already that need 2-4 years of developing before they become regulars.