List Mgmt. Michael Hurley

• Thread starter Thread starter George

The whole Mayne thing is very confusing.

Are we ahead? Are the Dees at the head of the queue? Which club is actually making headway? As we head towards the trade period, will we be able to head off the competition?

Heady days indeed :eek:

MAYNE%20%20Chris.png
gc5300954839126167723.jpg

So far the 2 high profile pickups we have had from essendon have backfired immensely. Wouldn't trust a 3rd. Although this one could be the winner as the guy would be desperate to play footy after the year off

How is Carlisle any different from Hurley? Would be just as desperate surely.

Actually, it's the principle. The AFLPA tried, and succeeded, to screw us. No one knew about the potential ban. The way they behaved in advising the manager to deliberately mislead us by omission, was disgusting.
footy is a business these days any sentiment is non existent. who cares anyway as long as we win a flag i couldnt give a shit what any of our players do. look at the hawks half the club tested positive for drugs nothing was said collingwood on the other hand.... flag power

At the right price and as a DFA you'd be crazy not to get him IMO.

Keep adding cream to the list. But I wouldn't make him #1 priority.

You have to weigh up how soon you want to play finals.

If you end up with surplus KPP's then you are in a strong position to trade one out for a great return.... just as we do with our current ruck stocks.

However, if it means the opportunity cost is to miss out ona gun mid, then no, don't get him.

He will cost Richmond their first pick. I would have thought they would be much more desperate for a quality midfielder.
Yeah who knows. Would be an upgrade to Chaplin though. Maybe they are going to back in their current mids of Martin Cotchin and a bit of Deledio?

I reckon they need to inject a bit of youth into that midfield.

We are in the same boat though, I can't understand why we'd be interested this year. Maybe next year if he hasn't signed on.

You'd think the dogs would try to make some room in their cap for him as he'd be icing on the cake for them.

Melbourne would also be a better fit as their midfield is almost set for the future.

No.

Considering Hurley is still under contract, he would have to

1) Break his contract
2) Become DFA

if that happened there would be several clubs after his services. BS reckons it isn't about money, but if a Bulldogs or an Adelaide came calling, who are right in the flag window, he might consider that.

As other have said on here, our midfield needs some top end talent. We need that from the draft or trade.

We cant spend our first rounder on Hurley.

So in essence he probably stays at Essendon

if he doesn't one and two would have to occur for the Saints to get him.

Looks like a very long shot.

there is sweet **** all chance Hurley will leave Victoria.

Word is he has already told Freo and Bisvegas to not bother wasting their time

well for one Hurley isn't a whiney little whimp and he's an AA

Of course should he decide that his future is away from Essendon then he automatically becomes useless, disloyal, lazy, lucky to make AA....

Etc.

Not sure what your point is anyway, if you read the thread the point made above was in reference to someone saying Hurley would be desperate to play football as he has had a year out, when Carlisle is in the same boat.

Of course should he decide that his future is away from Essendon then he automatically becomes useless, disloyal, lazy, lucky to make AA....

Etc.

Not sure what your point is anyway, if you read the thread the point made above was in reference to someone saying Hurley would be desperate to play football as he has had a year out, when Carlisle is in the same boat.

Don't reason with a troll mate, the guy is a campaigner.

60% is 40% less than a done deal. I also said Mark Jamar wouldn't play at Essendon as he told me himself and is a very good mate of mine, we all know how that worked out.
didn't you also state that Mark Robinson had said on SEN that St Kilda were a front-runner, when in fact he'd said no such thing?

It's not misinformation at all, Mark Robinson said today on SEN that St Kilda were favourites to sign Hurley.

The other blokes were saying that Melbourne were offering 900k, not that Hurley was signing with them.

He will not go to Melbourne, Richmond or anywhere else if what I'm hearing is correct. Money is not the sole reason, he will sue the shit out of Essendon and get mega bucks, again, if what I'm hearing is correct.

This is a 10 year trail of destruction for Essendon, an absolute disaster.

Hoe does that happen? Did you just make it up?

And in any case, I didn't think you were a Hurley fan? Changed your tune a bit?

BrianSpeaking said:
Not sure why people keep mentioning Hurley, is a shocking bloke by all reports, bashed a taxi driver from memory, and may be about to get banned for two years if WADA are at least a half diligent organisation.

didn't you also state that Mark Robinson had said on SEN that St Kilda were a front-runner, when in fact he'd said no such thing?

Hoe does that happen? Did you just make it up?

And in any case, I didn't think you were a Hurley fan? Changed your tune a bit?
serious burn.

I think the possibility of getting Hurley as a free agent is what's driving his price up. He's a very good, young player but $900k for 5 will surely make him the highest paid key defender in the league. But when you factor in that clubs don't have to consider the opportunity cost of losing early draft picks to get him, the price inflation makes more sense IMO. He's probably worth more like 700k but the extra 200k is to ensure that he breaks contract to save his new club from handing out draft picks to Essendon.

If he chooses to honour his contract and ask for a trade, I highly doubt Richmond and/or other interested clubs will be willing to pay him as much. So, it's going to be riveting watching this play out as there are so many ways it can go.

I would love him at the Saints but have to agree with plugger66 and some others that 900k is too high a price tag when he doesn't fill a real area of need. Richmond can have him.