Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

This show "bogans" on tv is more like "Kiwi Metalheads without frequent work". Just what the world needs, more false and out of date idea what a bogan is. Bogans do not have collectible Eddie from Iron Maiden statues on their work desk!

Meanwhile, where are the CUBs listening to Drake going out glassing campaigners on their week off from the mines in WA?

From TBL

What is a Bogan Today?
An excellent question. It is time to bring to the world’s attention the means by which we can keep the world’s bogans happy. The word bogan has had a bad rap of late – still associated with wife beaters, flannelette, VB, utes and mullets. But this conceals the new, modern bogan. The bogan with money. The bogan with aspirations. The bogan with Ed Hardy t-shirts. And this is no mere Australian phenomenon – in the US, you have rednecks, in the UK, chavs. While there are variations, the crux of the discussion remains the same.

The bogan today defies income, class, race, creed, gender and logic. The bogan is defined by what it does, what it says and, most importantly, what it buys. Those who choose to deny the bogan on the basis of their North Shore home, their stockbroking career or their massive trust fund choose not to see the bogan. They merely see old class battles revisited. Likewise, the bogan is no mere ‘tradie’. Even if tradies remained low-income workers, many bogans are affluent. And they set themselves apart by their efforts to stand out by conforming as furiously, and conspicuously, as possible.

Frank was the perfect butt of Pearce and Trapper's shenanigans. A straight laced patriot cheating on his wife in Korea. He's being a bit underrated here by some.

Not underrating him, I thought he was one of the best characters but Winchester brought a different tangent to the show that worked as well.

Tina Yothers/Jennifer was such a pointless character.

Hilarious. I literally had to google her because I completely forgot about her character.

This show "bogans" on tv is more like "Kiwi Metalheads without frequent work". Just what the world needs, more false and out of date idea what a bogan is. Bogans do not have collectible Eddie from Iron Maiden statues on their work desk!

L
Things Bogans Hate: The definition of bogan being wrong in their eyes because they wear the title of Bogan with pride.

Screw you guy, my man crush on Hawkeye/Alan Alda will live on forever

Fair enough but geez, if anything was ever overrated...

The movie is ok, I guess.

Fair enough but geez, if anything was ever overrated...

The movie is ok, I guess.
Its popularity exceeds its quality but it's still good tele, and they made a lot of it.

Be good if it had some character development. Seeing Hawkeye in the movie as a sudden nutcase is much more confronting when you get used to a guy brushing off most things for 250 episodes of a war or what feels like 20 years.

The trouble with Alan Alda was that he turned Hawkeye into Alan Alda and then continued to play Alan Alda in every role for ever after
What a guy. Wasn't this the reason Trapper and Henry left the show, because it was basically the Alan Alda show? Ah whatever, Trapper wasn't that great on screen. Much more personality in the book.

Have you read Catch 22? It's a better book and a very similar concept.

I always hated MASH because it meant The Simpsons weren't going to be on.

Why is it when i see Pink on wires flying around a stadium I wish I was in the crowd with a sniper rifle

MASH was on at 5 or 5:30 without something else in the other time slot and Simpsons was on at 6

What was it that they used to put on rotation with MASH in that time slot?

I have memories of watching Deal or No Deal at the time during that 5-6 period but I would have been flicking the channel over

Might've been the news, lol.