General MFC discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter schmuttt

Massive for our club today. This is going to make it so much easier to lure A graders to us. Liam Pickering was really bullish about us as a club today. When player managers are thinking like that good things are going to happen I think. And maybe we don't even need to add anyone anyway!!

Either West Coast, Western Bulldogs or North(most likely them) have to lose every game for the rest of the season and then we have to win every game and get a better percentage to make finals...

Not going to happen haha but we can dream. Very happy with the Dee's nonetheless.

Either West Coast, Western Bulldogs or North(most likely them) have to lose every game for the rest of the season and then we have to win every game and get a better percentage to make finals...

Not going to happen haha but we can dream. Very happy with the Dee's nonetheless.
Has to be north . Won't happen but on form we could easily win our next 2 (although that would mean we have won 4 in a row )with north dropping both there games. Could go into round 23 still a chance

I do think North will lose their remaining games for the season but there's no chance we win all of ours. There's even less chance that percentages swing enough to put ours ahead of theirs.

It's just nice to know that we are a chance near the very end of the home and away season, even if it's mathematical and highly unlikely. Hasn't happened in ages really

Yeah, we're not going to make finals but it's still nice to be at round 21 and still be interested in the remaining matches this season. Makes a nice change from our usual late season form of getting belted by 10 goals every week while watching Rohan Bail and Matt Jones rotate in and out of the side.

It's actually not unthinkable that North will miss the finals. If they lose tonight they then have to play Hawthorn, Sydney and GWS in the last three rounds.

Shades of 87? :cool:
Apart from needing to win more than 2 games in a row , there are some similarities with 87 , having a core of young kids coming through together is a good start , but i have a feeling this group will write their own history .

I cant help but think with our current form, we could be a real chance to topple the hawks this week.
As i say that im watching the famous victory for the dees that saw us beat Geelong last yeat at Simmonds. If we play like that we will beat Hawthorn
Nice one mate

Perhaps getting ahead of myself here but if we ever get knocked out of the finals by GWS I will be ****ing shattered. To go through the past 10 years and for it to end like that...

A perhaps interesting hypothetical - if by some act of God we do make finals I'd say it's likely we'll be playing Geelong in the first week after having (necessarily) beaten them in the last home and away round. I feel like the way Round 23 is currently set up lends itself to this happening. The Hawks and Sydney played each other back to back in 2013 I think, and last year it was Richmond v North (though now there's the bye). Neither time did the same side win both weeks from memory. Has almost happened a few other times too - in 2014 it would have been the case between Richmond and Essendon if the latter hadn't been suspended.

2013 was good also because the Port and Carlton R23 game was essentially an octofinal.

A perhaps interesting hypothetical - if by some act of God we do make finals I'd say it's likely we'll be playing Geelong in the first week after having (necessarily) beaten them in the last home and away round. I feel like the way Round 23 is currently set up lends itself to this happening. The Hawks and Sydney played each other back to back in 2013 I think, and last year it was Richmond v North (though now there's the bye). Neither time did the same side win both weeks from memory. Has almost happened a few other times too - in 2014 it would have been the case between Richmond and Essendon if the latter hadn't been suspended.

2013 was good also because the Port and Carlton R23 game was essentially an octofinal.
#maths

Supermercado was there on THAT day IIRC

d33my Indeed I was, and on several other occasions where we did f*ck all except humiliate ourselves (and the 1pt win in 2005). I suggest if you're physically capable and are prepared to take the gamble on pissing rain buying a general admission ticket and standing on the steps (tell me they haven't been demolished) where you will hear some of the worst crowd 'banter' efforts ever.

Cheers, I think that's the plan. There's two of us and while I love the Dees we ain't paying 60 bucks each just to sit with other Dees fans; besides what's the fun in going to Geelong without sampling the local culture?

North is the only one I could see it happening to They'd have to be smashed a couple of times and we would need to smash a team ourselves. Fun to think about.

Cheers, I think that's the plan. There's two of us and while I love the Dees we ain't paying 60 bucks each just to sit with other Dees fans; besides what's the fun in going to Geelong without sampling the local culture?
To be fair I paid 57 to sit with other Dees next week; that said, it's Adelaide and I like not being beaten up.

Oh yeah if I was heading interstate I reckon I'd make a day of it; but down to Geelong just feels like I might as well treat it like a suburban footy game and see what happens.

Oh the finals maths is very simple and there's no chance of it happening for us. I gave up on that after we lost to Port and it hasn't entered my thinking since. But I'm always very interested in fixture anomalies like back to back games haha, my hyperactive brain gets a lot of pleasure out of these things.

I do think North will lose their remaining games for the season but there's no chance we win all of ours. There's even less chance that percentages swing enough to put ours ahead of theirs.
We'd have to make up about 150 points combining our wins and their losses. Not inconceivable . The bigger issue is that we haven't won 3 in a row for how long ? Would need to win 5 in a row .

Yeah. We haven't beaten Port in about 5 years and keep coming close and eventually losing. Go knows when we last beat them in Adelaide. We've beaten Carlton once since 2005 (and lost to them last year when they were shithouse) and Geelong once since 2006. I give the Saints a better shot at finals than us.

They probably are but at least we're still a shot. Port were as bad as we were good yesterday. Carltons forward line is horrible . We have good match ups fir Danger and Selwood which is the key to beating Geelong. It won't happen but we can dream

Can't help but think we would have gotten the extra 800 members to get to 40k if this game had happened before the cutoff.

Would have been more interesting had the Saints beat North last week.