Opinion 'Comeback story'

We need to be further sanctioned because of our effective drafting.
Bloody hell without the saga we oils have been looking at a draft of Cripps, Zerrett and Fantasia while keeping. Crameri. Yes we are still looking strong with our youth, but we would be bloody scary if we had of kept our picks.

but we would still have our heads up our arses...

needed the kicking.

So since the AFL 'penalties', we've drafted Merrett, Fantasia, Ambrose, Langford, Laverde, McKernan, Parish, Francis, Hartley, Walla, McGrath...

I don't think we got the memo, in addition to the penalties, we needed to co-operate by drafting shit as well.
Basically they wanted us to collect wooden spoons for 10+ years like Carlton.

I think you'll find that after the last 4 years, EFC fans don't give a flying **** about any other fans and the shit they carry on with.

Pretty much.

Don't like our marketing slogan?

Think we're too loud?

WE DON'T CARE.

Walk on pal.

Pretty poor article to be honest.

No real weight put into the other punishments Essendon had already received. Just to name a few you could expand on the draft picks Essendon had already lost. Financially how the club has suffered from this saga. The fact the club has become unattractive to more high profile free agents. The loss of quality players.

The fact is there has to be a point in time where the club stops getting punished. Essendon did not get awarded the number one pick. Essendon finished last - just to Brisbane. What if Essendon finished second last year and got Pick 2? Would you still write the same article? What in your opinion was a reasonable pick to receive? Given they finished 15th the year before surely finishing around the bottom the following year wouldn't be out of the question?

I understand your viewpoint, clearly you have your opinion but the article itself is not written with much balance.

If you read around BIGFOOTY 2013 those picks were taken off us for Gov'nance, so we are waiting for our punishment for PEDS.
isnt that WADA/CAS' domain though?
the AFL tribunal was comfortably satisfied we did nothing wrong there. Would be a bit rich to turn around and change their mind because someone else thought otherwise.

Bloody hell without the saga we oils have been looking at a draft of Cripps, Zerrett and Fantasia while keeping. Crameri. Yes we are still looking strong with our youth, but we would be bloody scary if we had of kept our picks.
Word is Crameri was leaving and the Dogs were giving up their 1st for Crameri and our 2nd i believe. Hirdy was keen on Bont.
So likely would have been Bont (Dogs 1st), Cripps (Our 1st), Merrett (slips to our 3rd?) and Fantasia (Gumbleton pick).

isnt that WADA/CAS' domain though?
the AFL tribunal was comfortably satisfied we did nothing wrong there. Would be a bit rich to turn around and change their mind because someone else thought otherwise.

Even so, the claims that the 2013 charges against the club were only governance is not true. The charge sheet specifically states that we were charged for administering banned substances and/or providing an environment where they could be administered.

Let's cut to the chase.

The AFL punished us as they did in 2013 because the belief at the time was that we'd probably doped but that it wouldn't be proved and the players wouldn't be charged. The AFL had to be very careful how they worded things though, so they wrapped it up neatly in 'bringing the game into disrepute'.

Then ASADA fell out of bed with the AFL and all of that went out the window.

Anyone who thinks the punishment wasn't done with this in mind is either being wilfully obtuse or they're a ****ing idiot.

So rewarded? Give me a ****ing break. The AFL was never going to punish us again because it would have been double dipping. Having 12 players banned and the fact it doomed us to not only a bottom finish, but a poor year of gate takings, a drop in membership and soaring debt was also further consequences heaped on the club. Whether that was done by the AFL or not and even if they were justified doesn't ****ing matter - it still happened.

The end.

May every McGrath touch stab at thee...

Nope, got to the point where the "Essendon were rewarded with a #1 pick" line was brought up and closed the article.

We were not ******* rewarded.

To be fair he says awarded, not rewarded.

Crameri was 100% about the money. We would have lost him.

Just sub Rory Lobb into the side

As for the slogan? Meh. I tend not to worry much about slogans.

What I will point out is the 'comeback' isn't just about the returning banned players. It's more about the club having hit rock bottom in January 2016 when the players were banned, and hopefully being on an upward trajectory now. The recovery is a long, long way from being complete and many unknowns still lie ahead. But as a fan it IS exciting to think the worst is finally behind us and that is exactly what the slogan taps into.

Tacky? Probably, but it's also fairly on the mark and a good way to get people on-board. And that is what marketing is all about - promotion, by hook or by crook.

So no I don't care when opposition supporters bleat like wounded goats about the slogan glorifying returning cheats or whatever they want to say.

None of us should care.

Word is Crameri was leaving and the Dogs were giving up their 1st for Crameri and our 2nd i believe. Hirdy was keen on Bont.
So likely would have been Bont (Dogs 1st), Cripps (Our 1st), Merrett (slips to our 3rd?) and Fantasia (Gumbleton pick).
Nope. It was either the same trade which ends up as:

Cripps, Merrett, Lobb, Fantasia

Or a swap of first round picks:

Bont, Merrett, Fantasia

As for people liking us or not. they hated our dominance in 2000, so we must be doing something right.
Honestly though, i dont get why people combine hatred and AFL.
I was at the Saints Dees game on saturday and it was a joy to watch the Dees play well.
It was enjoyable to celebrate the Dogs GF drought being broken.
I sat in awe of the Hawks three-peat.

Why get so riled up over a game.

Agree 100%...expect for the Hawks bit;). The Dogs win last year actually went a long way to helping restore my faith in the game as a whole, loved it. I can usually find enjoyment in any game I watch regardless of who's playing eg Cloke's goal against the Pies was footy theatre at it's best.

100% of us seem to have the same view of the OP/article. It's all been said before and is now being said again. Lock thread?

yep, havent read the article & if people want to keep harping on about the issue thats fine, but to do it in threads on the Ess Board? yeah nah.

Well EFC haters better get used to that slogan because now there's 18,000 tshirts floating around with the words on it and they'll be worn for years to come at BBQ parties ..just to give people the shits.
I'm going to New Zealand next week and it will be taken as a hiking t-shirt.

I look forward to the wails of outrage as I trek through forests, across glaciers, climb mountains and ford raging rivers.

Actually, there will probably be none because I doubt the Kiwis give a toss.