Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion - Part 3

• Thread starter Thread starter zeeCFC

By the way, anyway still think Charlie Cameron would be worth recruiting ??

As expected, when the Crows were under the pump, he wasn't there at the coalface trying to kick-start a revival.
He's Brisbane bound.

There should be a policy/strategy in place for us to Rookie List worthy Northern Blues Listed players (at least one per year).

This not only provides a pathway for players in the Northern Region, but provides an incentive for players to come to Northern if they know there is a chance to get on the Carlton List.

Injured in first quarter, affected his zip, was one of the few who fought it out.

Injured ???

Sorry, don't think that is right, not listed in their best players either :

BEST
Adelaide:
M. Crouch, Jacobs, B. Crouch, Sloane, Laird
Richmond: Martin, Rance, Houli, Astbury, Prestia, Edwards, Graham, Grimes

INJURIES
Adelaide:
Nil
Richmond: Rioli (ankle)

Reports: Nil

Injured ???

He copped a knock, it was well mentioned on the coverage. Was probably just a corkie but given it's the big show, you don't know what he was playing through.

Injured ???

He was definately sore, he copped a knee to the calf in the first quarter. I didn't think he had his usual zip after that, but can hold his head high with the way he played.

By the way, anyway still think Charlie Cameron would be worth recruiting ??

As expected, when the Crows were under the pump, he wasn't there at the coalface trying to kick-start a revival.

Charlie got trampled and crushed badly very early in the game well camouflaged , he's a courageous small with good skill set.

he's a courageous small with good skill set.

Don't agree with you at all but so be it.

Here's Robert Walls rating of Cameron's game :

Charlie Cameron
Half Forward

Looked overawed early. The Tigers pressure forced him into disposal error.

Rating: 4

I think Rockliffe was back up for if Gibbs left, I suspect Bryce has decided to stay.
Maybe little, but maybe some also.

I can see a situation that if Gibbs stays, we may only go to a certain level to attain Rockliffs services and particularly so, if we know that Kennedy is coming.
If Gibbs goes, we won't want to have a weaker midfield than the one we had this year and may just be prepared to pay a little more than we would have.

We'll see...
Rockliff was never coming. He's as likely to leave BrisVegas as Kelly was to leaving GWS. We were just being used for leverage in his negotiations with the Lions. Bolton intimated as much in his interview on SEN. No tour of facilities despite meeting with SOS & Bolts, just done the big reno on the BrisVegas Chateau and reportedly happily settled into SE Qld lifestyle.

What was interesting out of that interview was that we're definitely interested in Kennedy and Smith (couldn't give a stuff about Smith), but not the slightest bit interested in Stringer. More than happy to provide opportunity to SOSOS, Curnow & McKay. Fair to say we're unlikely to select Darcy Fogarty with any 1st Round Picks based upon that.

Rockliff was never coming. He's as likely to leave BrisVegas as Kelly was to leaving GWS. We were just being used for leverage in his negotiations with the Lions. Bolton intimated as much in his interview on SEN. No tour of facilities despite meeting with SOS & Bolts, just done the big reno on the BrisVegas Chateau and reportedly happily settled into SE Qld lifestyle.

What was interesting out of that interview was that we're definitely interested in Kennedy and Smith (couldn't give a stuff about Smith), but not the slightest bit interested in Stringer. More than happy to provide opportunity to SOSOS, Curnow & McKay. Fair to say we're unlikely to select Darcy Fogarty with any 1st Round Picks based upon that.
Or you could simply put two and two together to make four.

Well I didn't think you were referring to pure distance covered... Lambert's obviously quite elite, but pretty much every player in Richmond's 22 is well above average in that regard.

But yes, when you opt for high-intensity efforts more often, you tend to cover less territory overall. And keep in mind the sprint statistic used only requires the player to be running at over 24 km/h, when plenty of these guys would have peak speeds closer to 30 km/h.

You also tend to cover less territory when you make less mistakes, and move the ball with a decent tempo and in a direct fashion. Adelaide dicked around with it today, and the numbers really started to add up in that regard.

Ermm... yes he was? He was in everything coming into the forward half of the ground in the first quarter and a half. He needed more mates.

If every player is adding pressure there is less reason to have to get to the next contest as you already have it covered with a team mate. Obviously a generalization

Best thing that could happen for blues was crows getting smashed at the contest yesterday. Hungry crows supporters will be baying for blood, looking for a saviour. I recall after round 3 when someone stated that Adelaide didn't need gibbs. David king said no, not now, but wait til pf and gf week and they will. He again said on pure footy this week they missed a massive chance not getting gibbs, and it would be there for all to see on Saturday. He was spot on. They will surely go harder this year. At least we either keep him, or get fair compensation for him now. None of this "we don't really need him" crap

Just popping in to say Lever isn't a KPD's arseh*le and I'm glad we didn't get caught up in the bidding frenzy.

Melbourne will rue throwing two picks and a wad of cash at him, not because he's not a capable player, but because it will lose them players in 2 years as they tread water. He's just not worth that kind of capital.

Got a text message this arvo suggesting something similar about Lever, grossly overrated !!

And people were saying the exact same things when it came to younger versions of Glass and Rance

After reading the article in the HUN yesterday Stringer = lock up your girlfriends/daughters etc etc.

Plus has a serious gambling problem.

I recall we had a player with similar issues in the not so distant past.

I think we've learnt our lesson - let him be some other clubs problem.

I still for the life of me can't work out how the Tiges did it. So many bog average players out there today...yet somehow it works.

I'm still scratching my head too.
I think they are structurally such a different team to match up on. Most opposition coaches want a settled back 6-7 with 3 tall defenders, with some of those talls being their best players. Yet that's a surplus of 2 talls against Richmond. It would take a brave coach to drop Hartigan & Talia based on team balance. It would be like dropping Weitering & Marchbank round 1 and saying sorry, we just don't have a matchup for you.
Letting Vickery go last year & not feeling pressure to play Griffith or Hampson as their second tall forward has been a master stroke.
It also helps having Dusty 1 on 1 in F50 too.

I'm still scratching my head too.
I think they are structurally such a different team to match up on. Most opposition coaches want a settled back 6-7 with 3 tall defenders, with some of those talls being their best players. Yet that's a surplus of 2 talls against Richmond. It would take a brave coach to drop Hartigan & Talia based on team balance. It would be like dropping Weitering & Marchbank round 1 and saying sorry, we just don't have a matchup for you.
Letting Vickery go last year & not feeling pressure to play Griffith or Hampson as their second tall forward has been a master stroke.
It also helps having Dusty 1 on 1 in F50 too.

My theory on Richmond is similar. Every team in the comp play's a very similar structure and to a slightly lesser extent similar gameplan. Through necessity early on and later by choice, the tigers played very differently, and no coach has been brave enough to swallow their pride, throw out their gameplan and change it up. But they now become the hunted. Coaches will now be spending all summer trying to figure out how to beat them. Can see them slipping a lot next year as their list on paper is mid table at best, but that is just ke guessing. The fact they were chasing casboult mid season shows even they doubted the sustainability of that gameplan come finals. All power to them for being brave, sticking to the plan and winning it! Dusty also makes a remarkable difference. He makes them 10% better. In such an even comp that is the difference most weeks.

Quite simply, they played to their strengths.
With another year of cattle trading, I think we might have a list with sustained run and elite disposal skills.
Our strength is not 3 small forwards and the one tall like Richmond's forward set up, but I can see a forward line built around Jack, Harry and Charlie troubling all sides with better I50 entries. Who buzzes around them? Pickett, Lamb? Wright? LeBois?
Need a few more midfielders to get it there.
Happy with our defence.