They got saved from my billy by my absolutely most detested band.I'm just passionate about Angus and Julia mate
Persona?I see BRAB is slowly introducing his SFA persona to this contest.
I'm glad you understand.Yes that's what is happening here.
Friendly reminder raskolnikov Sozabarus General Soreness the fly & Plugger35 have just under three hours to vote.
BOO was bright and early. Depends on the others.No BOO??
Chance of early results then?
Die Antwoord are just having fun. They’re basically taking the piss out of white suburban hip-hop loving Jo-burg bogans who act like ‘gangstas’. Ninja and Yolandi are just characters. Ninja (Watkin Tudor Jones) is actually a respected rapper in SA who has adopted several different recording names & personas over the years.While there is some truth to NDs statement its also about lyrical laziness to me. Its about the use of a swear word for shock value. ''ooo look at grandpa getting upset coz we said ****' . Swearing has its place and I do swear a lot but there is a time and place. I am the guy on the train telling you to pipe down because you are being a lazy campaigner when you use 4 swear words to say hello. If it fits the time and place then go for it.
I just think rap , especially, has utilised the use of swearing to generate outrage rather than use any musical ability to engage with people. When a rapper says **** mother****** and I get upset my kids listen to it more. Its not the music that engages them its the fact that dad doesnt like it. Sure music and musicians have followed that trope for 60 years. Elvis built a career over a swivel hip but try and give me more than the following
Baby's on fire
Boom
Boom, Boom
Showtime, mother******, it's on
Apocolypse now, I'm droppin' this bomb
You can't **** with this song
I'll stick to this spliff, I'm not klapping this bong
I'm a wild child, I don't wanna go to bed
Oh, shit, sorry man, I'm stoned again
Ooh, now everythings getting so psychedelic
When I'm doos dronk then I forget all my fokken lyrics
Like um, uh, who gives a ****?
Don't worry 'bout it, just blow a kiss to me
I like danger, romance and mystery
I'm a lucky ducky, get mad shit for free
I rock more bling than Mr. T
I make it look easy 'cause it is to me
My daddy says it's lekker fokken spif to see
A South African cherrie makin' history
Baby's on fire
She's got me going fokken crazy soos a man naaier
O jirre God se Jesus
Baby's on fire
Hi-Tek, drop that four to the floor
I get real paid, what you think I do this for?
My bodyguard help me get to the bar
Neill Blomkamps makin' me a movie star
A lot of bad boys wanna piece of me
If you're a lucky boy I'll let you sneak a peek
My Zef styles mother****in' freaky-deek
I don't got beef 'cause I don't eat no meat
I'm on some other shit, yo, I know I speak unique
**** your whole shit up when I freak the beat
I love it when Kimmy talks sweet to me
C'mon, c'mon, Kimmy, Kimmy, speak to me
I take a trip down memory lane
Like yo, **** fifteen seconds of fame
I'm a young blood comin' up fresh in the game
Yo-Landi Vi$$er, mother******, you all remember the name
Baby's on fire
O jirre God se Jesus
Baby's on fire [x4]
Aaah, freak out!
No need to get so deep
Nothin' quite like a mother****in' techno beat
A techno beat - a techno beat
A techno - a techno - a techno beat
Just say what's up, don't try to get so deep
You know me, maar ek ken jou nie
Ek ken jou nie - ek ken jou nie
Ek ken jou - ek ken jou - ek ken jou nie
Baby's on fire
O jirre God se Jesus
Baby's on fire
Flame on, mother******s
------------------------------------------
Also its becoming my thing to comment on swearing so I will continue. I actually think the above song is musically fine, it wont be getting votes but the music saves it from a possible Billy. Also the film clip is tasteless in the extreme , but once again thats the whole idea of the song and video. To create a divide
It wasn't the worst song in this theme.Die Antwoord are just having fun. They’re basically taking the piss out of white suburban hip-hop loving Jo-burg bogans who act like ‘gangstas’. Ninja and Yolandi are just characters. Ninja (Watkin Tudor Jones) is actually a respected rapper in SA who has adopted several different recording names & personas over the years.
I reckon their videos are f**kin great. Their music is not really my thing, but it’s okay. Party music to hype the festival crowds. Comedy rapping over a techno backing. Pretty good shit. No doubt it will get billied by all the rock apes in this thread.
Not on headphones, but not while working or anything. I just listen / watch the clips (those that have proper clips) and constantly update my votes.Just wondering, do you guys listen to the playlist with nice headphones or just in the background while you work or whatever shit you do?
I did both. And it makes a real difference IMO.
The Billy will go to either Die Antwoord or the Mongolian throat singing although I Billied neither. Very tough to pick a winner, it could go to the Dandy Warhols or we could see an upset from one of the rock chick tunes.Results in 10. Place your bets.
Mostly background , its a good test of whether a song is good. If I stop to listen then its a winnerJust wondering, do you guys listen to the playlist with nice headphones or just in the background while you work or whatever shit you do?
Just wondering, do you guys listen to the playlist with nice headphones or just in the background while you work or whatever shit you do?
Mostly background , its a good test of whether a song is good. If I stop to listen then its a winner

**** up with your repetitive garbage.I use it on the headphones to capture the subtlety of Angus and Julia stone.