Autopsy Geelong defeated by Hawthorn by 1 point @ MCG

• Thread starter Thread starter dazbroncos

Past 2 weeks, our rucks have "made" the opposition rucks look great?
Really, these are 2 A grade rucks.
Ours are B grade at best.
Gawn in relation to the rest of the league is as close to elite as their is. Easily top 3 in the league with daylight behind them. McEvoy is not elite. Not even close. And Smith would easily have broken even with him today. Fact is Stanley is a forward who can ruck and nothing more. Dropping Smith meant we were pushing shit uphill all match.

Not too disappointed with that.

Our backline is missing Henderson and Taylor, our best backs. We were undersized in the backline all day. Duncan out was also a blow.

They controlled the game, yet we still got within a point and kicked a big score. I like ours odds next time, hopefully with our defenders back in.

Hawks were a key player down since q1. We did exactly what melbourne did to us last week in the same position.

We had a 3 man bench also.

We lost Ratugolea before the game which forced Blicavs to tuck, and Henry to concussion which was the reason we had Tom Stewart and Zac Guthrie on Roughead.

Our losses where much more of a magnitude than them loosing Burgoyne, our defensive unit was destroyed.

You have to be joking right??

How is melbourne being 7 points down at 3qtr time identical to us coming back from 25 points down early in the last quarter??

Nothing alike at all.

If thats what you think was wrong you are way way off. Killed in the centre bounce and couldnt get the ball out of defence and you are labelling mostly forwards as the problem. Did you watch the game or read the stats?
Na just stats mate...sorry forgot you know all.

Correct - I seriously wonder how successful we can be without a single A grade ruckman... :sick:
Maybe we can't.
Didn't stop Doggies, Hawks x3, Tigers, IF you are all correct about Big Boy

That hasn’t answered my Question UW.
What would or could you do differently?
Gotta say I'm surprised we didnt send someone too him after qtr time. Although it appeared fleetingly we paid him some attention.
He certainly had an influence.
C Guthrie/ Blicsavs the obvious choices.
Considering he didnt play as a permanent defender Blitz couldve been the 1 today.

No cos what you are stating is wrong. It was one year and it was a low wage and everyone know it was the qf and not the prelim. It shouldnt have happened in a final.
No, it’s factually wrong to say Geelong didn’t want him. He would have been delisted if that was the case.

For the second time this thread, it's part of Tom Harleys 2007 Premiership speech....
Thanks for explaining that. Still sounded shit.

Hate to be petty, but that was the worst Geelong backline in ~15-odd years and Cyril Rioli STILL failed to have an impact. Again. For the umpteenth time against us he did absolutely nothing.

What a player. :rolleyes:
He went to ground in the first quarter at one stage, and bounced up quicker than Blitz...
And the commentators absolutely gushed over it and how he does the things others can't do I shit you not

Brutal loss. Weren't in it all day then somehow got close. Huge effort and some of the performances under pressure give me a lot of confidence that we can go far this season if we get a decent run with injuries. I've just watched the last quarter again and a few comments on some of our players near the end of the game.

Positives:
Parsons, Parfitt and Cockatoo - these 3 are our future. They did it tough today with little ball coming forward but in the last quarter they got the job done. Parsons with 2 clutch goals, Parfitt with one and some great pressure and Cockatoo halved a few contests where he was outnumbered. Our second last goal with Cocky spoiling going back with the flight, Parfitt laying a big tackle and Parsons finishing was awesome.
Zuthrie and O'Connor - We gambled by leaving these 2 as our most defensive players so our more experienced players could attack. 2 times Roughead out marked Zuthrie when we were caught out but they won or halved many contests and gave us some drive. I loved O'Connor backing himself to get into an attacking position near the end and the 1-2 with Guthrie was well thought out.
Guthrie, Bews, Stewart and Blicavs - These guys gave us so much drive in the last quarter. Pity about Guthrie making a couple of mistakes late because he was probably our BOG in he last quarter until that.

Negatives:
Stanley - He did some decent things but 2 moments were truly awful. One boundary throw in when he was outmuscled by Roughead who snapped and goal and missed was terrible from our ruck against a smaller player. The second was Roughead's 2nd mark and goal in the last. Long high ball with O'Connor and Zuthrie against Schoenmakers and Roughead. Both our defenders didn't well to engage their larger opponents but Stanley was there as the spare man and should've come over for the easy mark. Inexplicably he didn't fly giving Roughead a 1 on 1 contest against Zuthrie. Shocking piece of play.
Gregson - Had an absolute nightmare. Two horrible contests going to ground against Smith then a shocking turnover short kick on the wing.
Menegola - Torn on this because the pieces of play I'm critical of actually worked out but they were 2 moments of massive selfishness. He had Fogarty and Ablett open for easy short passes 40 metres out. Instead he took the shot from 60. He kicked the goal but it's still a terrible decision going for the 5% option rather than giving a teammate an easy shot. The other was the kick to Blicavs in the middle. He could've run I think out but instead goes for the impossible pass of Blics in amongst 4 Hawks. He kicked it well and Blicavs took a strong mark but again it was a terrible choice. He's becoming predictable and selfish with his ball use and it will (and has) cost us. I'd make a statement and drop him because it's such a bad example for the rest of the team.
Selwood - Most of the last quarter was great but his turnover coming out of defence with scores level cost us the match. If we're (rightly) criticising Guthrie then Selwood deserves that and more. Under little pressure with short options he hacks it 30 metres straight to a Hawk. Our defence is left completely out of position and they score the winning point as a result.

For the second time this thread, it's part of Tom Harleys 2007 Premiership speech....

No one's denying that or claiming otherwise.

The point is that it sounds terrible and using a recording of it over the PA system after each goal is cringeworthy and unnecessary. It's American-style matchday nonsense that is out of place at AFL footy. The source of the audio is irrelevant to the point we're making.

Gotta say om surprised we didnt send someone too him after qtr time. Although it appeared fleetingly we paid him some attention.
He certainly had an influence.
C Guthrie/ Blicsavs the obvious choices.
Considering he didnt play as a permanent defender Blitz couldve been the 1 today.
Bizarre coaching all day.

I thought Guthrie should have played in defence on Rioli so not the answer for Mitchell.
Blicavs should have played behind the ball given we didn’t select House or Gardner.

We may have done better had we selected Smith, they got on top in the 2Q and Big Boy gave him great service that quarter. Apart from that his influence wasn’t as great for other parts of the match.

Thanks for explaining that. Still sounded shit.

No one's denying that or claiming otherwise.

The point is that it sounds terrible and using a recording of it over the PA system after each goal is cringeworthy and unnecessary. It's American-style matchday nonsense that is out of place at AFL footy. The source of the audio is irrelevant to the point we're making.

Oh I agree, I'd rather have BT's bananananananana over the PA than either what we have or that facepalm growl.
Why not... oh I dunno.... have nothing?!

Lost it at the selection table.....plain and simple. To go into a game with two key defenders already missing with a backup ruckman in Stanley is pathetic. I felt like Smith got punished for Gawns late mark last week and in the long run leaving him out to let McEvoy dominate. That was like cutting of your nose to spite your face.

One last thing ......OConnor, f*** off back to Ireland. You have nothing to offer and same goes for Cam Guthrie. Caught holding the call at a crucial time for the 1027th time in his career.

Taking nothing away from Stanley who battled his guts out, did good things around the ground and deserves his spot in the team, but your club needs to get a proper ruckman.

I reckon McEvoy was the difference today.

I watched. Gregson get belted pointless twice, Cockatoo get nowhere near the ball....where was parsons. Menengola was unseen all day, and did very little. Are you really blaming this on Ablett, Selwood and co. Small fowards for their non contestability are as much to blame as small backs. Tackling pressure out of the forwatd line limits the effectivness of backs. There was bloody none today they were horrible.

No cos what you are stating is wrong. It was one year and it was a low wage and everyone know it was the qf and not the prelim. It shouldnt have happened in a final.

August 24 last year:
Scott said on Thursday: “We’d like to keep Dan Menzel. We had a two-year offer in front of Dan at the start of the year and by mutual agreement it was put off.”

Menzel could have signed a 2-year deal at the start of last year but decided to delay contract talks in the hope of increasing his value - He started last year with a bang (and started this year even better), the problem last year is that he did fade as the season went on. Hopefully he runs out this season better, and it may be that he requires better management during the season, but with how our forward line has looked the last couple of weeks it doesn't seem likely we will be in a position to rest him any time soon.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...s/news-story/c9254f274e773111cec2072f7f0f3a6f

Also Menegola is without doubt the hungriest player on our list... Gets it within 50 and he doesn't look at anything other than the goals.

Even that set shot he hit was fantastic but it was a low percentage option to have a set shot out late on tired legs from that far out..

Also Menegola is without doubt the hungriest player on our list... Gets it within 50 and he doesn't look at anything other than the goals.

Even that set shot he hit was fantastic but it was a low percentage option to have a set shot out late on tired legs from that far out..

With 2 blokes open for a short pass 40 metres out.

I hope the people that bitch about the events that saw us still signing Menzel, are going to every other clubs board and pointing out that they could have grabbed him when they had the chance.

Cockatoo, Parfitt, Menengola, Gregson, Parson. Bloody horrible today, its like the MC picked the team as per this boards wishes and got exactly what it deserved.
You're blinded.