Autopsy Rd 20 - Another Giant loss for the outclassed Blues

Look at Polson's skill execution. He can't kick 40m. He can't pass 20m and he hanballs below the knees to a target. I said in my original post, that you have to question his longevity. Naturally the ball is in his court because he has a contract

All will improve. A lot of what you said is an indication of a player who is struggling in their first half season of senior football. The most significant cause of this is that the player is learning to adjust to the sheer pace of the game. Skills are rushed and fall drastically short as a direct result. If he's doing this 12 months from now then I'll agree.

Here we go again. ‘It’s my understanding”. What does that mean?
Are you saying someone from the club has told you that? And named players (thomas)?
First point - I don’t believe anyone from the club would do that.
Second - if they have, they should be sacked.
Third - Thomas is playing his best footy for the club this year. Was one of our few winners today and looks fit. Will finish
Fourth and final - As if the club would tell players four weeks out that they are going to be cut. I cannot recall that ever happening and would be astounded if players were already told they will not be at the club again.

You wonder why people challenge you about these huge statements. They are quite ludicrous.

Daisy will be offered another year.

Speaking of stalkers. (Look at the likes)

Hey Drake. Answer my questions from last time (which you ignored) and I will happily answer this one!

Or will there be crickets?

I'm not the biggest Lang fan. However, give the guy a fair shake. Has had a heavily injury interrupted season. He'll push for consistent best 22 selection next year but ultimately be one of those 19-30 players on the list who can come in and do some of the heavy lifting that get premiership caliber teams through the season.

As an aside, I don't think Richmond are a long-term dynasty caliber team. The picking is there for a team like ours to really thrust forward and become a legitimate 5-10 year top 4 contender. Melbourne will possibly get there first but something seems slightly adrift there for that to happen for them.

Will admit I don't know everything about Lang injury history but when I see a player taken pick 16 who is now been in the AFL system for 5 years. I think talent that lacks the drive or application to make it at an AFL level.

His efforts really bother me, both from what I have seen live at VFL level and now at AFL.

GWS have by far the most talented squad in the AFL.

Quick, strong, skilled and seriously talented.

SOS assembled that squad.

I am seriously pissed off right now but we all need to calm down and be patient - however f***ing difficult that might be!!!!!

I so hope that in a few years we will have a squad that resembles today's GWS.

Time will tell.

A squad like theirs? Not without 6 to 8 very high draft picks we won't....and over two years.
I could have created their list.
People on here are grossly underestimating our situation.
Don't forget we have to replace some aging senior players as well as the players that are useless.
The A.F.L. can go get rooted!!!!!
How upset must they be about Gold Coast???
Everyone needs to take some reality pills because yes we may become more competitive, but look how good these other teams are.

The hate on Polson is disturbing.

We know he has miles to go before he's a good consistent performer.

But those digging at him fail to understand the basics of AFL football in 2018. Look at his strengths and the role that he plays. He's never going to have a good day when we're being belted by 100 points. His job is to help lock the ball into our forward line. When it's not there he might as well not be on the ground. He needs to develop some versatility, sure, but he's a second year professional footballer in his first half of a season (games wise) of being a senior player. The room for growth with regards to versatility is there. Until then, he's not someone I can be too critical on (when he's due for criticism he'll deserve his wack)
Well said Wick.

I find it really troubling that we now come away from 100 point losses, with people saying "I don't think we played that badly".

It's a product of being shit for 2 decades.

We lost by 100 points for a very specific reason; we played terribly
can you see a difference between "effort" and "played" monster?

Re phrasing no pre season with us sure is alot better than "never had a pre season". I do actually like facts about the club and players not round-about little white lies. I am fully aware Kennedy is a talent but today unfortunately he got poleaxed. He should be better for it.
He was a bull at a gate against his old team early on. Reckon he was spent by 1/2 time. Will learn from it..

Re phrasing no pre season with us sure is alot better than "never had a pre season". I do actually like facts about the club and players not round-about little white lies. I am fully aware Kennedy is a talent but today unfortunately he got poleaxed. He should be better for it.

The guy hasn't had a proper pre season since joining the AFL. What's your issue?

can you see a difference between "effort" and "played" monster?
Yes, but that's a cop out too.

This isn't Grade 5, Blue Stream football at interschool sports. We are allegedly a professional sporting organisation and thesetresults should be raising questions that need answers

The same people who defend Polson now will be the same people who lambast him in 2-3 years (a la Graham).

It's amusing how superior some posters believe they are sometimes.

What a load of first class BS. People are saying give him a chance. He's played 9 games in crap side. If in 2-3 years and after 30 plus games he is still struggling then criticism is deserved

Yes, but that's a cop out too.

This isn't Grade 5, Blue Stream football at interschool sports. We are allegedly a professional sporting organisation and thesetresults should be raising questions that need answers
you want results that are pretty much impossible to achieve right now for all the reasons that have been mentioned - skill execution being just one

I dunno... I still remember the games against North and Melbourne earlier in the year. There was nothing to recommend them. No segments of play, no glimpses of skills.

I’ll be honest, I only watched the first half today. But McKay, Curnow, Dow, SPS, Polson (yes... Polson), they all did something that showed a future. I didn’t see much from LOB, but he’s shown plenty in the last few weeks. For mine, we are certainly ahead of where we were earlier in the year. The development is there.

And realistically, this season demonstrates the difference two top notch players in their prime can make. Compare last season with Gibbs and Docherty, to this season without them. Add Docherty and another good player, and see where we are. Weitering and Silvagni are also definitely better players than earlier in the season, having been dropped and required to work on some deficiencies.

I feel better about where we are at than I did 8-10 weeks ago. The young blokes have just hit a wall physically, and the older blokes (who aren’t up to it anymore) have too. The last three weeks might be all manner of ugly, but I’ve seen enough to suggest we have plenty to work with.

Look at Polson's skill execution. He can't kick 40m. He can't pass 20m and he hanballs below the knees to a target. I said in my original post, that you have to question his longevity. Naturally the ball is in his court because he has a contract
Did you see his kick lace out to McKay, which traveled about 35-40m and didn't give the defender any chance whatsoever?

Polson's got a lot of work to do, no-one's denying that. But right now, his efforts that work generally result in goals, directly or indirectly, and that's his value to us. Let him build, let him work his way into this preseason, and allow him the opportunity to surprise you.

Speaking of stalkers.

Hey Drake. Answer my questions from last time (which you ignored) and I will happily answer this one!

Or will there be crickets?
Stalker? Don’t flatter yourself. I read a heap of BF, and enjoy the commentary on here. What stands out is those that BS and try to increase their ‘credibility’ like you do.
I can smell BS from a mile away...and you write a heap of it. You can fool some on here but not me.

So, for the record you have been told that Thomas and other players were told before today’s game that they are being delisted? Let’s get that on record. Because that’s BS.

What a joke..

Alot of frustrated people here and understandably but absolutely no point on turning on eachother, it's all opinions and I disagree with a lot that's been said but what's the point of personal attacks? seriously not enjoyable reading... I was at the game today and trust me I was going mad, umpires didn't help, people from the crowd were even attacking the cheer squad and vice versa, seriously disgraceful

Stalker? Don’t flatter yourself. I read a heap of BF, and enjoy the commentary on here. What stands out is those that BS and try to increase their ‘credibility’ like you do.
I can smell BS from a mile away...and you write a heap of it. You can fool some on here but not me.

So, for the record you have been told that Thomas and other players were told before today’s game that they are being delisted? Let’s get that on record. Because that’s BS.

What a joke..

Answer the last questions you ignored and accused me of things and I'll happily answer this one. Simple

PS If I am full of BS and trying to improve my credibility why does it worry you so much?

I was at the match today and it was clear as day that a lot of the players are ready for the season to be over.

GWS were far too superior, too clean and too classy .We battled but again our slow ball movement killed our momentum, as did handballs and kicks to players feet.

Far too many times this year we've been on a counter attack only to have no one forward at all. One instance today was when Graham had the ball in the centre square and had nobody to kick to so he handballed it to Simpson (wasn't a great handball either) and we turned it over. Couple lads in front of me starting cursing about Graham, but seriously what's the guy gonna do? Barrel it from 80m out? We continuously leave our forward half vacant and it costs us.

McKay about the only positive from today. Marchbank seemed to be finding good fist again and I thought Rowe battled gallantly.

Left early for the first time in my life

Really dissapointed we wouldn't rally in the last vs 17

When will this season be over?