Bluemour Discussion Thread XIV - Facts Not Welcome

Unfortunately, without any big bodied A grader midfielders to add and only the youngsters improvement for 2019, I now fear I’m one of those ‘others’ as well. Just needed Shiel & Gaff types....
I understand easy to be one of the others. We been going through bloody tough time. Would have been great to get Shiel or Gaff but not to be. We look to find some other mature mids of A grade quality. But if cannot get any this period , that is just the tough road we on and got to do keep going forward with using whatever we got to add more quality. If it cannot be in age range we want now, we go onto next best ting and grab another gun kid from this draft pool to go with Walsh. From what I heard of Smith he sounds worthy of going after if cannot get A grader in age range we want. If not him, try to get Rankine. Whatever we do A graders and mids is the aim. Mature age plan A, 2018 Draft pool elite picks the next best plan and if not that we keep for 2019 draft.

Gut feel - were waiting on the Shiel deal to go through to see the picks GWS hold prior to dealing on setters.

Future first into Setterfield and essendons pick 9 (maybe Jones or CAS on our side or Finlayson on their side).

Then 1, 9 & 42 to GC for 2&3.

If GC get 5 for May, then the king brothers at 5&9 seems very achievable.

If on trade night GC take Walsh at 1, then trade 2 to Adelaide for multiple firsts. If they take Lukosius, then we take Walsh and wait on offers on pick 3 before taking Rankine or Smith.
GWS will not trade out Essendon's first pick. That's the whole reason we couldn't deal, weonly offered next year's, but GWS wanted a pick for this year.

Our list has enough young talent. I'm sure we'd all prefer a Wines but Martin would compliment our tall stocks perfectly. Can rotate with Fish and Pickett through mid or HB.

Why would we trade, a 1st round pick, 6 or under, for a player that was touted as a genuine midfielder, but has struggled to play meaningful minutes in that areas, while being extremely talented, there are others that I would spend that currency on. I am under no illusions, thinking it would net us the likes of a Wines, but there are other midfield types that have more worth, than Martin.

Is our future first worth Martin and Setterfield if that’s what it nets out as?

Fair dinkum some of you people think game changing talent grows on trees! We Haven’t kicked 100 points in 3 seasons nearly and we are saying no to a mercurial player who can turn a game on its head because a future first is sacred? Spare me!

SOS already played hardball with pick 1 for Shiel this period and fair enough too on that one but a future first that can potentially get a Martin type player and a pick that satisfies GWS for Setterfield in the process is well worth the risk.

Martin still could be anything and has 6 or 7 years of good football left and so could Setterfield and he has 10.
For a future first round pick who is still speculative I’d sign that off in a heartbeat. Both players make us instantly better next year if fit.

A rumour drops, that makes people believe that Martin could be heading our way, so people try and convince themselves that he is worth giving up an early 1st rounder, because that is the currency we have. We have 2nd and 3rd rounders that could satisfy GWS for Setterfield

Martin is not a midfielder, he is a flanker, that floats up the ground from time to time. Even a guy like Polec, who is not really the type of player I like, makes more sense.

IMO, I doubt SOS will use a pick of that worth, for both Martin and Setterfield and nor should he

GC one of the clubs interested in 1. Possible trade could be 1 + next years first for 2+3 plus some other swaps. We'd then look at on trading 2+3 to the Adelaide clubs. Will depend on what the other clubs want to offer obviously, GC very interested in Walsh and aren't interested in mass picks from Adelaide due to their current draft hand.

I would back Gold Coast would do it with one of their picks.
Keep in mind most other clubs would view our 2019 first rounder a top 2 pick next year.
I think you are right this is smart strategy selling at market high price, but if you had pick 5 this year there’s no way in the world you would swap it for pick 2 next year. Unless of course there’s something extra in it like a 3rd rounder or a handy Jones type player.

GC one of the clubs interested in 1. Possible trade could be 1 + next years first for 2+3 plus some other swaps..
Would certainly consider.
Pick 2 and 3 this draft worth heaps. I'd probably use the picks or use one and milk the other for as much as can get out of Crows or Port.

GC one of the clubs interested in 1. Possible trade could be 1 + next years first for 2+3 plus some other swaps. We'd then look at on trading 2+3 to the Adelaide clubs. Will depend on what the other clubs want to offer obviously, GC very interested in Walsh and aren't interested in mass picks from Adelaide due to their current draft hand.

So we end up trading all the way down to like pick 8? Geez we'd want some mayo on that deal. Missing out on the top 5 in this draft is a big fail.

I’m not sure about Martin as well

And that's fair. Talented but not unproven.

Bottom line for me is I have no issue trading next years first round if it lands us 3-4 very good mature players this year including Setterfield.

Our young talent is as good as we could hope. At this stage of the we need support, depth and create competition for spots. Good sides have a genuine 30-35 players that can step in and play. Not all are stars but work hard and play their roles.

If we can add Setterfield along with a couple of good mature bodies for next years first round pick then I believe it will make a big difference to our results and development in 2019 and beyond

I think you are right this is smart strategy selling at market high price, but if you had pick 5 this year there’s no way in the world you would swap it for pick 2 next year. Unless of course there’s something extra in it like a 3rd rounder or a handy Jones type player.
The update from tencentepiece is interesting. If we can get our hands on pick 2 and 3 this draft, we do it, if Gold Coast that keen on Walsh.

Hit the report button, I couldn't give a shit. You add nothing to this board and you sook and cry like a baby needing attention. ****off!,,
hmm, lemme guess its either captain cripps or the rog guy you're replying to? cos i blocked them both and cant see who you're replying to

So we end up trading all the way down to like pick 8? Geez we'd want some mayo on that deal. Missing out on the top 5 in this draft is a big fail.
I'd doubt we would do that. We may keep pick 2 and trade pick 3 for all it's worth though and happy to drop to 8 and get some really good other stuff with it. Those SA clubs are desperate. Making them having a bidding war on pick 3 and keeping pick 2 for ourselves would be a great position to get in.

We have bucket loads of money and could easily afford 3 players at 900K
I guess that might be possible but I think trying to juggle three negotiations instead of one could be difficult. Especially if the home club matches the offer.

I'd doubt we would do that. We may keep pick 2 and trade pick 3 for all it's worth though and happy to drop to 8 and get some really good other stuff with it. Those SA clubs are desperate. Making them having a bidding war on pick 3 and keeping pick 2 for ourselves would be a great position to get in.
Ahh okay, TCP's post made it seem like we'd trade pick 2 and pick 3.