News Sam Docherty - Another ACL :((

tenor.gif

No talking tonight. Just Jamieson. Maybe talking tomorrow.

Hi everyone, a looooooong time reader and first time poster.

I'm a passionate Blues man. I've been a Carlton member for the past 12 years and always followed and loved the club since a youngster of around 7 years of age.

I remember my dad taking me to a game at Princes Park in the early 80's.
It was a glorious sunny Melb winter's day. We were playing the Doggies. We seriously belted them. I remember it being 203 (I think?) to about 45 or so. I remember the crowd WOOFing Val Perovic's every kick, I remember the great Flying Doormat doing his thing roaming the backline. Geoff Southby was there I believe and the mosquito fleet were all on display. I was in love. I remember crying after the 1982 GF. Yes we won, but geez was I sad that it was an eternity till the footy started up again.

I've loved reading this forum over the past many years and and yes of course shame on me for never posting till now. It's often tricky for me to understand some of the 2am-6am posts from some of the forum's elite posters, I'll readily admit, but it's always fantastic to hear the thoughts of so many passionate Blues fans. Brilliant!

I was compelled to post today. Like us all I'm super sad. I want to express how gutted I feel for Sam today. Life can be cruel and unfair. It's staggering really. I'm trying to be positive. He's grown so much this year and he will continue to do so this next year. I believe he'll be back. I'm sure Andrew Russell joining will be a great asset on his road to recovery.

I hope and think the playing group will be steeled by this. We will improve next year - common sense says we must with the recent list changes and another year into our kids. So we will wait one more year for the All Australian Doc to return to our backline.

Who knows if or when I'll post again but all the very best to you Doc! And go the mighty Blues!

Hi everyone, a looooooong time reader and first time poster.
I'm a passionate Blues man. I've been a Carlton member for the past 12 years and always followed and loved the club since a youngster of around 7 years of age.
I remember my dad taking me to a game at Princes Park in the early 80's.
It was a glorious sunny Melb winter's day. We were playing the Doggies. We seriously belted them. I remember it being 203 (I think?) to about 45 or so. I remember the crowd WOOFing Val Perovic's every kick, I remember the great Flying Doormat doing his thing roaming the backline. Geoff Southby was there I believe and the mosquito fleet were all on display. I was in love. I remember crying after the 1982 GF. Yes we won, but geez was I sad that it was an eternity till the footy started up again.
I've loved reading this forum over the past many years and and yes of course shame on me for never posting till now. It's often tricky for me to understand some of the 2am-6am posts from some of the forum's elite posters, I'll readily admit, but it's always fantastic to hear the thoughts of so many passionate Blues fans. Brilliant!
I was compelled to post today. Like us all I'm super sad. I want to express how gutted I feel for Sam today. Life can be cruel and unfair. It's staggering really. I'm trying to be positive. He's grown so much this year and he will continue to do so this next year. I believe he'll be back. I'm sure Andrew Russell joining will be a great asset on his road to recovery. I hope and think the playing group will be steeled by this. We will improve next year - common sense says we must with the recent list changes and another year into our kids. So we will wait one more year for the All Australian Doc to return to our backline. Who knows if or when I'll post again but all the very best to you Doc! And go the mighty Blues!

Welcome mate and good to have you aboard.

Its heartbreaking. It really is, but on reflection im still really bullish on us strongly improving next season.

Its easier to name players that werent seriously hindered by injury than those that were last season. With any degree of luck with injury we will still be able to put out a much stronger side most weeks next year. I expect Mcgovern to slip into defence, and huge growth to come from within. Mckay, SPS, Fisher, Setterfield, Marchbank etc.

Come 2020 Doc will be a cherry on a very exciting cake.

“Overall, 27% of patients experienced a third ACL injury”. 27% chance of doing it a third time according to some google study...

That's still 73% of never doing it again.

Problem is if all goes well he still will not have much impact in 2020 coming off two, so it is basically 2021 when we might get the old doc back.

…Hello Newman

Yeh it sucks but these sort of events can often have a strange galvanising effect on the group. Time for Weitering, Plowman and Marchbank to really stand up in the back half and guys like Newman and Williamson to cement themselves as best 22 players in our team.

I hope the dreary projections for the upcoming season provide some further incentive to go out there and smash it .

We’re basically back to 2016 - no one rates us, we’ve just got another number one pick and another bunch of talented young players just enter the club in Setterfield, McGovern and Stocker. I’m hoping we take everyone by surprise.

I’m not going to join the group who says that Doc is finished. What this injury might do though is to make him return as a different sort of player. His game might become less about running rebound off half back, and more about kicking rebounding off half back. I always felt Dean Rice made sure he was a cleverer player on his return, and Doc will probably need to work on a skill set which maximises his abilities to read the game.

As far as players coming back from two knees to play their best footy is concerned, can I respectfully disagree with the nomination of David Schwarz? That 1994 final against us before he ruptured the acl was some of the most breathtaking footy you’d ever see. He was unstoppable that day. While he had a good career afterwards, I feel like he never scaled those heights again.

Fire Silvagni and whoever else handed Adelaide the first pick in the 2019 AFL Draft. Was a stupid move at the time and even more stupid now.

Get well soon Doc.
Yeah like Silvagni could see into the future....

FMD.

Because after last year, and our recent history with injuries, I don’t trust our medical team at all. How can we have so many injuries yet other clubs barely s thing????
Collingwood had a bad run with injuries last year and they played in the GF.

As far as players coming back from two knees to play their best footy is concerned, can I respectfully disagree with the nomination of David Schwarz? That 1994 final against us before he ruptured the acl was some of the most breathtaking footy you’d ever see. He was unstoppable that day. While he had a good career afterwards, I feel like he never scaled those heights again.

Yep.

Was probably on par with Carey as the best KPF in the country.

Think he did the ACL 3 times in 18 months, came back at 120kgs and was told to only run in straight lines.

What rubbish.
Common sense says the chances of this happening by luck a second time is virtually impossible.
He's either got a bad knee period or the reco wasn't done 100% tip top.
No. Common sense says the following... use stats, they say it happens multiple times with high enough statistical significance that it can’t be ignored amongst afl players. The other thing common sense says is not To try to push an agenda in an extremely difficult science which requires info we’ll never have accesss to.

ok, I'm back now from blowing off steam out on the front 9 at Devilbend....nearly hit the cover off the golf balls I was so devastated and emotional.

Disappointing with reading responses from some of our posters, although hopefully it was just emotion that dictated some of these responses...and Aph sorted out those that were over the top. It was refreshing though to read posts from opposition supporters sending genuine well wishes...'thank you to you all'.

Trying to take positives, whatever positives there may be, out of this.

He's still only 25, so has time to recover through the traditional methods, and not the LARS or other procedures that players towards the back end of their careers risk going through. Bruce Doull did a knee at 34 years old, missed most of 1985, and came back better than ever in 86, his final year.

It would be worse for Doc, the club and supporters if he did it again when we are finally pressing for finals, rather than a year that we're still rebuilding from the bottom up. It would be great to have him out there of course to be the general on our backline in 2019, but would rather him be the general out there when we're lining up for the national anthem before the grand final.

I also kind of think in the back of their minds, SOS and the team may have put a contingency plan together with the possibility of this happening. Hence why we went hard after Newman...he's not a replacement as such, but a proven defender who could step straight in if Doc had another set back.

The negative is though, that I was listening to GUES SEN radio out on the course, and Terry Wallet thinks the deadline for replacing long term injured players on a list was last Friday. They interviewed Simon Lloyd, and when they put the question to him, he seemed to evade it...not sure if he wasn't aware of the rules, or was just putting a different spin on it. He did say that SOS and co will be diligently looking through the state leagues to fill the remaining spot(s) on our list.

What a shithouse day though :(

That's still 73% of never doing it again.

Problem is if all goes well he still will not have much impact in 2020 coming off two, so it is basically 2021 when we might get the old doc back.

…Hello Newman

Last game- round 23 -August 26 2017
Next game - round 1 - late march 2020

Going to be roughly 930 days between his last match and his next one. Will take a while to blow the cobwebs out.

Just so so cruel after his 2017 AA form

Fair dinkum....scrolling through 16 pages of this has got to have a serious impact on one's health. Time to go for a bloody walk on the beach, be grateful for 2 healthy knees, take a deep breath and hope like hell that the boys at Princes Park can all rally round Doc. Tragedy like this brings unity and we are indeed united in a much bigger cause and purpose and we are interdependent upon one another. Thank God for the support Thy has shown by the amount of likes he has hit tonight. Keep it up brother, 'c os we all need supporting at the moment. And in moments of sudden tragedy, it is instinctive that we help each other; this is one of the better virtues of the CFC family; this is love; this is brotherhood. Love yas!!

Give him your knees FFS!!!!

Selfish!

Okay, so I know it’s only Facebook but someone mentioned seeing a video on Instagram of Docherty jumping on a trampoline over the weekend and that he may have landed awkwardly while doing so.

Not sure what to think...logic says it’s probably bs - any chance Instagram gurus could find such footage?

I heard similar from another source who has seen it. Apparently gorringe & cripps plus respective partners were there to witness it.

I asked for evidence. Instagram account was apparently docs girlfriend.

Dont shoot the messenger just confirming I heard similar

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

News Sam Docherty - Another ACL :((