Analysis 2019 List Management Discussion

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-04...10-outoffavour-players-your-club-could-target

Cutler identified as a possible good fit for Carlton. Have to agree - I flagged him as one to watch a while back. Good size, can play down back or in the middle. Good age for us as well, same draft as Cripps. Goes at around 2:1 kick to handball ratio, takes plenty of marks, finds a decent amount of ball, uses it pretty well. Versatility is a good thing with the midfield we're putting together, and I reckon this bloke would complement us nicely. Bit of a Tomlinson type utility, gives away some height and running power (Tomlinson is a freak there though), for more strength around the stoppages.

Docherty, Jones, Plowman
Marchbank, Weitering, Williamson
Cutler, Setterfield, Walsh
Kreuzer, Cripps, SPS
Fisher, Curnow, Cuningham
Thomas, McKay, McGovern
I/C from: Curnow, Murphy, Dow, O'Brien, Kennedy, Newman, Stocker, Silvagni, Polson, Garlett, Fasolo, Pickett

I'm not sure how we can know he is limited given the lack of opportunity to show what he can do in his best position. Can't understand why we don't try him there.

Amazes me that we keep picking players out of, what appears to be their best position when we're crying out for, in Gibbons case, mature bodies around the ball.

Garlett, to me, is another. Looks to the unitiated like an ideal small forward but we try to teach him to play back.

There were also a lot who could not understand why Gibbons was continually overlooked.
I rekon he would do a better job than Setterfield has been in the midfield to date. I just think the coaches believe that his best chance to truly make it is as a role player up forward which I somewhat agree with.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-04...10-outoffavour-players-your-club-could-target

Interesting list off players

Sier is a type we need right now, but Kennedy is a similar player

Cox who I rated highly in his draft year, yet our talls are developing well

Waterman would be nice, tall but a great runner and would be a great link player from midfield to forward

Greenwood, Brodie, Cutler would add to different areas

Not sure why Laverde is on that list, reasonably talented junior, with all the physical attributes, but has been extremely disappointing and doubt he will make it at the level. I doubt any club would be interested

Sier, Brodie, Cutler and Waterman I would certainly be interested in. Probably in that order.

Looking at that mid season draft article. I'd be interested in:

Corey Gault

Jye Bolton

Sam Fisher(probs the favourite)

Mitch Hibberd

What do we think of bailey Williams or Patrick lipinski. One running defender and one natural medium forward. Both would suit our needs and both not getting games at dogs despite performing very well in the VFL.

The Dogs fans that I know are fuming Bailey isn't getting a game.

They're not as high on Lipinski as what some are. They think he's going to prove to be too good for VFL but not good enough for AFL. Kid still has time though

The midfield fix is easy but won’t happen

Get Charlie & Gibbons into the midfield along with Kennedy & Jack.

SPS off HBF. Fisher forward with Cuningham. SPS will be as damaging as he is now if not more running off HB. His ball use is needed.

Charlie is tall, strong has endurance and can kick it a mile. Now at 50 game mark. Have him rotating forward with Jack would make a difference. Could average 20 plus possessions each and 3-4 goals. Hard to match up. Cripps has a breather up forward as well.

McGovern & McKay become the key posts
Or have Casboult as well

Gibbons with some size around him will get 30 and use it well. He’s a very smart player as is Walsh. With Dow & Kennedy that’s heaps and will win more ball and won’t tire as quickly

This season and another Russell pre season will make a massive difference.

Not sure Greenwood remains in the SANFL too long. He's a genuinely handy player. Would take him in a flash if he was available but I don't think he will be. He's an inside mid, mostly, but he's very athletic, has good hands, tackles well and is a handy forward rotation. Good defense-first mid with more hurt factor than your traditional tagger.

Sier feels a bit too same-same with Cripps, Kennedy and Setterfield. Don't think he's shown any particular aptitude for a second position, either.

Our top priority is at least one creative small forward.

But also, some pace about the middle. Is Ed Langdon an option?

Cuningham back into the side soon gives us some added pace through the middle. Langdon would be a nice addition. Still some hope that Pickett gets back into footy later this season, and AR may be able to work some magic on him by Round 1, 2020 (though you'd think we'd need to see significant progress by October for him to be given that opportunity).

Still think it should be a reasonably straightforward task to pry one of Richmond's small forwards out, they're drowning in them. Sydney have a few as well, and we should be working on them too. Both decent clubs to deal with these days, so no Adelaide/Essendon shenanigans to worry about.

Looking at that mid season draft article. I'd be interested in:

Corey Gault

Jye Bolton

Sam Fisher(probs the favourite)

Mitch Hibberd
has fisher been playing for the nbs?

Our top priority is at least one creative small forward.

But also, some pace about the middle. Is Ed Langdon an option?

Adam Tipungwuti ? Maybe I'm just dreaming that he could perform like his relative ?

Quite a number of clubs were rumoured to be interested to draft him last year.

Adam Tipungwuti ? Maybe I'm just dreaming that he could perform like his relative ?

Quite a number of clubs were rumoured to be interested to draft him last year.

Watched some highlights - he's a little bit more outside than Essendon's Tippa, but he's got some wheels and very neat skills. Wouldn't be against it at all.

The midfield fix is easy but won’t happen

Get Charlie & Gibbons into the midfield along with Kennedy & Jack.

SPS off HBF. Fisher forward with Cuningham. SPS will be as damaging as he is now if not more running off HB. His ball use is needed.

Charlie is tall, strong has endurance and can kick it a mile. Now at 50 game mark. Have him rotating forward with Jack would make a difference. Could average 20 plus possessions each and 3-4 goals. Hard to match up. Cripps has a breather up forward as well.

McGovern & McKay become the key posts
Or have Casboult as well

Gibbons with some size around him will get 30 and use it well. He’s a very smart player as is Walsh. With Dow & Kennedy that’s heaps and will win more ball and won’t tire as quickly

This season and another Russell pre season will make a massive difference.
Can we clone Samo? One off the half back flank for precision delivery into the middle. And another Samo in the centre for precision delivery into the forward line.