Bluemour Discussion Thread XVI - Facts Not Welcome

Watching our last few games has highlighted to me just what a valuable trade the Setterfield trade was.

It is like he has suddenly realized his place in the team is assured and his confidence has increased exponentially.

So easy for us to forget this young man has played only 20 games or so. I can't wait to see what his next year will bring, given a proper pre-season and the added experience.

He could make that number 43 famous again.
One mistake here, you said he could make 43 famous again. In my expert opinion he WILL make no 43 famous again, looks to be all class and boy does he know where the right place to be is.

You don’t think GWS will force a trade for Cogs? Patton isn’t a FA until next year.

No I don't think GWS have the money to match even a reasonable offer, unless they clear out others such as Tomlinson etc

Given Patton's injury history, a 2nd rounder is more than enough

Dave Matthews did say recently they won't be matching any bid for Coniglio.

Whether that changes when the offers become more concrete remains to be seen but I reckon there's a good chance Coniglio won't cost us anything other than salary.

Not sure he'll leave the Giants but if he does, we're in as good a position as any to bring him in.

Just hope we pull the trigger. Would be happy to blow the other clubs out of the water financially if that's what it comes down to.

Watching our last few games has highlighted to me just what a valuable trade the Setterfield trade was.

It is like he has suddenly realized his place in the team is assured and his confidence has increased exponentially.

So easy for us to forget this young man has played only 20 games or so. I can't wait to see what his next year will bring, given a proper pre-season and the added experience.

He could make that number 43 famous again.

Watching Setterfield this year, he has been an 'almost player'.

He does something nice, then is a tiny bit slow to get rid of it. Does the hard work, then fluffs the kick a little. Etc. He does enough and enough well to suggest it's not a lack of talent, but he is lacking touch.

When you consider this is a post-ACL year, his previous injury history and his AFL newbiness AND consider that he's gotten better over the year.....it's not unreasonable to expect that it will start all clicking for him soon. Which is a very tantalising prospect.

Whether that changes when the offers become more concrete remains to be seen but I reckon there's a good chance Coniglio won't cost us anything other than salary.

Not sure he'll leave the Giants but if he does, we're in as good a position as any to bring him in.

Just hope we pull the trigger. Would be happy to blow the other clubs out of the water financially if that's what it comes down to.
With rising cap and vets bowing out soon, we should be able to pinch him and still afford to keep our guys we have with smart list management. Hell, if Pies, Bombers, Hawks can - we should be able to.

Like Shiel, I don't think it will come down to purely money.

Cogs would want to be part of finals from day one.

If we can win a couple more games, stay competitive, we are an outside chance

Personally I think he stays at GWS, but if he does move, I think WC and Hawks(in that order) would appeal to him for different reasons

Are you still on the goon bag from last night.

Acknowledged you kicked a goal.

But you acted like a bit of a knob after it.

It’s ok mate, I enjoy reading your scoops and melts.

Keep em coming and try not to be so sensitive.

Ya big hands big feet grumpy bum bell end.

Liked especially for the use of 'bell end'..

With rising cap and vets bowing out soon, we should be able to pinch him and still afford to keep our guys we have with smart list management. Hell, if Pies, Bombers, Hawks can - we should be able to.

Yep, I agree.

As I said, if he decides to move, I think we're very well placed to bring him across.

If it's up to me I'm offering him a monster contract (1.4 over 7 is fine) and I'm front-loading it.

And I'd have been more than happy to offer him that contract even if he did his knee against the Tigers.

Like Shiel, I don't think it will come down to purely money.

Cogs would want to be part of finals from day one.

If we can win a couple more games, stay competitive, we are an outside chance

Personally I think he stays at GWS, but if he does move, I think WC and Hawks(in that order) would appeal to him for different reasons

Money alone won't get it done but we're in a great position there if it is a deciding factor.

I have said for a while now, I think we're a chance to play finals as early as next year, and I still believe that despite what we've seen this year.

You add Coniglio, Docherty, Papley and another preseason into this young group, and we can move up very quickly.

West Coast are a big chance if he wants to return home, but if he decides to come to Victoria I see us as a more attractive proposition than Hawthorn from next year, though friendships come into it and no doubt Clarkson is a factor also.

Let’s hope SOS can pull the rabbit out of his hat

Or a hare (hair) out of his........

I'd like to know whether SOS must just be a little buoyed after the departure of Bolton.
All of a sudden Kennedy, O'Brien, Setterfield, Gibbons, JSilvagni etc look as though they can indeed play a little football.

Or a hare (hair) out of his........

I'd like to know whether SOS must just be a little buoyed after the departure of Bolton.
All of a sudden Kennedy, O'Brien, Setterfield, Gibbons, JSilvagni etc look as though they can indeed play a little football.

We didn't know that before?

Update......On a more serious and depressing note I visited one of our most iconic and popular characters to play for the CFC and sadly stage 4 cancer is his opponent these days but in true style he’s not giving up and fighting back hard. Too bloody young , younger than me, let’s look to the heavens for a helping hand.
Terrible news! I'm a stage 3 cancer survivor myself, completely cancer free now. No chemo. Fitter then I have ever been.

I'm always happy to share anything that I have gone through.

Yep, I agree.

As I said, if he decides to move, I think we're very well placed to bring him across.

If it's up to me I'm offering him a monster contract (1.4 over 7 is fine) and I'm front-loading it.

And I'd have been more than happy to offer him that contract even if he did his knee against the Tigers.

Money alone won't get it done but we're in a great position there if it is a deciding factor.

I have said for a while now, I think we're a chance to play finals as early as next year, and I still believe that despite what we've seen this year.

You add Coniglio, Docherty, Papley and another preseason into this young group, and we can move up very quickly.

West Coast are a big chance if he wants to return home, but if he decides to come to Victoria I see us as a more attractive proposition than Hawthorn from next year, though friendships come into it and no doubt Clarkson is a factor also.

FWIW on the train home after our GWS game I was talking to a Carlton supporter who professed to be a good friend of Coniglio (his son was wearing a signed Coniglio jumper even though True Blue) and he said he expected him to stay but, if he left, it would be to a Melbourne club. Didn't think he had any interest at all in returning to WA.

Combined with the usual appeal of playing for a big Vic club, we can also point at Brisbane's year and argue we're due for a similar improvement.

The ladder of the past 6 rounds has us sitting 6th (it was shown on talking footy). Keep that up and I don't see why we wouldn't be an easy sell for players looking for a move.