Draft Profile Jamarra Ugle-Hagan

Watching him play for Oakleigh Chargers and looks like a Very Special Talent and Super Athletic.

Took Huge Hanger Today vs Oakleigh.

He be 1 to watch for the 2020 Draft

Dogs have a Beauty

If the AFL locks us out of getting him with the NGA reforms, right after letting North have Tarryn Thomas and letting Collingwood have Isaac Quaynor, I think it might be time to rent out a dump truck full of manure, and take it on a one-way trip to AFL HQ.

Sydney got Blakey (a father-son candidate elsewhere), Heeney and Mills through the same system, all top level prospects.

It would be taking the piss if they made any serious changes now that removed our access to him. The only dramatic change I'd 100% agree with (but still feel a little salty) is to remove the 20% discount

Or make the 20% discount only apply to the first NGA candidate in any given year, meaning the next candidates are taken at full points value.

As long as we get this kid I don;t care that much, I'm all on the hype train already.

Hawks have two very, very solid (one top 10, the other maybe late first) NGA prospects next year too so there's a really good chance they're gonna mess with it through reforms. When it happens, I'll rent out a second one.

I love how supporters of every club in the competition are utterly adamant that the AFL has it in for them and there's some deep conspiracy at play 😂
From my and a lot of other's point of view it's not that, it's just that I'd be mightily pissed off if other clubs benefited from getting Thomas and Quaynor and then we got the rug pulled out from under us and missed out on a similar level talent that had been in our academy for far longer. Obviously don't think it'd be the AFL being biased against us, it would be more them reacting to a backlash against North and Collingwood if anything.

From my and a lot of other's point of view it's not that, it's just that I'd be mightily pi**ed off if other clubs benefited from getting Thomas and Quaynor and then we got the rug pulled out from under us and missed out on a similar level talent that had been in our academy for far longer. Obviously don't think it'd be the AFL being biased against us, it would be more them reacting to a backlash against North and Collingwood if anything.
Quite frankly the NGA’s are a farce. Have been from the beginning.

Should never have been brought in, in the first place.

And are your thoughts on the academies are the same?
The Northern Academies are not the same, having specialised training to keep potential draftees from switching to NRL or other sports in non-AFL orientated states is necessary, whereas there's not much chance of that happening in most of the Vic NGA zones

Agree anyone from Victoria should be open draft ( except father sons)

The only way to make NGAs actually useful and not a simple rort is to mandate that clubs spend a percentage of total revenues on training and development activities in their zone. The AFL could also do this directly, but club branding can be a powerful tool in getting a community behind the game.

I don't think there should be a mandate on % of revenue spend as a lot of Vic NGA staff are volunteers and would likely be cut from their roles if they arent top of the line coaches. I think a mamdate on programs run, maybe at least 1 talent ID/development session for each club per year or 2, something more like that so that NGA volunteers still get the coaching development without cost and kids in these zones get more attention/ development

Problem then is that we're granting exclusive additional access for the northern states, and denying the same to other clubs.

The entire academy system is obviously severely flawed, but to only allow QLD and NSW clubs the exclusive rights to kids who may or not have played AFL anyway is clearly unfair. Just look at Sydney's recruitment of Blakey last year. The kid was eligible for FS elsewhere, yet somehow qualifies as an academy kid, completing taking the piss out of the entire point of the system. Not Sydney's fault they did that, obviously it's the AFL's for enabling a situation like that

I don't think there should be a mandate on % of revenue spend as a lot of Vic NGA staff are volunteers and would likely be cut from their roles if they arent top of the line coaches. I think a mamdate on programs run, maybe at least 1 talent ID/development session for each club per year or 2, something more like that so that NGA volunteers still get the coaching development without cost and kids in these zones get more attention/ development
I disagree. Volunteering can easily be performed through an expanded Auskick open to all. What's the point in an academy without top of the line coaches? That isn't development, that's basically just IDing talent that already existed in the area, and creaming it off without putting in more than a token effort.

To me the point of an academy is to develop actual AFL-worthy players, which requires serious development. Not a run-around in the park for anyone to try, to get people engaged in the game who otherwise don't think about the game at all. That's what Auskick and similar programs are for. Otherwise there's no point whatsoever in allowing clubs to bid on the NGA prospects who are actually AFL-worthy.

Problem then is that we're granting exclusive additional access for the northern states, and denying the same to other clubs.
That's exactly the point. The northern states have an inherent disadvantage due to being in rugby league territory. They don't produce enough talent like the heartland states, to be able to recruit many players who are unlikely to leave due to no go-home factor. What few prospects they do produce should be prioritised to remain in those states, so that the northern states can reduce their go-home risk and create home-grown superstars to inspire the fanbase and future development of the game.

I would also argue that the level of competition amongst juniors in Northern states is low compared to the heartland, and so it isn't conducive to producing star players. If you look at the top academy players from Queensland over the past decade, many of them are talls, who grew up playing rugby league and basketball. There are fewer midfield prospects with intuitive football skills that make it to the highest level. This is why more concentrated development is needed, which requires the clubs to actually invest in skill development of their academy players.

The entire academy system is obviously severely flawed, but to only allow QLD and NSW clubs the exclusive rights to kids who may or not have played AFL anyway is clearly unfair.
Now if we go back to the time period before academies or northern state zones, there were relatively few players who came from Queensland, or NSW minus Riverina. I don't know much about NSW, but the few stars that did come out of Queensland, like Dunstall and Crosisca, went to Melbourne, stayed in Melbourne and had no desire to join the Brisbane Bears. Why? Partly because the Bears didn't exist in their formative years and so contributed nothing towards their development in any way. The northern academies now show an actual investment by clubs in the youth, they are integrated into the culture from the junior level, making them more likely to remain with the club and partially address the inherent disadvantage the northern clubs have.

I disagree. Volunteering can easily be performed through an expanded Auskick open to all. What's the point in an academy without top of the line coaches? That isn't development, that's basically just IDing talent that already existed in the area, and creaming it off without putting in more than a token effort.

To me the point of an academy is to develop actual AFL-worthy players, which requires serious development, not a run-around in the park for anyone to try, to get people engaged in the game who otherwise don't think about the game at a. That's what Auskick and similar programs are for. Otherwise there's no point whatsoever in allowing clubs to bid on the NGA prospects who are actually AFL-worthy.
I'm generalizing a bit here but from what I can tell NGA programs are set up with elite head coaches/coordinators who will run sessions and mentor these volunteer coaches, who can take what they've learnt in the program out to their local teams, increasing the quality of coaching in the area. Although a slower process than instantly injecting $$ and putting nothing but ex-AFL players in the programs, it would have more benefit.

Alternatively I like what you've suggested as long as clubs are also required to run free coaching classes in their areas, again with the aim t ok increase quality of coaching and with that, quality of development in their zone

The entire academy system is obviously severely flawed, but to only allow QLD and NSW clubs the exclusive rights to kids who may or not have played AFL anyway is clearly unfair. Just look at Sydney's recruitment of Blakey last year. The kid was eligible for FS elsewhere, yet somehow qualifies as an academy kid, completing taking the piss out of the entire point of the system. Not Sydney's fault they did that, obviously it's the AFL's for enabling a situation like that
Like most things there is no one clear solution, like Priority Picks it needs to be a case by case thing, my main argument is your "may or may not have played AFL anyway". You can say that it's likely he would have without the academy but you can't say the academy didn't help him get to the level he's at, which is still a positive for the league as a whole

I'm generalizing a bit here but from what I can tell NGA programs are set up with elite head coaches/coordinators who will run sessions and mentor these volunteer coaches, who can take what they've learnt in the program out to their local teams, increasing the quality of coaching in the area. Although a slower process than instantly injecting $$ and putting nothing but ex-AFL players in the programs, it would have more benefit.
That's a fair point. Perhaps clubs could also be required to take a few volunteer coaches for this sort of development, as part of the privilege of having NGA access.

Alternatively I like what you've suggested as long as clubs are also required to run free coaching classes in their areas, again with the aim t ok increase quality of coaching and with that, quality of development in their zone
Also a good idea.

Quite frankly the NGA’s are a farce. Have been from the beginning.

Should never have been brought in, in the first place.
Absolutely! They were brought in to keep the "big drawcard" clubs happy. Revenue is all the AFL cares about. They don't care about equality. That's why the grand final is played on Hawthorns, Richmonds, Essendons, Carltons and Collingwoods home ground. The AFL wants those teams to play in grand finals and wants them to win.

The net effect of NGA's is that the northern clubs no longer have any advantage to compensate them for a reduced ability to retain players. In fact I suspect that we will find ourselves severely disadvantaged in a few years once the NGA's have gathered momentum and we start seeing more NGA players being recruited.

I'd also be interested to see how much clubs with NGA's spend on them each year. I would suggest that it would be a fraction of several thousands that the northern clubs (except for maybe GWS) spend each year. They don't need to spend anything because the players come to them.

With this recruitment advantage gone, the northern clubs need some sort of program that assists them in retention. The vast majority of players recruited through the draft come from Victoria and even more come from "football states". It's only natural that they are going to want to go home after serving their apprenticeships in NSW or Qld.

Even when we do get father son selections (GWS and GCS don't even have that option), they are probably coming from Victoria and frequently don't want to come to us or want to return home ASAP, ie. Murphy, Dunkley, Mitchell, et al. The Swans have been lucky in retention due to our on field success but are now noticing that a down year can see players wanting to head home (Papley and Jones). Even with on field success GWS has had difficulty with retention. The Lions have historically found retention difficult and GCS is a basket case because they can't retain anyone.

Absolutely! They were brought in to keep the "big drawcard" clubs happy. Revenue is all the AFL cares about. They don't care about equality. That's why the grand final is played on Hawthorns, Richmonds, Essendons, Carltons and Collingwoods home ground. The AFL wants those teams to play in grand finals and wants them to win.

The net effect of NGA's is that the northern clubs no longer have any advantage to compensate them for a reduced ability to retain players. In fact I suspect that we will find ourselves severely disadvantaged in a few years once the NGA's have gathered momentum and we start seeing more NGA players being recruited.

I'd also be interested to see how much clubs with NGA's spend on them each year. I would suggest that it would be a fraction of several thousands that the northern clubs (except for maybe GWS) spend each year. They don't need to spend anything because the players come to them.

With this recruitment advantage gone, the northern clubs need some sort of program that assists them in retention. The vast majority of players recruited through the draft come from Victoria and even more come from "football states". It's only natural that they are going to want to go home after serving their apprenticeships in NSW or Qld.

Even when we do get father son selections (GWS and GCS don't even have that option), they are probably coming from Victoria and frequently don't want to come to us or want to return home ASAP, ie. Murphy, Dunkley, Mitchell, et al. The Swans have been lucky in retention due to our on field success but are now noticing that a down year can see players wanting to head home (Papley and Jones). Even with on field success GWS has had difficulty with retention. The Lions have historically found retention difficult and GCS is a basket case because they can't retain anyone.
Cry me a river mate, the grand final is played on the mcg because it’s the home of football and holds 100k. Get another stadium that holds the same amount, then you can talk about rotating it one day.

That's my point. The AFL want it there because of the money and the advantage to the big clubs. Regardless of the additional income, it's wrong.

I'd guarantee that all the Vic clubs and you would be sooking like crazy if the GF was played at the SCG every year.

We had one, it was called Stadium Australia, but the AFL never considered holding a grand final there. And now we can't since it's being converted to a permanent rectangle.

Victorian clubs used to have NSW Scholarship programs until the AFL ran all of the AFL clubs out of NSW with the invention of the Northern Academies.

the AFL then realises its not fair allowing 4 clubs free access to talent meanwhile the other 14 have no access, so they create the NGA's as a way for us to have our own versions and to help encourage Immigrants who would normally not play football to play and to help Indigenous pathways to the AFL, in SA and WA they dont even have access to most inner city Indigenous talent until recently they passed a rule saying as long as the talent isnt inside the top 40 picks you can have them to the 4 SA and WA clubs

this bickering to whether or not you believe your academy is just or unjust is silly, as all academies are old fashioned zoning recruitment catchment areas and they should all be ended or all be allowed imo.

and as for hosting the GF, sydney can barely support 1 AFL team let alone host a GF, Adelaide and Perth which are footy states could host it if they had 80k seat stadiums which they dont.