Bluemour Melting Pot XXI - Like seriously, the polar ice caps have got nothing on us

I don't blame either SOS or Phillips.

We offered him 1 year. Fair enough, we have the right to see him as a temporary gap-filler.

He decided he wants to test the market. Fair enough, he has the right to seek more job security.

What is wrong with either of those?

I guess there was a suggestion that he smiled and nodded at his exit interview and then sprung a trade request on us during trade week. OK, maybe a little underhanded. But it seems we've had enough time to wheel and deal and managed to reel in Pittonet as a replacement. No big deal. No hard feelings.

No issue with what we offered, but the idea or the talk around SOS being filthy, angry or whatever was said.

Maybe a lot of it is Chinese whispers,for me it feeds in to the narrative, once SOS likes a player, SOS would never recruit a player he’s delisted, SOS being questioned by the board regarding missed trades and the like

Yeah sure. Higgins and Goldstein are 32 next year. Ziebell and Cunington will be 29. Brown 28. I think most of the players younger than that have modest ceilings. Even if they were younger it’s not enough top end talent to be competitive with the best.

So, I think North needs to work out how it works toward its next flag. Topping up with ‘solid types’ won’t cut it.

I think you’re not a destination club for top end talent. I think all clubs are struggling to get in top 20 afl players. Blues haven’t grabbed one at any point and am not saying we are any better off.

But getting a flag winning list together won’t be done through trades for North. You therefore need to do it through the draft. Mid range picks won’t do it either.

So I think you need to strongly consider trading out players of value (Eg Brown) to get early picks in bunches so you can attempt to find your next group of champions.

That you’re not doing anything like that feels a bit defeatist to me.

NM are flapping away in the middle of the pond.

Trading Brown to * for picks 5 and 9 would be a big start.

They need to be prepared to make some short term sacrifices for potential glory.

54 and 56 the article states. Simple business for us and indicates that we've got good a trading relationship with Swans (pointing to hopefully Paps deal going ahead).

It is the only logical 'read' of the situation I can come up with - pretty clear message to Essendon as well - Carlton and Sydney are set- wot you wanna do Dodo?

I get that from the TV's perspective.
But wouldn't it be more to their benefit if the period was compressed, and more was happening, and more excitement was created? Sure they want some big deals going down in the last 2 hours, fair enough. But how does it help them to have 4 players move in 8 days?

I would think, purely from a tv and entertainment perspective, they'd be better off running trade week for 4 days and finishing on Thursday night (Obviously not from a Trade Radio perspective, though, where they get an extra week to talk about absolutely nothing happening).

They'd make a fair bit of money from the advertising ads throughout Trade Radio...longer run time equals more spots to sell.

By purposely maximising the TV audience with lots of deals, they can then present the viewership numbers to the network and future sponsors and point to those high figures to again make them pay more money for the rights/advertising.

Nope - like everyone else - just trying to do the best for his employer. Managed to get Shiel/Saad/Stringer/Smith all of whom in combination have kept Essendon from 'bottoming'. Didn't look happy with what he needed to pay for Shiel to get him - how much was that call in his hands - no one knows.

Daniher is a huge loss to Essendon though - would be like Jack Sylvagni being the standout best game breaker at Carlton - and asking for a trade - because he no longer likes the Club! Dodoro has been dealt a shyte hand with that one - makes me happy just thinking about it.

Not really. He’s going to his old mans club the Swans and he could have gone there as a father son but chose not to his draft year. Funnily enough if his son gets to AFL he too would be father son at the same two clubs.

Also it’s Silvagni with two i’s

They'd make a fair bit of money from the advertising ads throughout Trade Radio...longer run time equals more spots to sell.

By purposely maximising the TV audience with lots of deals, they can then present the viewership numbers to the network and future sponsors and point to those high figures to again make them pay more money for the rights/advertising.

Fair enough, I think they'd be better off with a shorter, more intense, more interesting trade period.
People, however interested, seem to be getting pretty sick of nothing happening, and getting bombarded with the same 3 or 4 ads. It probably turns people off the products advertised more than attracts them.

Am I the only one that isn't overly shitted off at Dodo?

Trade period is a negotiation. Negotiations involve offers, counter offers, games of chicken and stall tactics.

Daniher is contracted. If * want to keep a potentially disgruntled player, then that's their choice. If they get less compo under FA next year, that's their problem. They are under no obligation to make the Papley trade easier for us to pass.

Would I like all the deals to be done on day 1? Sure. But the negotiations aren't being done for the benefit of BigFooty users and general footy fans.

Thats a fair point, but it does appear he is sticking his heels in just for the sake of it.
Be interesting to see how it all unfolds this arvo and evening

Just reading that our "old mate" Lachie Henderson is still without a contact for next year.
Would LOL so hard if he got flicked by Geelong

But all the experts said Carlton were mad for trading all their star players (for eg Harry McKay).......

Not really. He’s going to his old mans club the Swans and he could have gone there as a father son but chose not to his draft year. Funnily enough if his son gets to AFL he too would be father son at the same two clubs.

Also it’s Silvagni with two i’s

Apologies for typo to the Silvagnis!

Don't understand the rest- Essendon would consider Joe Daniher to be 'theirs' - a one team player for life - doubt that they would have ever planned for such a contingency and Dodoro is now looking at picking up 5+9 (maybe) in what most consider to be a relatively weak draft. The point Essendon made about Joe Daniher's importance to their forward structure is well made and fair - the trade hurts them anyway one looks at it.

Makes me smile.

All I know is as soon as 3pm hits, I’m glad SoS is on our side. Don’t doubt his love for our club, and whatever happens/doesn’t happen, it wouldn’t be for the lack of trying.

Let the chips fall as they may.