State Focus WA 2020 - Western Australia's junior footy talent

Who is in it mate from EF? Last year's team had a few goodun in Robertson(Perth), Warner,Ruscoe and Sharpe from EF....think there were a few others as well from other WAFL teams.

Cripps already 196 and growing....not sure what is in the water up Northampton way....Kennedy, Cripps x2, Taylor and Bryn Teakle all tall boys.
Warner finished school in 2018 so last year didn’t play psa. He basically lived the year as a full time athlete hence the rapid improvement. Kids who have to deal with Year 12 in their draft year are disadvantaged I reckon.

Aquinas/EF kids this year should include

year 12’s - Cripps, woewodin, Collins, Gorringe
Year 11’s - Warner, Sharp, Connor (colts squad- 2003), Cleaver (Futures - 2004)

Warner finished school in 2018 so last year didn’t play psa. He basically lived the year as a full time athlete hence the rapid improvement. Kids who have to deal with Year 12 in their draft year are disadvantaged I reckon.

Aquinas/EF kids this year should include

year 12’s - Cripps, woewodin, Collins, Gorringe
Year 11’s - Warner, Sharp, Connor (colts squad- 2003), Cleaver (Futures - 2004)

Aquinas were strong last year. Be interesting to see how many year 12’s they have lost. Guildford might be a dark horse these coming two years

Jack Allen played the last couple of years with my son.
I expect him to develop pretty quickly this year.
I think he's November, 2001 so technically an over-ager, just.
Swan Districts.

The West Perth colts beat reigning premiers Claremont last night by 2 points at Claremont oval. I wouldn't read much into the result as Claremont traditionally use their pre season matches to give their country zone players a chance to show themselves. The Falcons themselves benched a lot of their starting players to give their youth a chance to stake their claim.

Cracker of a game though as West Perth were leading for the entire match until around the 5 min mark in the last quarter where they surrendered their lead. With 6 seconds to go, the ball was deep within the falcons half as they trialled by 4. After some great intercept work from Rohan Scurria, the Falcons were able to hit up forward Darcy Dixon who remarkably thumped it for goal outside the 50.

The siren sounded as the ball was in flight but the kick was strong enough for it to roll through the posts scoring them the critical points needed to win the game.

Video:

I didn't pay enoguh attention to the Claremont players to comment on them but the players who stood up for the Falcons were: Kellen Johnson, Lochlan Paton and Zarne Robis. Special mention goes to their ruckman Bailey Hines. Standing at 203cm, Bailey is fresh off the boat when it comes to footy players having played little footy and never ever making a development side. I dont think he lost many tapouts last night and given his rawness, could attract a bit of interest from recruiters.

Should be an exciting season for Falcons fans.

Cheers for that, will be interesting to see if he can do a Paddy and dominate at the colts level....pretty sure Paddy Cripps only had one year at EF, before embarking on his current stellar AFL career.
Paddy also never made a state team until his draft year. They said he was too small and scrawny. One point for the late bloomers!

Colts and Futures seasons have been postponed until 31 May at least.

Well all levels of WAFL were put on hold yesterday effective until the 31st of May. It's going to be odd year for all draft potentials.

If the government manage the virus action plan right, our recovery should be relatively fast. One of the guys in the front line of the virus in Wuhan reports things are going back to normal over there and that more and more people are being released from self isolation. He was in lockdown since the 26th of January and expects things to be over with by the end of the month.

I’m sorry, but there is no comparison what so ever between Wuhan and China’s approach, and our governments approach.

I’m not being rude or mean here, but I don’t think you have any idea.

As you mentioned they locked Wuhan down, for 11 weeks.

They have technology and testing procedures developed and refined from the SARS epidemic, that we don’t have.

There are reasons why our government keeps talking 6 months for the virus in Australia.

Honestly our best hope is our scientists finding a cure, with speeded up clinical trials. Hopefully beginning at the end of the month.

I’m sorry, but there is no comparison what so ever between Wuhan and China’s approach, and our governments approach.

I’m not being rude or mean here, but I don’t think you have any idea.

As you mentioned they locked Wuhan down, for 11 weeks.

They have technology and testing procedures developed and refined from the SARS epidemic, that we don’t have.

There are reasons why our government keeps talking 6 months for the virus in Australia.

Honestly our best hope is our scientists finding a cure, with speeded up clinical trials. Hopefully beginning at the end of the month.

I think you've misinterpreted my post.

I said as long as the government manage the plan right they'll work this out quicker given we have:

- The luxury of learning from other countries and not being the first to deal with it.
- We have a much smaller population to contain
- We have a much lower population density in our key cities

I'm sure China would love to be in this boat if given the option.

If the worlds medical experts cant find a cure for the common cold after years of trying, do you genuinely think that they are onto a cure for Corona?

It’s very intriguing to see when and in what format the U18 and U16 National carnivals will run. Surely they have to have both? Or could they do without the U16? But then how will the bottom agers for next years U18 be seen (the bottom agers of next years would be the U16 of this year). The U16 national Carnival works as an important viewing platform to get all the talented kids in one place. At that age (year 10’s and 11’s in most states), they are playing their club or school footy in literally hundreds of different teams/comps so it’s very hard for them to be seen weekly. By the time they are U18 (top or bottom aged) they are mostly playing in same comps (NaB League, wafl/sanfl Colts or private school comps) so easier to be regularly viewed.i am not saying all draftable kids have to play U16 but it is a good starting platform for recruiters.

Does anyone reckon there will even be a draft this year now?

On SM-A705YN using BigFooty.com mobile app
I think there will but the timing and Amount of picks allowed are all up in the air. They have to have one to keep things ticking over. But they have to have a season first. If they don’t finish 2020 in some degree, then I have no idea. And I reckon the have to have a U18 champ at some point as well.

Maybe a good time to raise the age and just have two rounds this year.

On SM-A705YN using BigFooty.com mobile app