Life

Hit a bit of an existential point in the last couple of months, genuinely felt that if I had kept on my current trajectory I would be dead by the end of this year, either due to drug abuse or by my own hand. I've done a lot of soul-searching and asked a lot of questions about what I want out of life. I'm at the point now where I need to do something with myself or I may as well not be here, but I've made drastic changes in my life to allow me to do that. Cautiously optimistic for the year ahead.
I'm a bit same. Urgent drastic action is needed but unsure what to do. Make the wrong decision and things get worse or it costs thousands (seemingly need to spend that to make any real change) so have to be careful but ultimately must act or things spiral downhill and you can't get out

Has anyone reassessed things in terms of their career, where they live, what they want out of life etc etc?

For me, I want a simpler life, I've realised I've wasted a lot of years worrying about career but in reality not doing enough to progress and have come to the conclusion that if I really wanted to progress in the industry I am in I would have done this. Everything about my job has become a chore and not being in charge of my own destiny is quite depressing.

I guess my only obstacle to change now, is a decent amount of money, which isn't a great problem to have in the current economy.

Has anyone reassessed things in terms of their career, where they live, what they want out of life etc etc?

For me, I want a simpler life, I've realised I've wasted a lot of years worrying about career but in reality not doing enough to progress and have come to the conclusion that if I really wanted to progress in the industry I am in I would have done this. Everything about my job has become a chore and not being in charge of my own destiny is quite depressing.

I guess my only obstacle to change now, is a decent amount of money, which isn't a great problem to have in the current economy.
If you simplify even further, you wont even need that decent amount of money, maybe a modest amount would do the trick

Absolutely, it will involve moving either interstate or at least a fair way out of the city and then being unemployed whilst I look for work so just that initial cash. I have zero debt so that's good I guess.

I stopped worrying about having a career a while ago and I feel i've become more happy and can still afford the lifestyle I had.

The biggest challenge I found is people look down at you if that's your outlook on life.

My career trajectory has improved.

This is probably where I was 12 months ago. Decent job, decent money, great security - but just over it. No motivation. The work is boring, the organisational culture is depressing and I've overdosed on the industry. I eventually came to the conclusion that I need more than a career change - I need to work for myself, in a job where I can work from wherever I want and pick my clients.

I wasn't really in a position to chuck it all in at that time - which is probably a good thing, given how things panned out. Instead I picked up a bit of consulting on the side, and got myself a sideways move into an area that will help build some useful skills. It's far from perfect but it's helped. Knowing what I'm working towards has made it a lot easier to endure the grind.

I feel like a leper in this world sometimes.

I could hardly care less about a career.

Give me a job to keep a roof over my head and my finances better off than welfare and everything else is a bonus, I'll work around it. I honestly believe it's a better frame of mind to be in have some sort of inner peace.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Give me a job to keep a roof over my head and my finances better off than welfare and everything else is a bonus
I think a lot of people would agree that a career isn’t super important, but ‘better off than welfare’ is a pretty low bar.

I would like to be able to travel a bit, maybe have kids, and fund my retirement to the extent that I don’t end up in a nursing home that gives people kerosene baths.

I have step kids. Love them more than anything else. Would do anything for them. Makes my life fun and worthwhile (and annoying as fu** haha)

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

I have a daughter that came to me when she was nine. I say daughter because that's how I feel but she is a step daughter all the same. She's 21 now and I couldn't imagine my life without her in it.

I think a lot of people would agree that a career isn’t super important, but ‘better off than welfare’ is a pretty low bar.

I would like to be able to travel a bit, maybe have kids, and fund my retirement to the extent that I don’t end up in a nursing home that gives people kerosene baths.

I don't care much for travel and already have a kid with another placed planned so no issues there. Who knows what could happen with retirement now regarding super and whatnot. Is the destination worth a journey that's frequently unhappy?

I feel like a leper in this world sometimes.

I could hardly care less about a career.

Give me a job to keep a roof over my head and my finances better off than welfare and everything else is a bonus, I'll work around it. I honestly believe it's a better frame of mind to be in have some sort of inner peace.

Do you have any hobbies? Or are you just happy to walk back in the house after a 9-5/the weekend and sit down and just chill?

My hobbies kick me in the guts but I do stuff.

Involved in local film and TV projects as well as personal hobby stuff.
Umpire footy.
Karaoke and music
Work on old car.

The rest like video games probably falls in to chilling at home, but I don't really work 9-5 Monday to Friday, and chilling at home is rare with a baby with ADHD/ASD.

I don’t reckon it’s necessarily one or the other.
Not necessarily, but career is a very common theme here for people discussing discontent with life so I'm just proposing a different way of thinking, a different approach that may or may not help.

No, but I have started appreciating what I've been able to do for the past year or so more than I was appreciating it before.

Sure, run an online business, travel the world, be totally free. Sounds great and yet somehow I found myself taking it for granted.

Now that I am no longer free, now that no country will allow anybody in, and it seems to me this is not changing any time soon, I find myself looking back and thinking, 'Thank christ I did that while I still could'.

Even if I have to haul my sorry ass back to Australia, I can always look back and say I spent more than a year living my dream.

And if international flights and travel ever does come back, I don't think I'll take it for granted so much next time.

Especially if I am forced to spend years stuck in ****ing Australia. This could be the kick in the backside I needed.

My hobbies kick me in the guts but I do stuff.

Involved in local film and TV projects as well as personal hobby stuff.
Umpire footy.
Karaoke and music
Work on old car.

The rest like video games probably falls in to chilling at home, but I don't really work 9-5 Monday to Friday, and chilling at home is rare with a baby with ADHD/ASD.

Would you not like to be in a position to spend more time doing those things? Or are you happy to do them when and if you get the time?
For me I find doing a 9-5 that gives me no real enjoyment has absolutely killed my motivation to do things I really enjoy, I'm kind of tapped out by the time work is done and the weekend rolls around.

Would you not like to be in a position to spend more time doing those things? Or are you happy to do them when and if you get the time?
For me I find doing a 9-5 that gives me no real enjoyment has absolutely killed my motivation to do things I really enjoy, I'm kind of tapped out by the time work is done and the weekend rolls around.

I feel the same way sometimes when my weekend rolls around, I guess it's because home life can be so challenging sometimes it feels I'm burning up my best hours in terms of energy and attentiveness at work, but I figure at least the not always 9-5 nature of things kinda helps to break it up. Maybe it goes back to being a 16 year old working nightfill, I missed a lot of teenage parties and events because of it so quickly realised I gotta make my own fun sometimes. I think that's where I learned to love karaoke or open mic, performing music, because it was on a Wednesday night at the pub and I could do that and not worry about Thursday morning. That was my weekend when everyone else was doing a stereotypical Friday-Satdy thing.

Wouldn't everybody like to be in a position to spend more time doing those things they enjoy? Not many will get there though. Like I think, realign the way of looking at things. I grew up in a family out of work, having a job is a good problem to have. Minimise time spend worrying about it, live within means, and start rebuilding from there away from it.

Still trying to climb the career ladder at the moment. Sometimes I see my bosses sending emails all hours of the night, and on weekends, and I think to myself, "is this really what I'm working towards?" More work?

So you 'appreciate' the position you were in to be able to live as an expat, but you want to keep potshotting Australia. Righto.
These two things are not mutually exclusive. Why should they be?

And until recently I still had hope for Australia.

There was always a small but significant percentage of people who hadn't capitulated to the hivemind.

From what I can gather, the last few months has swallowed the remnant whole. You are a case in point, to be honest.

Australia started as a penal colony so I should not be surprised that it has returned to one.

And I should not be surprised that even the 'men' of the nation support their new status as convicts.

Can't live their lives, can't leave the country, but oh, my daddy government loves me.

Pathetic.

Still trying to climb the career ladder at the moment. Sometimes I see my bosses sending emails all hours of the night, and on weekends, and I think to myself, "is this really what I'm working towards?" More work?
It’s the cliched ‘work to live’, not ‘live to work’. I’m high enough in my company to be comfortable but have no desire whatsoever to be the boss, spending day and night worrying about work. Come 5pm, I’m off clock with the kids and work can piss off.

These two things are not mutually exclusive. Why should they be?

And until recently I still had hope for Australia.

There was always a small but significant percentage of people who hadn't capitulated to the hivemind.

From what I can gather, the last few months has swallowed the remnant whole. You are a case in point, to be honest.

Australia started as a penal colony so I should not be surprised that it has returned to one.

And I should not be surprised that even the 'men' of the nation support their new status as convicts.

Can't live their lives, can't leave the country, but oh, my daddy government loves me.

Pathetic.

Take up a citizenship elsewhere and cut up your passport if you feel so strongly about it, you won't be missed. I bet you won't do that, though. Because you're a run of the mill first year arts student who deep down knows the only reason you are in a position to be where you are because of the passport you hold. It's funny how hundreds of millions of people around the world would jump at the chance to be Australian citizens, but people with a few grand in their pocket who live like kings in third world countries for a bit are suddenly above it.

Still waiting for you to add something of value to the COVID-19 discussion. Won't hold my breath. Couple of new words and hackneyed cliches + contrary position = edgy argument too clever for anyone else to handle. It's like Silent Alarm 5 years ago (you know, when he was actually naive first year uni student age) mixed in with a bit of cultural cringe.

You can 'gather' whatever you like. I think the WA premier has done a good job, the PM has done a below average to average job and the Vic premier (who doesn't influence me at all as I don't live there) seems like a bit of a power hungry flog. ICYMI international travel has ground to a halt. I guess Australia did that all by ourselves what with the massive power we yield. It is an inconvenience to have to spend 14 days in a hotel after flying into the country so we should just reopen daily flights to Wuhan and let people just stay home if they feel a bit off. Hell now seems like a good time to trial direct flights from NYC. Freederm!