Corona virus, Port and the AFL. Part 2.

Actually worse than babies, as babies actually cry for a reason. These grown men are just brats having a tantrum cause they are not prepared to leave their precious and insular lives!

The same guys who roll up at the MCG on ANZAC Day and pretend to honor a bunch of kids who were quite literally snatched from their mothers arms, had a uniform thrown on them, and sent off to live in a muddy ditch and die in some foreign war. **** these campaigners, and especially **** Patrick Dangerfield.

Nothing to be concerned about.
It's already been happening since the start. Many of the hundreds who were quarantined in hotels here in Adelaide weren't even from this state.
Hopefully we don't hire the same security mob that the Victorians have been using because the latest outbreaks are being traced back to the security guards who didn't follow protocols ie social distancing etc.
Yeah they were taking quarantined people out for daily walks, probably sharing cigarettes and lighters and then hugging and close contact with other security guards. Idiots.

Not sure what the anger at the AFL is here, they've shown a willingness to Hub vic clubs as we're seeing with the WA hub. The challenges are making sure there is no bye as most states won't let them play without quarantine, and how long they're away from home for.

We saw the massive sook West Coast took about getting home after 4 weeks in the hub. Same shit is likely to happen if the players are told they're required to spend 6+ weeks in a hub away from home.

I suspect we now see an internal VIC hub now where players can be closer to their families (ie. Hub that allows family members) while they play other vic teams before rotating through WA / NSW hubs where they're allowed to play eachother during quarantine. No other way to avoid a bye and placate players.

Not sure what the anger at the AFL is here, they've shown a willingness to Hub vic clubs as we're seeing with the WA hub. The challenges are making sure there is no bye as most states won't let them play without quarantine, and how long they're away from home for.

We saw the massive sook West Coast took about getting home after 4 weeks in the hub. Same sh*t is likely to happen if the players are told they're required to spend 6+ weeks in a hub away from home.

I suspect we now see an internal VIC hub now where players can be closer to their families (ie. Hub that allows family members) while they play other vic teams before rotating through WA / NSW hubs where they're allowed to play eachother during quarantine. No other way to avoid a bye and placate players.

My anger is at all complaining about hubbing or whatever with their self entitlement.
Port's had to hub, besides Koch opening his mouth for attention over non-issues as usual, we've embraced it basically and look at us sitting on top of the ladder still with a very healthy percentage.
It's not like the same distractions and impacts of this pandemic haven't affected us like they've affected every other club, difference is Port has said ok not much we can do about the pandemic but we can do something about what we do on the footy field. The likes of Geelong and Hawthorn, two of the biggest whinger clubs when shit doesn't go their way, are worried about the state of the game? Or more worried that they haven't been able to get their heads around whats going on, haven't been able to adapt, and are now looking for excuses and for the AFL to do their usual bullshit that hurts other clubs so they can get back on top? Freekick Hawthorn wasn't a meme without cause.

There shouldn't be an internal Vic hub.
The AFL needs to grow a set of balls and represent the WHOLE ****ING LEAGUE, and tell these entitled Victorian clubs that due to their state governments piss poor handling of the pandemic they will have to hub interstate for at least a month or until the situation is back under control like it is in places such as South Australia where we've done the right thing mostly and have the virus in check.
That way, after these Victorian clubs have done 2 weeks of isolation and choosing a hub, they can travel between Adelaide, Perth, Sydney and Brisbane/Gold Coast, and the season can continue on as normal as possible. Border controls between all these states are being eased and removed, not with Victoria though.
If and when Victoria gets the virus under control, if the AFL season is still going, then they can move games back to Victoria. It's not a big deal.
It's not like the MCG or Marvel are going to be used for any other sport any time soon over there.

The AFL was talking about mid week matches, or multiple games per club in a week? Well with Vic clubs isolating for 2 weeks in hub cities, they can then have those multiple games and mid week games.

This is also a chance, if the AFL had any ****ing brain power between all the w***ers that occupy AFL House, to experiment and take notes on expanding beyond the traditional Friday/Saturday/Sunday time slots, beyond the few Thursday night games they chuck in now, and see how games on a Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday would go.

But they're too pre-occupied with pandering the Vic clubs and whatever Geelong or Hawthorn are sooking over this week.

Every negative has a silver lining. The silver linings in this case are being ignored, big opportunities. Because some of these things might weaken the VFL stranglehold.

Many of us, me included, have been acting under the false belief that this pandemic will go away and that isolation or quarantine of a region, a state, a country could see us get some sort of immunity from this covid-19 virus. For probably the first time I happen to agree with what the PM is saying about this false immunity.

This virus is here for the duration and while we in SA are lucky to have a clean slate at the moment that can't last for ever. Eventually we are going to have to open our borders to business and trade with other states and countries if we want to keep jobs and funding for roads, schools, hospitals etc going. That means coming up with ways to live with the ever present threat of the virus amongst us and getting people to accept the rules of dealing with it.

And as if covid-19 wasn't enough of a threat there is also this news:

This is not a short term game anymore where isolating ourselves from another state is all we need to do.

I think the AFL is just the canary in the coal mine when it comes to how the rest of the economy is going to have to deal with this over the next few years.

And a national , as opposed to a state by state, approach to dealing with this crisis makes a whole lot more sense to me in the long term.

My anger is at all complaining about hubbing or whatever with their self entitlement.
Port's had to hub, besides Koch opening his mouth for attention over non-issues as usual, we've embraced it basically and look at us sitting on top of the ladder still with a very healthy percentage.
It's not like the same distractions and impacts of this pandemic haven't affected us like they've affected every other club, difference is Port has said ok not much we can do about the pandemic but we can do something about what we do on the footy field. The likes of Geelong and Hawthorn, two of the biggest whinger clubs when sh*t doesn't go their way, are worried about the state of the game? Or more worried that they haven't been able to get their heads around whats going on, haven't been able to adapt, and are now looking for excuses and for the AFL to do their usual bullshit that hurts other clubs so they can get back on top? Freekick Hawthorn wasn't a meme without cause.

There shouldn't be an internal Vic hub.
The AFL needs to grow a set of balls and represent the WHOLE ******* LEAGUE, and tell these entitled Victorian clubs that due to their state governments piss poor handling of the pandemic they will have to hub interstate for at least a month or until the situation is back under control like it is in places such as South Australia where we've done the right thing mostly and have the virus in check.
That way, after these Victorian clubs have done 2 weeks of isolation and choosing a hub, they can travel between Adelaide, Perth, Sydney and Brisbane/Gold Coast, and the season can continue on as normal as possible. Border controls between all these states are being eased and removed, not with Victoria though.
If and when Victoria gets the virus under control, if the AFL season is still going, then they can move games back to Victoria. It's not a big deal.
It's not like the MCG or Marvel are going to be used for any other sport any time soon over there.

The AFL was talking about mid week matches, or multiple games per club in a week? Well with Vic clubs isolating for 2 weeks in hub cities, they can then have those multiple games and mid week games.

This is also a chance, if the AFL had any ******* brain power between all the w***ers that occupy AFL House, to experiment and take notes on expanding beyond the traditional Friday/Saturday/Sunday time slots, beyond the few Thursday night games they chuck in now, and see how games on a Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday would go.

But they're too pre-occupied with pandering the Vic clubs and whatever Geelong or Hawthorn are sooking over this week.

Every negative has a silver lining. The silver linings in this case are being ignored, big opportunities. Because some of these things might weaken the VFL stranglehold.

You seem to have missed one of the problems. You can't kick the vics out of victoria forever because the players need to spend time with their families at some point. West Coast threw a hissy fit at 4 weeks, how well do you think moving 10 clubs for 6, 8 or even 10 weeks is going to go down? You say it's not a big deal, but I think any players with young families would say the opposite.

There comes a point where the game isn't bigger than the people involved and forcing 10 clubs worth of people away from their families for potentially the rest of the season? That surely crosses that line.

That's why I'm saying an internal Vic hub. Not to pander to them, not because they're being unreasonable (they are but that's not the point), but because there's no end in sight to this thing. There's absolutely no guarantee we can let the vics go home after 4 weeks away like what we're doing. If they go home then that's another quarantine period before they can play anyone again. That ****s the season well and truly.

You seem to have missed one of the problems. You can't kick the vics out of victoria forever because the players need to spend time with their families at some point. West Coast threw a hissy fit at 4 weeks, how well do you think moving 10 clubs for 6, 8 or even 10 weeks is going to go down? You say it's not a big deal, but I think any players with young families would say the opposite.

There comes a point where the game isn't bigger than the people involved and forcing 10 clubs worth of people away from their families for potentially the rest of the season? That surely crosses that line.

That's why I'm saying an internal Vic hub. Not to pander to them, not because they're being unreasonable (they are but that's not the point), but because there's no end in sight to this thing. There's absolutely no guarantee we can let the vics go home after 4 weeks away like what we're doing. If they go home then that's another quarantine period before they can play anyone again. That fu**s the season well and truly.

Not one player so far that had to go to the Gold Coast hub has threatened to Boycott. The Victorian teams haven't even had to travel yet. They can do a six week stint like everyone else. These guys are PAID hundreds of thousands of dollars to play football, they want shorter quarters bigger pay cheques but when push comes to shove they wont leave home for a few weeks. Gimme a break..

I'm curious as to what has changed your perception of it.

My question is: can most businesses evolve and survive while ensuring we minimise infections until a vaccine is available?

I thought that it would be a temporary set back and that our island status could protect us from the global devastation of the virus over the few months until a vaccine was developed.

Here we are six months later and there is still no vaccine on the horizon. The Federal Government support programs to help those businesses and people most affected by the shut down of the economy are about to end and the horrible consequences of the huge Federal debt incurred to provide that support are about to hit home.

Like it or not the government has no choice but to open up our economy to get businesses moving again - both across state boundaries and then with the rest of the world.

Scientists say we are still at last 12 months from finding a vaccine that is safe, that works effectively and is produced in the commercial quantities needed to be distributed globally. And what if no vaccine can be developed?

The smart thing to do is surely to plan for the possibility that this virus is with us for the long term and hope we are wrong.

And for SA that means assume we will not be virus free for long. Go back to taking proper preventions to prevent its spread but this time backed up with laws to enforce compliance.

The alternative is just to pretend we are an outpost of the world and can continue to operate in a bubble without outside contact - which means businesses will close, most government programs will cease due to lack of funding etc. I just don't think that is feasible or acceptable.

That's why I'm saying an internal Vic hub. Not to pander to them, not because they're being unreasonable (they are but that's not the point), but because there's no end in sight to this thing. There's absolutely no guarantee we can let the vics go home after 4 weeks away like what we're doing. If they go home then that's another quarantine period before they can play anyone again. That fu**s the season well and truly.

I don't think people are against an internal Vic hub, as long as no other interstate clubs are expected/embroiled/endangered in being in Corona infected Victoria.

Seems reasonable and manageable that all clubs do 2 x 4 week stints somewhere out of their home state, and 2 x 4 weeks in their own state, +1 for pot luck. There is an argument, that this would be a fairer competition for all teams, considering travel, and this year's challenges.

I thought that it would be a temporary set back and that our island status could protect us from the global devastation of the virus over the few months until a vaccine was developed.

Here we are six months later and there is still no vaccine on the horizon. The Federal Government support programs to help those businesses and people most affected by the shut down of the economy are about to end and the horrible consequences of the huge Federal debt incurred to provide that support are about to hit home.

Like it or not the government has no choice but to open up our economy to get businesses moving again - both across state boundaries and then with the rest of the world.

Scientists say we are still at last 12 months from finding a vaccine that is safe, that works effectively and is produced in the commercial quantities needed to be distributed globally. And what if no vaccine can be developed?

The smart thing to do is surely to plan for the possibility that this virus is with us for the long term and hope we are wrong.

And for SA that means assume we will not be virus free for long. Go back to taking proper preventions to prevent its spread but this time backed up with laws to enforce compliance.

The alternative is just to pretend we are an outpost of the world and can continue to operate in a bubble without outside contact - which means businesses will close, most government programs will cease due to lack of funding etc. I just don't think that is feasible or acceptable.

The Government always has choices, sadly most of them are political.

Thanks for the reply, have given me plenty to think about.

Unfortunately it's too late,

We are going to have much bigger problems than manipulating footy hubs.

Did he indicate when games would no longer be played in Melbourne? I am very surprised that Gold Coast is still scheduled to play Geelong this round.
Fly them into to Avalon instead of Tullarmarine (which is smack in the middle of a hotspot), and go straight to Geelong completely avoiding Melbourne. Greatly reduces the risk in playing in playing in Geelong.

Of course the problem is Geelong players still being in the Melbourne community. But heavy testing of them should hopefully cover that off and allow Gold Coast the opportunity to get home without having to quaratine for two weeks.

I don't think people are against an internal Vic hub, as long as no other interstate clubs are expected/embroiled/endangered in being in Corona infected Victoria.

Seems reasonable and manageable that all clubs do 2 x 4 week stints somewhere out of their home state, and 2 x 4 weeks in their own state, +1 for pot luck. There is an argument, that this would be a fairer competition for all teams, considering travel, and this year's challenges.

Richmond played 17 games last year at either MCG or Marvel!

But as a national Comp it certainly would be fairer on all this year.... except the spchildren across the border.

Imagine the outcry if there was an indoor stadium as well in Adelaide and we played 17 out of 22 games without getting on a plane - seriously the Vics would say it’s rigged would they not!

Anthony Fauci, the nation’s top infectious disease expert, warned members of Congress on Tuesday that the U.S. could reach 100,000 new COVID-19 cases per day if the country does not get a handle on the pandemic.
Speaking before the Senate health committee, Fauci said the country is heading in the “wrong direction" as the average number of daily cases continues to go up.
“We need to do something about that and we need to do it very quickly," said Fauci, the director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases.
The U.S. is now recording 40,000 new cases per day, surpassing previous records set in April when New York was the epicenter of the outbreak. There are now more than 2.6 million confirmed cases in the U.S., including 126,000 deaths. States started recording increases after Memorial Day when many states lifted restrictions on businesses and activities that had been in place to slow the spread of the virus.
Outbreaks in Texas, Arizona, Florida and California now account for 50 percent of new infections in the U.S.

Netherlands never did a hard lockdown, people took on the personal risk as they saw fit, cases peaked and now there hasn't been a Coronavirus death in a week. This laissez-faire approach was initially derided, but I think countries the world over initially celebrating victory over the virus will see how long and arduous, and possibly futile their zero-case path will be.

While Aussie states are squabbling about cases and lockdown I'm about to depart on a 3 week roadtrip with my family to Croatia from Amsterdam. I don't know what way is wrong or right, but as a young and healthy member of society I'm thankful to have enjoyed the freedom over the last 6 months and into the year.

Anthony Fauci, the nation’s top infectious disease expert, warned members of Congress on Tuesday that the U.S. could reach 100,000 new COVID-19 cases per day if the country does not get a handle on the pandemic.
Speaking before the Senate health committee, Fauci said the country is heading in the “wrong direction" as the average number of daily cases continues to go up.
“We need to do something about that and we need to do it very quickly," said Fauci, the director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases.
The U.S. is now recording 40,000 new cases per day, surpassing previous records set in April when New York was the epicenter of the outbreak. There are now more than 2.6 million confirmed cases in the U.S., including 126,000 deaths. States started recording increases after Memorial Day when many states lifted restrictions on businesses and activities that had been in place to slow the spread of the virus.
Outbreaks in Texas, Arizona, Florida and California now account for 50 percent of new infections in the U.S.

The irony cases fell last night!

I reckon it won't be stopped at all in the US, they are stuffed.