Official Match Thread Season 31: Round 2 - West Coast Wonders vs Baghdad Bombers @ The Colosseum

Too cool for school. Now what beer are you having? Let's have a good night!
Not beer but having a bit of Kraken and coke at the moment.. going down a treat I must say

Yeh I am very partial to a spiced rum but I don't like to mix it. A real cracker of a rum is Diplomatico from Venezuela,it's about $80 so it's a touch expensive but once you rap your laughing gear around it you'll thank me. Just ice though its too good to waste.

That’s the problem with their club though, they have recruited some warm bodies, some sandwich fillers, to pad out a match thread with some quantity.

What they need now is some elite Sweet FA quality. I’m talking your Elton Johns Wig ‘s , your Dingster ‘s , your U2tigers , and probably their biggest loss over the off-season, and one of their most entertaining posters, Cactus_

If only they had posters of this caliber at their disposal 🤔
A4B462A6-3146-4260-9716-BB019B17C9C5.gif

Thanks for your patience Bomber brethren and Wonders heathens. I was caught up helping a few semi street urchins from the poorer side of the street improve their reading as I often do when I can find a few spare minutes. The smile it puts on their sweet little faces is all the reward I ask for in donating my time and teaching expertise to these kind little souls. They've come such a long way since I began working with them. Little Timmy could barely sound out the alphabet when I started working with him, but now he's come so far. Tonight for example, I had him reading a few easy sentences at his level of reading and writing and meaning-making, about Grade 3 level if you will ...

*insert classic Bombers hooked gif*

*laughing in Bombers*

Bless little Timmy's sweet, sweet heart. He began to weep and wiped tears away with an old handkerchief (that must have been his father's before he passed) and tucked it back into his bedraggled and slightly stained pyjama pants.

"Little Timmy," I began, "why are you crying?"

Through sobs, Timmy explained how sorry he felt for the poor unfortunate soul who'd written it.

Here was little Timmy, living in foster care with the knees in most pairs of pants he owned being worn out, behind his peers by years in basic literacy (although gaining ground) and he was concerned for the person whose writing he'd just read! I comforted Timmy in advising him the author was getting the advice and help he needs from another altruist friend Tony Lynn 15.

In any sense, I'd like to put my serious hat on here for just a few brief moments. I'm rapt that here we are this evening to come together to let a few bygones be bygones and what better way to mark this moment than acknowledging the efforts of a ripping clubman who has played a part in building the culture of both clubs through his hard work and dedication. This is a qooty player who knows the ins and outs of the league as he's been around the traps and taken the positive aspects he's experienced along the journey and utilised them at both the Bombers and the Wonders, making both clubs all the richer. His dedication to his teammates and his leadership at each club can't be questioned. I'm sure ClarkeM will agree with this sentiment; that Clarkey was ecstatic to get this guy across. As a Bomber, each week when we went to war, we knew this bloke had our back every step of the way, day in day out. He's worn many hats along the way and is always eager to learn more and hone his SFA craft, be it in the threads or behind the scenes. What's pleased me this week is to understand he's now thinking more club first and is willing to put others first before himself for the enjoyment of the group. Outside the SFA he's a dedicated family man whose passion and zest for life no doubt enriches those lucky enough to be in his closest family circle. Bombers and Wonders, I'd like us to charge our glasses, bottles or sippy cups (Crusty Undies) as I'm proposing a toast. A toast to a poster that will forever be a part of the fabric of the Bombers and will no doubt be held in the same regard at the Wonders when his time there comes to an end. Bombers and Wonders, I'd like us to put our differences aside just for this brief moment, charge your aforementioned drinks and raise a toast to ArdentEagle for the outstanding contributions he's tirelessly and thanklessly made at both clubs. Onya AE, you'll be deeply missed at the Bombers mate and we'll gladly welcome you back with open arms whenever you're ready :thumbsu:

Looks like there's a comeback on the cards!
Didn’t you just delist him though?

Also, the word comeback made me think of this.

FAB11A3A-51C8-4A1D-971B-AB887DA63A62.jpeg

You can use your imagination for the last two words.

Thanks for your patience Bomber brethren and Wonders heathens. I was caught up helping a few semi street urchins from the poorer side of the street improve their reading as I often do when I can find a few spare minutes. The smile it puts on their sweet little faces is all the reward I ask for in donating my time and teaching expertise to these kind little souls. They've come such a long way since I began working with them. Little Timmy could barely sound out the alphabet when I started working with him, but now he's come so far. Tonight for example, I had him reading a few easy sentences at his level of reading and writing and meaning-making, about Grade 3 level if you will ...

Bless little Timmy's sweet, sweet heart. He began to weep and wiped tears away with an old handkerchief (that must have been his father's before he passed) and tucked it back into his bedraggled and slightly stained pyjama pants.

Through sobs, Timmy explained how sorry he felt for the poor unfortunate soul who'd written it.

Here was little Timmy, living in foster care with the knees in most pairs of pants he owned being worn out, behind his peers by years in basic literacy (although gaining ground) and he was concerned for the person whose writing he'd just read! I comforted Timmy in advising him the author was getting the advice and help he needs from another altruist friend Tony Lynn 15.

In any sense, I'd like to put my serious hat on here for just a few brief moments. I'm rapt that here we are this evening to come together to let a few bygones be bygones and what better way to mark this moment than acknowledging the efforts of a ripping clubman who has played a part in building the culture of both clubs through his hard work and dedication. This is a qooty player who knows the ins and outs of the league as he's been around the traps and taken the positive aspects he's experienced along the journey and utilised them at both the Bombers and the Wonders, making both clubs all the richer. His dedication to his teammates and his leadership at each club can't be questioned. I'm sure ClarkeM will agree with this sentiment; that Clarkey was ecstatic to get this guy across. As a Bomber, each week when we went to war, we knew this bloke had our back every step of the way, day in day out. He's worn many hats along the way and is always eager to learn more and hone his SFA craft, be it in the threads or behind the scenes. What's pleased me this week is to understand he's now thinking more club first and is willing to put others first before himself for the enjoyment of the group. Outside the SFA he's a dedicated family man whose passion and zest for life no doubt enriches those lucky enough to be in his closest family circle. Bombers and Wonders, I'd like us to charge our glasses, bottles or sippy cups (Crusty Undies) as I'm proposing a toast. A toast to a poster that will forever be a part of the fabric of the Bombers and will no doubt be held in the same regard at the Wonders when his time there comes to an end. Bombers and Wonders, I'd like us to put our differences aside just for this brief moment, charge your aforementioned drinks and raise a toast to ArdentEagle for the outstanding contributions he's tirelessly and thanklessly made at both clubs. Onya AE, you'll be deeply missed at the Bombers mate and we'll gladly welcome you back with open arms whenever you're ready :thumbsu:
Outstanding dedication to the cause, Santo. Such a benevolent overlord of the less fortunate.

Now, under normal circumstances we’d run out in our away strip:

View attachment 1055848

But under the circumstances and given how quaint and chilled the match thread has become we will be wearing our heritage guernsey:

View attachment 1055849

Arna Bombers.

Out we come, out we come, out we come to pray.gif

Your dedication to this cause is inspiring well done mate.

That is one hell of a jumper, is it heavy as I'm not in the greatest shape?

CARNA BAGHDAD

We’ll get Fatima to wire up knit you a plus-sized one, BAT.

The incoherent vomit that your club has produced this week actually scared ArdentEagle off. Perhaps it's time you focus your efforts elsewhere? Although I'm yet to see you recruit a single player to the club. You got to keep kickthething we got AE.

Now, under normal circumstances we’d run out in our away strip:

View attachment 1055848

But given how quaint and chilled the match thread has become we will be wearing our heritage guernsey:

View attachment 1055849

Arna Bombers.
Honestly, I have no idea which flank I’m playing on so I’ll just warn both my potential opponents (MITS Keg still on legs) that they are going to be in for a long day on Sunday. Seriously, you may as well bring a lawn chair and an esky to just kick back and enjoy the show, because I will be putting on a clinic.

After tangling with either of those two you’ll need to visit the bloody clinic!

Official Match Thread Season 31: Round 2 - West Coast Wonders vs Baghdad Bombers @ The Colosseum