Bluemour Melting Pot XXX - Feeling Hot, Hot, Hot! 🔥 🔥 🔥

I think everyone is overcomplicating things a bit, bordering on conspiratorial thinking. None of this is a mess, it’s actually quite smart (haven’t said that about our club for a while).

I personally think it couldn’t be more obvious.

I know it’s going to upset most on here, as you all want Teagues head on a stick – but it’s highly likely it’s something as simple as him being our 2nd option.

We’re conducting a review, sounded out a generational coach in Clarkson whom will be taking the year off, (looks like) he’s declined, so we stick with Teague. Why would we sack him without a better replacement found? Say we sacked him Monday, Clarko declines on Wednesday, we suddenly have no coach.

Furthermore, if we go and hire someone like say, Pyke – that hamstrings us from pursuing Clarkson at the end of 2022 if required. They would be on a longer-term contract and the idea of sacking someone after 1 year is absurd.

So, quite simply, you address all of Teagues deficiencies with him, tell him to put the way he’s been feeling behind him, and get on with the job he’s contracted to. As well as get him the help required. He’s likely furious now, but at the end of the day, we were sounding out a generational coach and he’s contracted – keep coming to work under you’re told otherwise.

If he cant handle the pressure of next year whilst being out of contract with Clarko lurking then he doesn’t belong in an elite environment. He has to suck it up and back himself in to finish in the 8 and be competitive in a final – it’s not a huge ask with this list.

For those thinking it will be more of the same next year – get real – these are grown adults and professionals who adapt, change and innovate. He will be told to add a defensive element to his gameplan, improve selection integrity etc. If he doesn’t, well he won’t get the results and will be sacked. Simple.

Things aren’t rosy at the moment, but if our culture was so rotten under Teague, we wouldn’t have had Cripps and Harry re-sign so easily. Nor has anyone requested a trade yet.

As for the media onslaught and all the conflicting ITK’s, this is clearly the club throwing the media a bunch of crap whilst not allowing any leaks.

If we do keep Teague, I just feel bad as many of our supporters will be hoping he fails so we can get Clarko.

look at history: Goodwin was gone but backed in. Hardwick was gone backed in. Buckley was gone in 2018 but backed in.
Difference is those guys and/or their managers weren't in the press questioning the team Captain, questioning the support level of the board, questioning the professionalism of the club, etc.

Much easier to back a struggling coach in if he isn't actively setting fire to the bridge.

Wouldn't surprise me if Docherty retires at some point in the near future. Hope it isn't that, nonetheless. This is simply my impression.
Plot twist: new Head Coach - Sam Docherty

Wednesday is his regular time on FC. Should be worth watching.
I reckon we can take to the bank whatever Caro says and she is always bang on with her mail regarding what we are doing.

Difference is those guys and/or their managers weren't in the press questioning the team Captain, questioning the support level of the board, questioning the professionalism of the club, etc.

Much easier to back a struggling coach in if he isn't actively setting fire to the bridge.
True, and look where burning the bridge landed Mick.

2r8F9rTBenJR3iqPxDrevHK3vDeQGnHc8Wj8C8nehLaXPnKuF7YSRCgvfRnob2PqEXqDVfcckwgRo3jvbjPFJoTcmUDUK8BKEsbJxxqPJd9QxuXHJtExGJWdm6YSen3XU

I believe the issue is that the club has a coach which they have not made a call on, yet they are sounding out external people, this is rubbish and is unethical for both Teague and any potential coach, make a decision and move forward, not a good look at all for the club.

Completely disagree.

If Teague had done his job properly this entire discussion would not be happening.

It’s commonly known as “accountability”.

Carlton is completely entitled to take its time to determine the best possible path forward.

Teague will get his $ regardless and he only has himself to blame.

I hope that grim news has nothing to do with Docs,would be heartbreaking if that’s the case.

Crikey I just assumed Teague was getting the chop that would be grim indeed

Edit - Only other clue was it was related to days big story (eg.Blues coaching job).

I hope the grim news isn’t about Doc at all. You’d say it’s not anything to do with the review/coaches as it’s expected. Don’t think Andy would label it like that as grim. Other than that, a player is requesting a trade?

Unless they’re sending us to Tassie?! (I’m joking don’t hurt me pls)

If the 16th and 17th centuries were the Age of Enlightenment I wonder if the 21st century will end up as the age of entitlement.

My (baseless) thoughts on what is happening:
-The club were obviously making a play for Clarko and were extremely confident as the offer would have eclipsed any current coaching contract
-Clarko + management heard the offer and knocked it back. $900k for a year off + whatever the AFL is going to pay him (outside the soft cap obviously) at GC was the same or more
-Now we go after another coach, but will keep Teague here so we can hardball them (I.e we’re more than happy for Teague to stay if you won’t accept xyz).
-we have to replace at least 2 assistants, probably 4, so we’re making sure we minimise costs so we don’t have to pay anything in soft cap tax
-Teague will be “officially” sacked when the other coach has agreed to terms with us

Why would we go after another coach when that essentially eliminates us from getting Clarkson for 2022? You said it yourself, he's having a year off.

Would you rather sign Brad Scott or Dom Pyke for 3 years?

I really hope the grim news isn't about Docherty.

I still think Teague's position is untenable, but if the board decides to keep him on, they need to go the whole hog. Extended contract, new assistants, rejuvenated footy department, and sort out any disaffected players. I couldn't bear the uncertainty of a 'placeholder' year ....

Sam McClure saying Lyon favourite and possibly 50 % of board members to go

We had 8 on our board this year, with 3 of those advising they were stepping down months ago. Bit of a stupid call from McClure.