List Mgmt. Trade and F/A - Part 3

If they get Carlton's 1st for Cerra, then they'll have 2 firsts to offer. Although, I still think that's steep for a 28 year old who has had a few injury interruptions this year.
I guess it depends on how hard they want to play. They gave up 2 firsts to get him, not sure how high. His injuries this year weren't soft tissue and he's better now than when he left, albeit 3 yrs older.

Interesting to see how it pans out.

Cameron was 27 or 28(?) and Geelong paid up 3 firsts. Freo haven't made finals since 2015, so with him in their chances improve markedly and offset Cerra. I think 2 top 10s or even a second. Otherwise Bris can just say no deal.
They were very late first round picks though. Eg. Most years, two of those picks would be unlikely to get you Freos first. So I think they paid about the equivalent of pick 6 and reasonable steak knives.

I guess it depends on how hard they want to play. They gave up 2 firsts to get him, not sure how high. His injuries this year weren't soft tissue and he's better now than when he left, albeit 3 yrs older.

Interesting to see how it pans out.
Potentially pick 6 and 8. Nothing to sneeze at. Let's see if they offer that or this year's 1st and next year's 1st?

Ok, that just reinforces my view on this. If it was an accidental pregnancy the maybe I could understand the want to go home, but they’ve clearly made the move to Qld with the intention of getting pregnant, so using it as an excuse to break his contract is bullshit.
COVID has made it difficult for them too. Particularly the WA government stance on not allowing anyone in. My in-laws live there so its worked in my favour 😂

That is a bit of a stretch mate to paint that as a negative thing - a couple in their mid 20s who are relatively comfortable financially (even before the move to Brisbane) planning to have a baby in their late 20s after getting married is hardly unusual. Perhaps you (and others) may rate a job contract (remember footy is just a job) higher than starting a family, but at the same time neither you nor I know anything about their circumstances, motivations, or whether their were reasons why it had to be now.

We also have no insight into their family unit, or how Lachie's wife would cope being inside the football bubble for another year with a baby in tow, so you just have to take it at face value that she feels the need to be around family as a first time mother and Lachie is supporting her in that. Whether it happens or whether Lachie has to see out another year or two up in Brisbane will play out as it will, but that doesn't require holier-than-thou types getting up on their soap box and judging the Neales from a completely external, uninformed perspective.

TL;DR - Cut them a bit of slack, footy is just a job and family is far more important.
All I’m seeing are poor excuses and reasoning behind a situation the Neales put themselves in being fully aware of Lachies required commitment.
Im actually a big advocate of family first vs work, but screwing over your employer using a pregnancy as an excuse to break your contract is a step too far. No, I won’t cut him slack.

COVID has made it difficult for them too. Particularly the WA government stance on not allowing anyone in. My in-laws live there so its worked in my favour 😂
By the time the kid is born domestic travel should be returning to normal.

Potentially pick 6 and 8. Nothing to sneeze at. Let's see if they offer that or this year's 1st and next year's 1st?

Pick 6 and steak knives might be enough - given that we did something pike pick 18 and a future first (coming off a grand final loss) for Beams you'd have to think Picks 6 and 8 would be too much for Neale (and that would be well above what Brisbane handed over to get him in the first place).

They were very late first round picks though. Eg. Most years, two of those picks would be unlikely to get you Freos first. So I think they paid about the equivalent of pick 6 and reasonable steak knives.
This is true, but he was out of contract. Just depends on how hard BL want to be. Interesting most, myself included, assume he is leaving. Nothing from him saying no so has to have some truth you'd think.

By the time the kid is born domestic travel should be returning to normal.

The AFL will still be very firmly stuck in "the bubble" next year. Things wont get back to something coming closer to "normal" until 2023.

Hey Marc, where are the pies sitting for this trade period, I've heard Weideman, Stephens, and lipinksi linked, what are your predictions thanks
Lipinski seems to be Carlton or Collingwood, and both Weideman and Stephens would be a really good fit. They don't have many picks this year but they could offload future ones. Weideman would fit a need

In this thread people will slam Neale, ignoring a pregnant wife and pandemic which has thrown away everyone's chance to be near friends/family, then suggest players have too much power whilst ignoring that our club trashed 3 contracted players last year and still criticise the club for not encouraging other players to break their contract and come to us. #classic.

The AFL will still be very firmly stuck in "the bubble" next year. Things wont get back to something coming closer to "normal" until 2023.
If the players are vaccinated and the population has reached the 70% vax target, there will be no legitimate reason for the AFL to enforce a bubble, and the AFLPA will fight it.
The country will be transitioning to a state of living with the virus rather than preventing it, the AFL will have to follow suit.

If the players are vaccinated and the population has reached the 70% vax target, there will be no legitimate reason for the AFL to enforce a bubble, and the AFLPA will fight it.
The country will be transitioning to a state of living with the virus rather than preventing it, the AFL will have to follow suit.
WHo knows really. If WA are still covid free - I doubt they'll want to open their state to covid, and the hospitalisation, death and restrictions that go with it. I doubt they'll still be covid free though.

They may leave the Federation.
Declare independence & become the Democratic Republic of Covid Free States.

And saying even with High Vaccination Level still keep Borders Closed

If you’re unvaccinated you may never be able to visit your in-laws again.
Got my 2nd Pfizer shot on Sunday 29 August. By Mon 30 August arvo I was laid out in bed with a fever, headache and whole body aching for about 16 hours. By Tuesday arvo I was pretty much OK, body was still sore.

Can't imagine what having COVID would feel like.

FFS Treloar.

Now I'm hearing his missus wants to move to QLD permanetly.
Probably .... Covid has changed ppls opinions on alot of things. i wonder how much he has seen her this year with lockdowns etc.

If thats the case i wonder if he will ask to be transferred to SUNS or Lions? 3 clubs paying is salary.