Preview 2022 Rd 6 Carlton vs Fremantle - Saturday 23rd April 7.40PM @ Optus Stadium - Team Post #774

• Thread starter Thread starter Gethelred

Cripps in. Probably Setterfield out. Walsh and Cerra wing.
I have thought this but admit I'm wrong --after Sunday I think let boy play like robin he was awesome-- just last half Kennedy was struggling to feed the little boys some meat .. I keep looking richmond game think we best with four mids - two heavy hitters and two runners who can still contest hard -- who they pick is up to them - but Walsh was to good in traffic the other day while still knowing when to link up outside , seems to be finding rhythm and Cerra same ..

Great Post!

After taking a deep breath and watching the replay without the emotion of it all (reminder to self stop posting during/after games when the adrenaline is

pumping) our team structure has taken a massive hit with injury.

This is why for the bolded TDK must come back into the side even though he didn't do heaps in the seconds this week to earn a recall.

We need him in the seniors for his pack marking/chop out ruck to assist our structure and allows JSOS to play his natural game of high pressure/pack

crashing outlet marking forward not exhausting himself in the ruck allowing him to compete and repeat leads up the wings.

Plus the teams is missing McGovern's intercepting and McDonalds ability to lock down allowing Weitering to play his more natural game of the last 2 years

where he was arguably in AA form.

If we can get these three back into the team plus Cripps I think Voss's game style and structure will improve dramatically and we might not let teams

back into the contest so easily in our second halves as we will have OMAC lockdown defending, McG third tall intercepting and excellent kicking to

advantage setting up scoring chains , Weiters intercept and pack crash spoiling and beautiful set up kicks, TDK relief rucking and help with

taking the opposition third tall allowing JSOS to play his better marking type game, Plus Crippa drifting forward adds another dimension as he's built like a CHF so most opposition on ballers just can't go with him fwd.

I know every team has injuries and good teams cover their outs but take May,Lever,Petracca,Brown out of Melbourne who aren't the exact equivalent of

the players I've mentioned above talent wise but structure wise to Melbourne it's like for like. So being 4-1 without some of our main structures

that Voss has set his game style around we are starting to set the foundation of a good side who find a way to win even if we seem to be

capitulating big leads.

We will beat Freo if our midfield can keep dominating the way they have for most games and we can shut down their run and gun from the

backline/wingers of over lap running and stretch them for height up forward and keep it in our fwd 50 with our tackling/high pressure game .

This will be a cracking game (match of the round ) and I'll be there cheering the boys on hopefully to a 25-30 point win and not an after the siren/ near

the siren goal win again like the last 2 games at Optus, I don't think my poor heart could handle another thriller 😰 but I'll make do just to see the look

on my Freo loving wife and daughters face knowing we snatched a win from them again:laughv1:

GO BLUES!

but TDK doesn’t take pack marks

Yeah the mids aren’t supporting enough in the second half …
If you look where they are most of the time it is all they are doing - maybe they dropping to far back on turnover instead of pressing at the ball carrier . There is a reason our mids are not scoring goals or even having shots on goal -- without gov and McDonald they dropping back quicker to cover - we are losing link on exit as no one is confident we can win the ball back to spread hard hard fwd--
One thing I will agree with is when they are dropping back fast there is no grid lock across the field 60 out to goal and leave easy holes .. On fast play or slow build up..

Reckon we drop this, Freo in scintillating form. Best team at scoring from turnover and we can't defend from turnovers. With the home crowd and the rub of the green a lot would have to get better for us to win.

I think player for player we have a better team so we won't get blown away. Also Weiters will take care of Tabernar. It's their smalls that will expose us I think.

Freo by 24

I reckon their form is similar to ours.

Beat crows by a point. lost to saints. easily beat WCE. Comfortable win over GWS. Easily beat Essendon.

Wins but over anyone that good? Winning form is good form. One of those deciding games IMO.

Form wise atm, doesn’t deserve a promotion yet…
Yeah agree should be played in defence, he’s not a KPD though…
Definitely can play the 3rd tall role, depending on the opposition tall forwards he can matchup on…
I would rather play two hybrid types and three smalls two talls anyway .. kemp and gov are not true third defenders they are good at ground level - both good kicks -- have dash -and good overhead - and amazing leap for there size -- maybe Williams be better half fwd (recruiting him and Saad in same year was crazy stuff ) but Doc Saad Williams with two hybrid and two talls would be hard to beat -- Newman and stocker need find positions or William Hf -- But the three VFL games I watched on TV kemp was very ordinary --but this what coaches are paid for ..

Should be a ripper game. Right time at the right time for us to see how we’re really going so far this season.

The Len Hall tribute game is a big game for us each season (arguably our second biggest after the Starlight Foundation game) and we have a decent record (won 7 of the last 10). Our media are also pumping up the Cerra return game, so if image he’ll get a fair bit of attention.

Big question is if Cripps comes back in. From what I’ve read, grade one hamstring tears generally take three weeks to recover. Being an interstate trip and against a fast paced side, do Carlton risk bringing him back if he’s a little under? If he tears it again and he’s out for 6+ weeks, how does that affect the season?

Carlton should edge us in the clearances/contested ball and McKay and Curnow will be a handful. I think Freo have the pace and endurance to get you on the transition and our forwards have ramped up the pressure this season, retaining time in forward half and repeat F50 entries.

I think this will be a close game and won’t be won by more than two kicks either way.

From what we've heard so far Cripps should play...unless there's been a setback we haven't heard about.

Should be an interesting battle of styles.

Yea go blues !!!
It’s not happening this yea
But next year I think we’ll get it right
Yeah!!!!!
Go blues !!!!
Premiers ‘23 woot !!!

I reckon their form is similar to ours.

Beat crows by a point. lost to saints. easily beat WCE. Comfortable win over GWS. Easily beat Essendon.

Wins but over anyone that good? Winning form is good form. One of those deciding games IMO.
The one thing they have done which we haven't is beaten a couple of teams like GWS and * convincingly. Will be a very difficult match and we won't get away with only playing a 1/2 of footy. Really like what Freo has done in recent years - think some of their players like Andy Brayshaw are extremely underrated. Freo's turnover game is the strongest in the AFL in 2022 - will need to limit this if we want to get up.

This game should be a ripper and our teams are pretty evenly matched. I think it'll be quite close but Freo proved on the weekend that they will punish us if we have any lapses like the ones we've been having.

Looks like a few people are wanting Setters dropped..have I missed something? He made a few mistakes yesterday but did plenty of good and is continuing to build. If anyone makes way for Cripps I'd say Newnes but it'll be interesting to see what pans out.

Fremantle on home ground is a huge challenge for any team, fortunately Fyfe will miss, so we have have a shot at the 4 points,
Dockers have positive momentum at home and are well drilled, talented young team.
However if Cripps plays , we’re a reasonable chance to bring home the 4 points.

Should be a ripper game. Right time at the right time for us to see how we’re really going so far this season.

The Len Hall tribute game is a big game for us each season (arguably our second biggest after the Starlight Foundation game) and we have a decent record (won 7 of the last 10). Our media are also pumping up the Cerra return game, so if image he’ll get a fair bit of attention.

Big question is if Cripps comes back in. From what I’ve read, grade one hamstring tears generally take three weeks to recover. Being an interstate trip and against a fast paced side, do Carlton risk bringing him back if he’s a little under? If he tears it again and he’s out for 6+ weeks, how does that affect the season?

Carlton should edge us in the clearances/contested ball and McKay and Curnow will be a handful. I think Freo have the pace and endurance to get you on the transition and our forwards have ramped up the pressure this season, retaining time in forward half and repeat F50 entries.

I think this will be a close game and won’t be won by more than two kicks either way.

When Cripps was interviewed at the Port game he clarified it wasn’t a hamstring tear. I forget what wording he used but it sounded more like awareness and that he’s already fine.

He still can take a big leap and crash the packs is a big body and when he gets AFL fit will be a very hard match up for the opposition.
TDK to this date
Has never crashes a pack at AFL level
He has been serviceable amd has taken some marks
But for you to digest he crashed packs
Either you are dreaming or have not not been watching
A or B
Or
Red pr the blue tablet
****ing get real

Darcy is a lug of a dude, but he's not a ruckman's a-hole at this point in time.
I don’t think Freo agree with you. He won their best and fairest last year. He absolutely slaughtered TDK when we beat them late last year. I also noticed he kicked a couple goals last game. He’s very good.

I don’t think Freo agree with you. He won their best and fairest last year. He absolutely slaughtered TDK when we beat them mate in the year last year. I also noticed he kicked a couple goals last game. He’s very good.
Freo are allowed to disagree with me. He's 23, 203cm (and a reminder why not to always trust Footywire; they have him listed at 112kg. He's a big dude, but that's huge) and was playing good footy last year; however, he missed round 1 and 3, I think to injury. Did you have opportunity to watch the game against Essendon; because in it, he was up against Draper, who made him look like TDK against Witts.

Pittonett is a better player at present, and Fremantle have lost the taps in every game they've played; given that I could not find stats on hitouts to advantage, prior to this week they had mixed results as far as clearances went and with those two firmly in mind, I take leave to claim that we should have an advantage in the ruck.

Worry a bit about them and a lot about us.

Ball movement from both teams and how we control that is key.

As a team we need to make our opponents run more defensively and run harder defensively more often. Don't leave petrol in their tanks.

Defend. We must slow them right down. No corridor play. Less switches, especially at half forward. If they move it fast, if they go direct we have to run extra hard to defend, let's not, let's keep some petrol for the second half.

Switch play. Run them from side to side and take some out of them. Get good at this blues.

Can't rely on clearance dominance and forward line potency. Need to win games on the back of other things like defence, pressure, tactics, tackling etc.

Cripps in. Probably Setterfield out. Walsh and Cerra wing.

Big game, possibly the best team we have faced so far. 2nd but not a hard run.

No idea who wins. Massive test for two new contenders.
Ironically the game late in the year last year was similar to what we’ve done against the Hawks and Port - get well on top in clearances early and Harry kicked goals, only to lose our way through the 2nd and 3rd term to let them right back into it but then regained our composure in the last to hold on.
I think Brodie helps them be more competitive in the middle than they were last year and compensates to a degree the lose of Cerra, but this year they’ll have to deal with Charlie and Harry and we now have Cerra, albeit Dow played close to his best game for the club that night.
The biggest concern for me is their transition from D50 which is very good and our biggest weakness is defending it as we saw vs Hawks and Port in particular.