Toast Round 6 = Essendon 82-93 Collingwood

Sorry if it's already been mentioned in the thread, but our accuracy yesterday was basically unheard of from Collingwood.

In full length games we've only kicked 3 or fewer behinds in 6 other games in the last 100 years. The last occasion was in 1991 against Carlton.

This was our second most accurate game in history. The only one better was in 1929: 15 goals 2 against Richmond.

Soak it in, we might never see this again.

Sorry if it's already been mentioned in the thread, but our accuracy yesterday was basically unheard of from Collingwood.

In full length games we've only kicked 3 or fewer behinds in 6 other games in the last 100 years. The last occasion was in 1991 against Carlton.

This was our second most accurate game in history. The only one better was in 1929: 15 goals 2 against Richmond.

Or... think positively.... it might be the start of a trend....

Anyway, can I again mention how much Essendon supporters suck?

One idiot got all personal and threatened my brother yesterday (not a guy you want to threaten by the way) over some argument after that horrendous holding the ball decision against JDG in the third quarter. They can't handle banter at all (probably can't hear it properly because of all the booing they do) and get all shitey then want to fight.

Why do these knobs always want to fight? The only games in the last 20 years I've been to where there's violence or threats of violence always involve Essendon.

Go Pies.

JDG was definitely holding the ball though. Just sayin'

For those disagreeing with my post above...

Provided you're talking about the one I'm thinking of...

He had the ball in one arm and was moving his arm like a chicken wing. He theoretically could've thrown it on his boot to kick it BUT all he needed was a team mate to steal the ball from him.

However by the time Taylor Adams finally realised that, it was too late.

He had the ball in one arm and was moving his arm like a chicken wing. He theoretically could've thrown it on his boot to kick it BUT all he needed was a team mate to steal the ball from him.

He was tackled immediately upon taking possession and had no prior opportunity whatsoever. He didn't drop the ball so there was no incorrect disposal. I also dispute that he could have thrown the ball on his boot as he was never balanced and had the tackler dragging him over. It was a howler of a decision.

Prior opportunity doesn't become a factor because he technically had opportunity to dispose of the ball whilst being tackled and initially whilst on the ground.

It was unlucky and a good tackle.

If he dropped the ball, you're right, it would've been an incorrect disposal. Likewise if he threw it at his boot and missed, it would be an incorrect disposal, although in recent years the AFL allowed an "attempted disposal" in some instances (Stephenson 2019 Anzac day for example)

By the time he was rolled in the tackle and the option to kick was taken away from him, the only get-out he had was a team mate to snatch the ball from his grasp. As mentioned the worst part was how slow his team mates were to recognise what was happening and take action. Taylor Adams cottoned on eventually, but it was too late.

I think you're right in that they pay that a lot. That interpretation really annoys me. The balls not pinned, so you can theoretically kick it, even when you can't actually kick it.

If an Essendon player or even a Collingwood player had applied any touch to that footy to make it appear as though it was locked in, he wouldn't have been pinged.

Unfortunately for JDG he flapped his arm and demonstrated to the umpire that it was very much solely in his control.

I’m fine with that interpretation; there was no prior, and hence he had to attempt to move it on upon being tackled.

There are two caveats, for mine. One, they have to pay that every time a player gets tackled with their “free” arm pinned and is unable to move it on upon being tackled.

Two, if that is clearly the gold standard for tackling, because the player in possession literally can’t comply with the rules, then we also have to acknowledge that players will attempt to tackle in that fashion, and that the potential for “dangerous” tackles is higher. That being the case, the umpires will have to get very good at judging which tackles involved a second movement, lifted players off their feet, etc. Because the tackled players will start banging their heads on the turf to prevent giving away a HTB free kick.

If an Essendon player or even a Collingwood player had applied any touch to that footy to make it appear as though it was locked in, he wouldn't have been pinged.

Unfortunately for JDG he flapped his arm and demonstrated to the umpire that it was very much solely in his control.
Problem is if he didn’t flap his arm then he gets pinged for no genuine attempt.

We see it pretty much every week. Although, unfortunately it’s usually the opposition doing it haha

Even Essendon snagged some pretty arsey goals. We also rushed through a few to make it look like they had heaps more scoring shots

I’m fine with that interpretation; there was no prior, and hence he had to attempt to move it on upon being tackled.

There are two caveats, for mine. One, they have to pay that every time a player gets tackled with their “free” arm pinned and is unable to move it on upon being tackled.

Two, if that is clearly the gold standard for tackling, because the player in possession literally can’t comply with the rules, then we also have to acknowledge that players will attempt to tackle in that fashion, and that the potential for “dangerous” tackles is higher. That being the case, the umpires will have to get very good at judging which tackles involved a second movement, lifted players off their feet, etc. Because the tackled players will start banging their heads on the turf to prevent giving away a HTB free kick.

Well the perfect tackle is really to pin one arm and get them to ground safely to make it hard to kick, and then roll them so they can't get ball down to boot.

There wasn't a roll by any stretch, but it quickly got to the point where he was HTB unless someone helped him 🤷

Well the perfect tackle is really to pin one arm and get them to ground safely to make it hard to kick, and then roll them so they can't get ball down to boot.

There wasn't a roll by any stretch, but it quickly got to the point where he was HTB unless someone helped him 🤷
It gets paid, but it really shouldn't be holding the ball. No prior and no opportunity to dispose legally.

Parish wasn’t that influential.

13 kicks out his 44 disposals is not a damaging stat. He was well down on the metres gained table, despite having 44 possessions and only 75% disposal efficiency despite having 31 handballs … you’ve got to assume it should be easier to hit the target with a handball..

I can understand why Fly let him go for half a game before tightening up on him in the second half.

Parish wasn’t that influential.

13 kicks out his 44 disposals is not a damaging stat. He was well down on the metres gained table, despite having 44 possessions and only 75% disposal efficiency despite having 31 handballs … you’ve got to assume it should be easier to hit the target with a handball..

I can understand why Fly let him go for half a game before tightening up on him in the second half.
He killed us around stoppage.

Everyone keeps going on about meters gained and kicking etc while ignoring that the guy had 12 clearances. It’s not a coincidence that we started winning it out of the middle and kicked 3 quick goals when he went off in the last term after hurting his ankle.
Yes, his stats were padded, and not every one of his 44 touches were damaging, but the downplaying of his influence on the game out of the middle is borderline nonsense. He was huge for Essendon.

On the topic of Parish and clearances, does anyone else suspect that Adams hasn't had a great recovery since he had Covid?

He seems to be somewhat struggling since he got back.

I'm sure he's not the only one across the league.

I know heaps of people now that have had Covid and some of them are having lasting effects, particularly fatigue, for several weeks afterwards.

Everyone keeps going on about meters gained and kicking etc while ignoring that the guy had 12 clearances. It’s not a coincidence that we started winning it out of the middle and kicked 3 quick goals when he went off in the last term after hurting his ankle.
Yes, his stats were padded, and not every one of his 44 touches were damaging, but the downplaying of his influence on the game out of the middle is borderline nonsense. He was huge for Essendon.
In terms of metres gained, he set up a heap more than anyone else on the field, giving them field advantage for much of the game.

On the topic of Parish and clearances, does anyone else suspect that Adams hasn't had a great recovery since he had Covid?

I know heaps of people now that have had Covid and some of them are having lasting effects, particularly fatigue, for several weeks afterwards.
Yep. He's only played mid 60% game time the last two games and a fair bit of it outside the centre square. He's not 100%.

After watching the replay I would have to say Redman seems to be a damn good bloke, even though he plays for Essendon. Gave a few of our guys a pat on the back to check on them after they picked themselves up after hitting the deck.

It's either COVID, whatever is happening with his knee, or just a form slump.

His real go-to always has been and even more so now is to be in and under, because our new running game doesn't necessarily suit him. And right now I can't remember many (any?) games this year where I've thought 'gee Taylor Adams was good today'

It's either COVID, whatever is happening with his knee, or just a form slump.

His real go-to always has been and even more so now is to be in and under, because our new running game doesn't necessarily suit him. And right now I can't remember many (any?) games this year where I've thought 'gee Taylor Adams was good today'
He doesn't have to be 'good' he just needs to get in and under and compete - he's a terrier plain and simple/

Given he was almost single-handedly keeping them in the game and we really got on top when he was benched in the last (thanks McInnes) I wouldn't be surprised if it was Fly who gave him a 5.

Between him, Ginnivan and Howe all getting 8 votes, I reckon it would've been:

Parish - Fly 5, Truck 3
Howe - Fly 3, Truck 5
Ginnivan - 4 each