List Mgmt. List Management 2022

And how many have continued and prospered?
Its not an exact science and a huge percentage of players drafted by all clubs dont meet perceived potential.

Its not exclusive to the Carlton Football Club

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Fine ill do just the first rd picks, wont even bother with the other ones.

2015: all guns except cuningham - Pass

2016: SPS - fail

2017: Dow, LOB - Fail

2018: Walsh, Stocker - giving this a fail. Blind freddy could of picked Walsh.

2019: Kemp - unknown at this stage.

If i were to include 2nd and 3rd rd picks and beyond, it looks much worse.

I don't know if SOS was just an average list manager or our developments average, or a combination of both.... But i am not confident at all with this list.

Good point. We really are trash when it comes to mid season picks.
Hayes has got the sads, and i can understand why after we didnt defend his rubbish suspension.
But going by his performances afterwards, he'd checked out to me.

No urgency whatsoever.

In that last VFL game there were a few things he did, that made me think he was trying to spite Carlton and let the opposition into the contest.

It was very unlike him.

No great loss!

Blake Acres come on down!
[emoji106]

Stocker a bit surprising, thought he might have gotten one more year but those inside the four walls would know best.

I’m assuming the club canvassed interest for a trade before delisting, not that we would have got anymore than a token late pick for an out of contract player.

Someone will give him a go for next year. All the best to him.

Please, it's barely in the top 10

That's just insulting to the people responsible for such monstrosities as:

- giving Zac Williams a 6 year, $850k per year contract

- trading 2 second round picks and a state league priority for the right to overpay Mitch McGovern

- the original Stocker trade

- drafting Dow and O'Brien with top 10 picks in the same year. Bonus points for passing on Cerra then trading a first round pick for him later on

- trading back in the draft from pick 12 (next 2 players = Kosi Pickett and Will Day) to draft an injured Brodie Kemp 1 pick ahead of Sam De Koning (whose brother is on the team), then trading up 2 picks later for... Sam Philp (this sequence is still mind boggling poor)

- appointing David Teague as coach with basically no process because he managed to go 5-5 with mediocre list.

Could probably go on and on here.

20 years since top 4. 10 years since finals. 7 years since we started a '3 year rebuild'.

Utterly reprehensible...

Dropping De Koning for Pittonet.

It was Stocker on Elliot in that final play where Elliot kicked the winning goal. Stocker got confused and left Elliot to man the mark on Pendlebury. Elliot got out the back and kicked the goal. I have no doubt this is his punishment.
Maybe go back and watch the replay both Elliotts goals were when stocker wasn't on him

I love Stocker and I was both shocked and saddened to see him let go, but if you take the surrounding emotions out of it, I can somewhat understand the club's perspective.

He was clearly never going to make it as a midfielder - this was his biggest deficiency (as called out by Richmond) and it was clear every pre-season when he was behind Dow in the running sessions.

That leaves defence. He is too slow to break lines, and his lack of fitness ensures when he does get up the ground, he's not able to recoup quickly which leaves us exposed on the counter.

Yes he was tough. Yes he stood up for his mates. But unfortunately you still need several AFL quality traits to survive in what is a ruthless industry.

I daresay it was Stocker vs Plowman, and unfortunately for Liam, Plow is still contracted for 2023.

I do wish him well and hope he is given a chance somewhere else. Maybe he could be a Blake Hardwick type?

Please, it's barely in the top 10

That's just insulting to the people responsible for such monstrosities as:

- giving Zac Williams a 6 year, $850k per year contract

- trading 2 second round picks and a state league priority for the right to overpay Mitch McGovern

- the original Stocker trade

- drafting Dow and O'Brien with top 10 picks in the same year. Bonus points for passing on Cerra then trading a first round pick for him later on

- trading back in the draft from pick 12 (next 2 players = Kosi Pickett and Will Day) to draft an injured Brodie Kemp 1 pick ahead of Sam De Koning (whose brother is on the team), then trading up 2 picks later for... Sam Philp (this sequence is still mind boggling poor)

- appointing David Teague as coach with basically no process because he managed to go 5-5 with mediocre list.

Could probably go on and on here.

20 years since top 4. 10 years since finals. 7 years since we started a '3 year rebuild'.

Utterly reprehensible...
Yeah but apart from that….

Not happy, Stock just needed a fitness base, We keep some softies on the list which opposition use as Avenues in transition and we delist a guy with a bit of a figjam attitude and heaps of mongrel. We celebrate our list on paper and in reality it is up there with the best but the filth who have players of his ilk in abundance have gone further than us and may still snaffle the flag.

Not Happy Jan!!!!

Last edited by a moderator:
Maybe go back and watch the replay both Elliotts goals were when stocker wasn't on him

Mate I saw the behind the goals vision, Jono Brown pointed it out. Stocker was on Elliot. The ball got kicked forward and Stocker panicked and ran to man the mark on Pendlebury. Stocker was on Elliott the entire time he was on the field and he was on him just beforehand. I dont blame Stocker at all they were all to blame. But Voss blames Stocker I think.

Came for the melts, didn't disappoint

Seems strange but at the same time I would presume there is more than meets the eye from both sides. Wouldn't surprise me if he wanted a break from the club and or AFL footy in genera

Or maybe he just isnt that good. Really poor by foot alot of the time (elite my ass), unfit and another who doesn't really have a place. If he isn't going to be a mid then he doesn't have a spot - and seems he will never be a mid with his poor tank.

On CPH2005 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hayes has got the sads, and i can understand why after we didnt defend his rubbish suspension.
But going by his performances afterwards, he'd checked out to me.

No urgency whatsoever.

In that last VFL game there were a few things he did, that made me think he was trying to spite Carlton and let the opposition into the contest.

It was very unlike him.

No great loss!

Blake Acres come on down!
[emoji106]

We just don’t seem to nail the mid season picks like other clubs. It’s just staggering how $hit we are at talent identification and retention.

Surprised with the Stocker delisting, but not shocked. For numerous reasons and gut feels.

I see this thread has added 10 pages in the 40 mins lol, so i best get to reading and see if there are any nuggets of actual extra info in there.

Bottom line is, delisting means there is no interest in him from elsewhere. He has been uncontracted all year and we have obviously had zero enquiry made to trade him for ANY currency. He may get picked up now as a delisted free agent for free somewhere, but obviously no-one was giving us anything for him.

As i said, surprising but not shocking.

Next pre-season the workrate goes UP again. Be prepared for hard work at Carlton.

Time will tell.
Lets see if Stocker is picked up by another team.
I remember a lot of hand wringing last year when Macreadie was delisted.
He has been okay for Williamstown.

Mate I saw the behind the goals vision, Jono Brown pointed it out. Stocker was on Elliot. The ball got kicked forward and Stocker panicked and ran to man the mark on Pendlebury. Stocker was on Elliott the entire time he was on the field and he was on him just beforehand. I dont blame Stocker at all they were all to blame. But Voss blames Stocker I think.

Watch it. Stocker clearly on the mark from Pendlebury. He's left Elliott just moments earlier.