Training 2023 Pre Season

• Thread starter Thread starter DarkSaint

Not convinced about Jackson just yet. Not sure whether he's going to make it either as a quality ruckman or as a tall forward.

And his forward/2nd ruck outputs playing alongside Gawn aren't anything spectacular. Not much better than Tom Campbell when he was partnering Goldy at North.

The obvious difference there is that Campbell is 30 years old and Jackson was 20 years old during last season, 19 during Melbourne's flag

There aren't too many 20 year old rucks even getting a regular game let alone having a decent impact, as Jackson did in Melbourne's premiership year.

I'd be amazed if he doesn't go on to have a very good career

When you look at our injuries compared to the our first two opponents, the Dockers and Dogs, it's a bit of a worry.

Will take a fair effort to win either of those games I'd say.

I hear you on injuries but bring the games on. All of them.

Let's see what our list is capable of under decent guidance.

It might take a while to gel but I'm expecting an exciting year.

I trust Ross. I just do... and I believe our list is much better than many people think.

Colour me pumped for the season.

I trust Ross. I just do... and I believe our list is much better than many people think.

I trust Ross, but l also trust that Boris, Lenny and Harvs are probably our best group of assistants in memory.
Guys like BJ and Batchlor providing good value and the whole footy dpt has has proven operators in almost all positions.

I agree our list is better than they have performed but they are still mediocre for pace and skills overall.
I'm approaching the season cautiously and TBH all l actualy want to see at the end of it is the existence of a proper game plan and Nas, Windy and Chito with the number 22 in their games played column.

I trust Ross, but l also trust that Boris, Lenny and Harvs are probably our best group of assistants in memory.
Guys like BJ and Batchlor providing good value and the whole footy dpt has has proven operators in almost all positions.

I agree our list is better than they have performed but they are still mediocre for pace and skills overall.
I'm approaching the season cautiously and TBH all l actualy want to see at the end of it is the existence of a proper game plan and Nas, Windy and Chito with the number 22 in their games played column.

Agree completely on our assistants. Their combination with Ross is a big reason why I'm so excited.

Something good is brewing mate. I can feel it in my blood.

Jackson is a phenomenal player, and can be a very difficult match-up for anybody who isn't 199cm and 100 kegs. Sean Darcy loves to drift forward for a goal, especially against the Saints and the Jackson inclusion gives him a bit more leeway in that regard. Fyfe is now a full time forward who is getting back to peak condition, and will be a tough match up for our defense. Alex Pearce is a monster with a great engine and our number 1 forward will have to work hard for a look at goal. They are a reasonably good running side as well, and probably have a bit more top end pace than we do. They are going to be tough to beat, and we will have to play disciplined football if we want to beat them in Round 1.

They are a good side, I think they play finals but think they'll stand still a bit this year. Maybe even drop off a touch.

I can't see it working tbh (Jackson playing as a midfielder)

It's one thing to look good at training but I don't think it will last long during the season

Although he is an athlete. Blicsavs style maybe?

I think our list is good enough but we'd need a heap of luck with injury because we have depth but not heaps of ready to roll depth. Lose key players and we are playing the kids.

Agree completely on our assistants. Their combination with Ross is a big reason why I'm so excited.

Something good is brewing mate. I can feel it in my blood.

Finnis was an austerity operator. We are now spending big on football department operations. You can't cheap it and succeed in modern footy.

Agree and the other thing is while we do have injuries, our backline and midfield should be better than last year. So there's an optimist inside me that thinks we can surprise.

We had the 7th-least scores against last year (only one point more than Carlton in 6th, and they had a much easier draw), so defensively we’re very sound, so with Freo’s expected weakness being their forward line, they’ll probably find it hard to score.

Same of course with us, with the forward line looking like being our weakness, and their backline sound.

So it could be a very dour, low-scoring affair, and largely a battle of the midfields.

And the two midfields look pretty evenly matched on the inside (especially if Windy does his thing to Brayshaw), while we’re probably a fair bit ahead on the wings. Obviously their 2nd ruck option looks superior to ours.

All that of course is on paper, so doesn’t take into account preparedness, mindset/energy on the day, etc.

Training today - went for about 2 hours

• King doing goal kicking practice early - seemed to be kicking well
  • Rehab group - Jones, Keeler, Hotton, King, Membrey, McLennan(?) & Allison (moon boot)
  • Mattaes kicks the ball well on his right foot and certainly has a big left foot.
  • Small sided drills focussing on quick movement - one by foot & one by hand
  • Keeler ran some laps
  • Caminiti goal kicking ok
  • Reckon Higgins field kicking is very good - maybe his goal kicking problems are between the ears?
  • Peris did one excellent snap for goal - otherwise I though his foot and hand skills were ordinary for a small guy
  • Small sided match simulation on a small rectangular field focussed on quick movement & hitting targets in a confined space
  • Players kicking for goal at every opportunity during drinks breaks
  • Howard forward & enjoyed kicking a goal
  • Billings kicking good as was NAS and Sincs again
  • Sharman’s goal kicking is excellent - just need to get it to him!
  • Stocker seems to be moving nicely and kicking ok. Not sure fitness is an issue anymore
  • Wood took an excellent mark and goaled & looks dangerous
  • Coff looked ok and kicked ok
  • Finished with a lot of leading inside 50 passes to Owens & Caminiti
  • No injuries I could see! - other than Butler tweaked a foot/ankle but kept playing.
  • RTB quietly instructing the players individually when he sees something

Good focussed hit out with similar drills & structure to what I’ve seen recently - let’s see how we go Friday!

Go Saints!
Were DMac, Seb and JWeb out there? Only ones I can think of that had been modified lately

We know nothing until we start playing against other clubs. A lot of players are going to have to step up from last season- not just one or two. I hope RL is tactically better than Ratts, but his game-plan of the late 2000s is probably out of date and I look forward to seeing what he is going to bring to games in 2023. To me anyway, bringing back Lyon plus all his old mates from the past guarantees nothing, so let's see what happens. Of course I want total success!

We had the 7th-least scores against last year (only one point more than Carlton in 6th, and they had a much easier draw), so defensively we’re very sound, so with Freo’s expected weakness being their forward line, they’ll probably find it hard to score.

Same of course with us, with the forward line looking like being our weakness, and their backline sound.

So it could be a very dour, low-scoring affair, and largely a battle of the midfields.

And the two midfields look pretty evenly matched on the inside (especially if Windy does his thing to Brayshaw), while we’re probably a fair bit ahead on the wings. Obviously their 2nd ruck option looks superior to ours.

All that of course is on paper, so doesn’t take into account preparedness, mindset/energy on the day, etc.

We struggled against the Pies who played a spread of smalls. Sometimes the unconventional set ups are hardest to play on.

thats a crap appointment
Maybe not crap - time will tell - but in that role you do want someone with experience who will challenge RTB and at times just say NO, we are not doing that.

I have heard old war stories of Ron Joseph telling Barassi no to some of his great left field ideas(!) during his heyday at North.

Suspect it’s difficult for Misson to say no given his strong relationship with RTB.

Walsh left at a difficult time for us to recruit a quality operator - maybe we just have to go with Misson until the end of the season unless he does a great job?