Autopsy 2023 Round 1 DRAW. Ugly Blues still can't close out games

Who played well for the Blues in Round 1 vs the Tigers

We got beaten at our preferred game plan but still drew albeit its hard to tell how good Richmond will be due to their ageing squad.

IMO on balance of play we deserved to lose but for the “in game” situation we should have won so maybe a draw was an apt result.

IMO the game just highlights that our midfield and backline are good enough but our forward line is still by far our weakest link.

I despise everything about the Richmond Football Club and their pathetic despotic overlords the AFL.

Richmond, are pure and simple, the biggest cheats in the AFL.

And the Green campaigners didn't enforce a ******* thing.

Charlie was abused all night.

It was disgusting.

* Richmond, * Shai Bolton. * that Dog Lynch.

It will be a grand day when the Richmond Football Club is in the dirt where it belongs.

Honestly think umpires had a good game. Charlie was evenly matched against probably the top 3 best KPB in the comp.

Lewis Young was excellent in the first half but he won't want to watch that late Lynch mark back. He keeps showing signs though that he could be a real top line back man. Only played the 40odd games so heaps of room for improvement.

Another good step forward tonight.

Nic Newman was very good again. Tough job on dusty most of the night but stuck at it and did well.

In what way specifically? I mean, he had a dominant ruck and the ability to put pace into his centre bounces, but that's a product of personnel rather than coaching.
How long have you got?

1. Leaving Martin and Fisher on the HF line when both were doing jack.
2. Repeatedly kicking out to one flank and Richmond knew it was going to happen.
3. Not having any smalls or mediums at the feet of Charlie and Harry - how often did the Richmond defenders clear it out?
4. Handballing way too often.
5. Making the same mistakes, time and time again.
6. Not holding their positions - sucked into the contest - all of them.

You were sitting in the crowd, Lachie is paid to play on the MCG.
There are many moments in life, elite athletes, I’m assuming you’ve never been one, have less than milliseconds to make options, which could please some and greatly disappoint others, on this occasion, you’ve chosen with a great amount of time available more than Lachie to be dissatisfied in his millisecond’s decision.
These two bounces you’ve mentioned, place’s Lachies kick in the 80/60 metre range given the speed at which he, as an elite runner would have placed his kick.
Grimes was out of position dozens of times during the game, but this time is the real kicker for you.
Grimes’ hole dropping would mean diddly if Harry had kept his feet and dragged the ball in and marked.
He hit Harry’s hands on a ******* dime, Harry dropped the mark, I’d wager my house, Harry would be apologising to Lachie, not the other way round.
Your logic and reason is a personally biased opinion about Lachie O’Brien and a split second decision on the MCG in the first game of the year after Harry missed two ******* sitters in less than 5 minutes of footy.
I love ya mate, but take a breath, sit back, there is a world of pure fascination, and we get to witness it, just be a bit more logical and reasonable.
See ya next week!❤️👍

I’m in no way blaming LOB for the loss. It’s a game of inches and there were several “inches” which let us down in that last 5 minutes, by several players. Was just fresh of my mind and I needed to vent, but it’s not the sole reason as to why we lost.

Man on man forward of the ball with a minute left is bizarre. Same situation the Pies would have 4 spare. We had one spare and Taranto pushed forward to even it up.

So odd.

Less concerned about not being able to close out the game than I am about our continuing inability to play out from the back or do anything but bomb it into our forward talls and rely on their individual ability. Hopefully this is not actually reflective of how we plan to play.
OMG the first two quarters everytime the scores a point … oh I know let’s bomb it to the same exact place every effing time! So predictable and worst still it didn’t work once and they kept doing it … grrrrr

I despise everything about the Richmond Football Club and their pathetic despotic overlords the AFL.

Richmond, are pure and simple, the biggest cheats in the AFL.

And the Green campaigners didn't enforce a ******* thing.

Charlie was abused all night.

It was disgusting.

* Richmond, * Shai Bolton. * that Dog Lynch.

It will be a grand day when the Richmond Football Club is in the dirt where it belongs.
I also strongly dislike Richmond and I think that Bolton is developing into a thoroughly repugnant footballer.

However I think that there is one club that are bigger cheats than them. I'll give you a clue - what should be their actual nickname rhythms with "slug cleats".

Agree on that. Hopefully they won't be as good in the clearances.

Prestia, Hopper, Taranto, etc. were pretty hard to beat tonight which kind of stuffed up our game plan.

Nankervis was giving them decent service too and was another big body for our mids to content with. Richmond will be a dominant clearance team this year with the addition of Taranto and Hopper.

Love what TDK brings and he's developing nicely, but can't help but think that when fully fit, Pitto's crash and bash style actually suits our mids better. I think Pitto gives better ruck tap service and helps clear the way for our mids with his big size.

Nankervis doesn't do anything flashy that makes the highlights reel, but I thought just his big body and presence, getting his hands to the ball at stoppages or putting his body in the way made life difficult for our mids.

It sucks to not win and as I've not yet seen the game (I had to work, please don't hate me) From what little I've read on here and heard on the wireless on the drive home, we drew, with a side quite fancied to be at the top of the tree come September. Now we seem to have done this, if I have read correctly whilst playing pretty shitehouse, yes?? This to me means that when we start playing to out potential, (which will be against the fur balls) we will be quite hard to beat you would think, Yes??

Lewis Young was excellent in the first half but he won't want to watch that late Lynch mark back.
“Something’s gotta give”. He and the rest of the backline did a stellar job tonight. But at some point, when you concede 66 i50s, a lapse will occur. Just happened at the worst moment. I’m more disappointed in Gov coming in from the side and failing to get a fist on the ball. Needed to be killed. Felt like Melksham’s mark all over again.

Ed did a good job on Prestia for sure but his disposal is terrible and we have a good enough midfield now that we shouldn't be carrying a tagger IMO.
Ran the equal amounting the ground and turned a negative (Prestia) into a positive.

Not saying he must play every week but ot many who arent currently playing that can offer mire than he currently can.

If only we could clone Ed's heart and defensive capacity with Paddy Dow's step and burst.

Food for thought.

At the end of the round, we will likely be equal ninth ... with Ninthmond.

What have we become? :drunk:

Honestly think umpires had a good game. Charlie was evenly matched against probably the top 3 best KPB in the comp.
Charlie was molested all game, 3 times blatantly in the goal square.
1 of those he was able to kick the goal off the ground.
Another one in the second quarter the ball went straight down the other end and Rioli got a soft free. 12 point play by the umps.

It sucks to not win and as I've not yet seen the game (I had to work, please don't hate me) From what little I've read on here and heard on the wireless on the drive home, we drew, with a side quite fancied to be at the top of the tree come September. Now we seem to have done this, if I have read correctly whilst playing pretty shitehouse, yes?? This to me means that when we start playing to out potential, (which will be against the fur balls) we will be quite hard to beat you would think, Yes??
Spot on mate, it’s a long season and we had our chances.

Go you ****ing BAGGERS!!!!!!

How long have you got?

1. Leaving Martin and Fisher on the HF line when both were doing jack.
2. Repeatedly kicking out to one flank and Richmond knew it was going to happen.
3. Not having any smalls or mediums at the feet of Charlie and Harry - how often did the Richmond defenders clear it out?
4. Handballing way too often.
5. Making the same mistakes, time and time again.
6. Not holding their positions - sucked into the contest - all of them.
We must have lost the game that you watched by a lot.

Thought how's coached really well, defensive match ups were great throughout. Best move of the night was curnow onto prestia - turned the game.

The umps were pretty poor I thought.

If the defender hugs his opponent (both arms around) it's an automatic free kick. Because they wouldn't pay this to Charlie the less athletic Grimes could just hold him out of the contest all night. It did have a big impact.