Multiplat AFL 23 - Part 2 with added Pro Team

Seems like patch notes are out already .. not sure how to feel about it.. thoughts?? 👀

ITS GONE LIVE ALSO! Just got it on PS5 = 1.7GB

So we can conclude Training mode, along with single player mode just never existed and they’ve taken us for a ride since day 1 🤣 I swear this mob never fails to deliver on failing to deliver.

This game is dead. By the time management mode is fixed and pro team is available, the AFL season will be pretty much finished. It’s probably one of the worst games I have ever purchased for $100.

A month ago I probably would’ve disagreed with you but now I think you couldn’t be more accurate. By the time Pro Team does launch it will be on the AFL seasons last legs and thats not factoring in IF online gameplay is fixed by then. I really hope there’s also some genuine, direct communication on why/how it ended up like this after some pretty blatant empty promises pre-release and then still shading the questions post release about the state of the game. Its not all bound by NDA’s surely…..communication has been nothing if not indirect & now its strictly limited to patch talk.

I’ve said it before, I think you and I are pretty much on the same page.
I’ve been positive and giving BA the benefit but I’m quickly running out of patience.
All for waiting and testing patches but the communication is a real let down and sadly being promised a weekly patch and having I think 1 in almost a month with no real communication on the issue isn’t good enough.
I still think the game will get there but at this stage of the season will the damage be done?

This game is dead. By the time management mode is fixed and pro team is available, the AFL season will be pretty much finished. It’s probably one of the worst games I have ever purchased for $100.
Absolutely. They frankly should have held off even releasing the game or announcing it until they had absolutely everything ready to go with everything they wanted in the game. Not only is this game dead, The next AFL game they do will be dead to the public as well. No one is gonna give them the benefit of the doubt next time. They blew their major chance here.

What a waste of time and resources...

If you're not going to do it properly, Don't even do it at all.

I'll just post this video for now, but it's wild how the AI either takes over your controlled players running pattern and/or creates an invisible barrier making it unable to go directly to the direction the ball is heading in.

AFL Live used to do similar things. I remember holding up my controller going "Look! I'm pressing the stick in the exact opposite direction to the direction my player is going!"

Built from the ground up ... With a lot of the same quirks from a 12 year old game for some reason.

Annoying af. Games are meant to be interactive.

For the time it’s taking, looks like that PS patch test might have been unsuccessful.
Could just be that Nacon aren’t in any hurry too. They’re probably pulling the old “3-5 business days” on them and leaving Ross on read. Can’t imagine they’re going to be too strict seeing how they let Gollum release

Big Ant forum just as dead too.

Next patch after two weeks wait: "stability improvements"
If you truly want dead. Look at r/AFL_23. Until 30 minutes ago, There were no new posts in 2 days...

To be honest, That's probably for the best as people on there were getting to the point of asking why Ross hadn't contacted the head of EA Sports for help 12 months ago because the guy who runs it at the moment is originally from the Gold Coast and asking if the CSIRO could come in and save the day... At that point you just give up even posting...

To be honest, The more I think about it. The only thing they've got working properly at the moment is the Acadamy and I'm having fun with it right now. I'm probably having more fun with the game than most people thanks to that but even I can see that this game is very bare bones and if you bought it for any of the features promoted, You'd be very cross and disappointed with the game.

By the time they get everything fixed up and ready to go, They might as well have relaunched it as AFL 24 or just done that in the first place instead of trying to do it in 2023 when things weren't fully ready.

Wonder if they have any regrets about rushing this game out now? Small market that want an AFL game and the bigger market of cricket delayed , which may or may not be delayed because of AFL but a lot are assuming that’s why. It’s put a lot of doubt in the minds of those that purchase their cricket games. Wonder if it would have been a smarter move getting cricket out during the ashes and pushing AFL out to next year when they didn’t have a cricket game to release at a similar time.

To be honest, The more I think about it. The only thing they've got working properly at the moment is the Acadamy

And even there, there's no standalone Steam version like Cricket (yet?)

I'm not interested in touching the Academy so yeah, if the game itself isn't fixed by the Xbox launch I'll be getting my money back.

Using PC and PlayStation gamers as early access beta testers is just ****ed.

Absolutely. They frankly should have held off even releasing the game or announcing it until they had absolutely everything ready to go with everything they wanted in the game. Not only is this game dead, The next AFL game they do will be dead to the public as well. No one is gonna give them the benefit of the doubt next time. They blew their major chance here.

What a waste of time and resources...

If you're not going to do it properly, Don't even do it at all.

AFL 23 was laying the foundation (player likenesses)

Hopefully AFL 25 will nail the game play (AND NO CRASHES)

Played a couple games on PS5 today. Enjoyed them but can't believe how long it's been since a patch. Management mode is boring, no injuries, suspensions, development. The time ultimate team comes along the season will be over and let's be honest, ultimate team will either launch a buggy mess, lacking any content or depth, and most likely both.

The game is dead? So not worth my purchase for Xbox and pro team? considering the game is slowly improving and there will about 2 months of footy including finals left? Lol

I get the game may be dead to you but for me and I’d assume others on xbox I have plenty to look forward to (playing the game for 1) and it ain’t dead to me just yet. Thinking positive lol

And to those who think AFL 25 is already dead, clearly underestimates the afl gaming community. We all played the crap AFL live 2 and then the terrible evolution and then still got excited for Evolution 2 so I reckon AFL 25 will be fine 👌

How many patches have actually been released since Ross stated they’d move to almost daily steam patches and weekly on consoles?

I’m on PS5, so still on patch v1.0.2911… so this may be different on Steam right now, but I could bump the AI using the Right Stick, typically when they had just gathered the ball.

I’ve seen the ball spill free, but typically I see an animation that the two players both stumble and take a moment to recover.
Wait I'm also on PS5 and I'm on v1.000.024 even though it says I'm on the latest version. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling as well. Do patches roll out to consoles at different rates?

Nah that’s the same version.
You’re looking at the Version information in the PlayStation menus.
My v1.0.2911 is the build number, which you can see when you go to the Credits in the game.

The game is dead? So not worth my purchase for Xbox and pro team? considering the game is slowly improving and there will about 2 months of footy including finals left? Lol

I get the game may be dead to you but for me and I’d assume others on xbox I have plenty to look forward to (playing the game for 1) and it ain’t dead to me just yet. Thinking positive lol

And to those who think AFL 25 is already dead, clearly underestimates the afl gaming community. We all played the crap AFL live 2 and then the terrible evolution and then still got excited for Evolution 2 so I reckon AFL 25 will be fine 👌
Who in their right mind is paying $89 for a game they are getting 4 months late that is still not even complete, think youll be surprised how few people buy the game, sales numbers coming from kids talking their parents into it that dont know any better paints alot better picture than the opinion of the general consumer also.

And even there, there's no standalone Steam version like Cricket (yet?)

I'm not interested in touching the Academy so yeah, if the game itself isn't fixed by the Xbox launch I'll be getting my money back.

Using PC and PlayStation gamers as early access beta testers is just ****ed.
To be honest, If I was you right now. I'd just get that money back right now. I don't have any trust that the game will be fixed by then. It feels like they're gonna need a hell of a lot of testing for this game just to be able to release a patch, let alone put in new features at this point. It ain't gonna be fixed by next month or even August. I don't even feel they'll have it fixed until next year at this rate if they even have the willingness after a while to fix it.

Get that money back and use it on something you'd actually enjoy... Save yourself the frustration mate. Not even worth it just to say you played it and returned it. Most people to have played it have already done that.

EDIT: And yeah, The fact alone that they've used PC and PS users as Beta testers should really get Big Ant investigated by the ACCC. I know some people have thrown around that they'll report them to the ACCC but honestly, I don't think they have the guts and willpower to do it. Kinda wish they would though. Some accountability and apologies would be nice.

I just had a look at the forum and its hilarious. It's the same people from here who worship Ross, trying to get attention from him.

Hardly.. it’s the people that are enjoying the game and not crying on big footy every night about how shit the game is..

It’s like some weird obsession you all have, come on here make sure the vendetta train is still rolling. If you all hate the game so much and believe it’s dead, why haven’t you moved on. Go outside and breath the fresh air. If you don’t want to do that, here’s a brilliant one for you. Play something else [emoji50]🤯

Hardly.. it’s the people that are enjoying the game and not crying on big footy every night about how s**t the game is..

It’s like some weird obsession you all have, come on here make sure the vendetta train is still rolling. If you all hate the game so much and believe it’s dead, why haven’t you moved on. Go outside and breath the fresh air. If you don’t want to do that, here’s a brilliant one for you. Play something else [emoji50]🤯
I feel it's in-between both right now. Mainly because there is a lot of the people who don't like the game and post on BigFooty, Twitter, Reddit, etc. See it as BA's "no criticism safe space" and refuse to join because of that.

The only people using the Big Ant Forums are the people who love the game or want contact with the devs while the people who are very critical of game and how it was handled refuse to join and then point out that it's just people who worship Ross and won't say a bad thing about the game.

So it's kind of a self-fulfilling prophecy in a way. I'm just more surprised that people are surprised that it happened that way and are talking about it when I saw that happening coming from a million miles away. XD

Hardly.. it’s the people that are enjoying the game and not crying on big footy every night about how s**t the game is..

IMG_4162.jpeg

So now people aren’t allowed to air their grievances on the game based on their experiences because you say so? I can’t speak for others but I never said I hated the game, but the bare bones of it in its current state added in with bugs doesnt entice repetitive plays for me.

Also, we’re not allowed to point out the game is buggy from its patches? Wipe 85% of this thread then. Wait around all you want, the games been out for 8 weeks exactly, not an unreasonable amount of time for things to have been fixed to an acceptable level. Oh and its also still not available on an entire console, but sure, have a dig at those less patient than you. 🤦🏻‍♂️

Multiplat AFL 23 - Part 2 with added Pro Team