Autopsy 2023 Rd 18 Bruising Blues shortcircuit Power

Who played well for the Blues in Round 18 vs Port?

I have not been a huge fan of Martin myself but the last 4 weeks he has been massive, gotta give credit when it is due. Needs to stay injury free his output has been massively hampered by his injury absence. We got him for free but paid him a lot. He needs to stay on the park! He is enormous when playing the way he is lately.
He is doing all the little things that count now. Really upped his work rate and efforts. Been fantastic to see.

Our last part of the season is what I’d call challenging, however, I’ve just had a look at every team from ladder positions 5-14 and all are just as challenging.

Not sure how you can do the ladder prediction thing and be anything but confident in its outcomes[emoji57]

Just watching the replay and it wasn’t just the pressure it was the physicality.
Quite few times Port player’s not committing to the contest.
McGovern obliterating Boak and Bergman was one of the best things that happened yesterday. When blokes are in that vulnerable position, unfortunately you just have to have the mongrel to go through them with the knee (fairly). McGovern did that, and I'm not sure all of our players would have done the same in the past.

Now? Feels like they all want a piece of that action.

In the 2s he’s the man, he sets the stoppages, assigns the rolls/positions & his job is to get ball.
He was the sides unwanted man yesterday, being played a kick off the ball forward (a position that’s bloody difficult & totally foreign to him). Even when he attended a CB he was goalside (where he never lines up in the 2s), stoppages he was goal side, outside of the stoppage - hard to get involved offensively & defensively from there (was a position Fish was playing and ultimately cost him his spot - he also had a long time to get familiar playing that roll).
You could see he was second guessing himself, didn’t want to get caught defensively (& cop it for not being defence first) wasn’t close enough to impact offensively as the ball was cleared past him (he was a kick forward- the clearance handball chain & resulting kick meant the option was to kick over him).
He did a bloody good job getting front and centre continuously- he busted his butt to get to that spot & was unlucky it just didn’t drop to him.
When he was in the stoppage he was clean & effective. 100% he was played as the sub - not as a respected mid.
The role is the role, he missed a few kicks (like everyone else) but u can’t hang him based on the roll he was given - he did it. At one stage was lining up defensively on Houston! That’s the last place I’d be sticking him.
Once in the stoppages properly, u can’t say he doesn’t burst and cut a pack up, 2 centre clearances from 7 attendances is elite (2nd highest for the team Crippa was best 4 from 23) & looks bloody good when he’s played in that position

Just finished watching the game...Dow got better as the game went on - as you say he has to learn to be part of the group/chain (as he's certainly not top dog)...which he did a few times.

Had a few important touches and only coughed it up badly once (and all the players do it once or twice).

GH was solid too, mostly in H1.

Just watching the replay and it wasn’t just the pressure it was the physicality.
Quite few times Port player’s not committing to the contest.
This series of images sums it up for me. Camera angle perfect to show Rozee absolutely no interest in stopping Docherty here or even making it difficult if it means contact. It’s worse in the replay.Late in the game of course but still….
FAE7DB06-6286-4491-AFA3-42AEBF7D3333.jpeg
2B0DE787-CEFC-4D0C-8CA2-36AF88C5D2B5.jpeg ED10550F-4B75-49D1-9D8F-ECA6CD882049.jpeg F6770606-B4CC-4029-8BFA-0807D3B93F12.jpeg

Attachments

• 2D08EE5F-9543-431B-9D6A-934AA4E09C23.jpeg
    2D08EE5F-9543-431B-9D6A-934AA4E09C23.jpeg
    116.4 KB · Views: 44
  • BD39107E-640F-4D44-8BB7-ADC18A1C7567.jpeg
    BD39107E-640F-4D44-8BB7-ADC18A1C7567.jpeg
    128.7 KB · Views: 45
  • 6EF3FEA3-1298-4246-B89F-6E04460073D8.jpeg
    6EF3FEA3-1298-4246-B89F-6E04460073D8.jpeg
    128.7 KB · Views: 43
And if we beat both?????

We could. There's no reason why not on any given day, playing as we are currently. Standing room only now for Pies game unfortunately.
If we give our best over 4q's, why the hec not?

I really want to play Collingwood now. Lets not forget Steele Sidebottom's comments re laughing at us during the game. Bring them on I say.
To be fair, I think he said he was laughing at the fact we just kept kicking it to Moore. And I can’t say I blame him, that was some of the dumbest footy I have seen any club play.

If we keep playing like that we will give anyone a lot of trouble on any given day. One of the most enjoyable and stress free games I’ve been to in a long time against a top side.

I think it’s gonna go down to the wire whether we make it or not, I think we will just miss. But half of me is spewing I’ve booked a trip to NZ during prelim week. I keep reminding myself this morning to snap out of it.

Just wanted to quickly say, when the role players on a team play well, it changes everything. JSOS, Motlop, Newman and Cottrell in particular were immense. The tenacity of our players was first rate. Trapping balls inside F50 that we’d usually let out, smashing contests, ragdolling port players in the clinches in stoppage. Then the ball movement was so great to watch as well. Just so happy with the performance.

The Architect

Hold on a sec - people can't just say "sack Voss" time and time again, and then when we start playing well say that "I've changed my mind given that we have won games". No - you have to admit that you were wrong because the club didn't sack him.

Otherwise you are literally always right, and just waiting until the next time we have a couple of bad games on the trot and say "I always said we should sack Voss".

The propensity and urge to sack coaches at Carlton is arguably why we have been in the same situation for the last 20 years.
We are damaged that’s what we do when things aren’t going well we’ve got nothing else to draw on except sack everybody :$

I'll just leave this here:

The Architect

Hold on a sec - people can't just say "sack Voss" time and time again, and then when we start playing well say that "I've changed my mind given that we have won games". No - you have to admit that you were wrong because the club didn't sack him.

Otherwise you are literally always right, and just waiting until the next time we have a couple of bad games on the trot and say "I always said we should sack Voss".

The propensity and urge to sack coaches at Carlton is arguably why we have been in the same situation for the last 20 years.

Mate give it up nobody cares. Can't you just enjoy the win? Nothing worse than a hypocrite.

Thank god we didn't sack Bolton and Teague. Oh yeah....

This series of images sums it up for me. Camera angle perfect to show Rozee absolutely no interest in stopping Docherty here or even making it difficult if it means contact. It’s worse in the replay.Late in the game of course but still….
View attachment 1739881
View attachment 1739883View attachment 1739884View attachment 1739885

I said this to my mate before the game. As good and as dominant as their midfield is, they are slightly undersized in comparison to our boys.

Bloke would be a bone fide superstar if he could just kick the thing half good.
You just have to take the good with the bad with him.
Has a real crack and is important to our side. His defensive marking / spoiling was huge yesterday.
Provides all day up & down.
Acres has been very good, astute pick up by club. Cost very little, but having a big impact. Just wish that the coaches would tell all of our players to be aware when he is about to have a kick. That they should be on their bike and ready to provide a handball option.
If he never had to kick the ball, he would be so much more effective. I know this probably could not happen, as the oppos would be a wake up to it. Nonetheless just crossed my mind.

Reckon Paddy is playing nervously, quite different to his demeanour in the 2s.

He was changing his mind every possession he had last night, rather than playing off instinct.

A lot of pressure on him I reckon, to some degree self imposed.
Maybe Dow will get a full game this week vs wet toast. Love to see him play with more confidence and just back himself in to make the right instinctive decisions with ball in hand.

Not great this getting drunk stuff T John.
Shout out to the young man who stumbled carrying 3 pots of beer without a carry tray and turned my shoes into a brewery. Lovely. Ta. Appreciated the slurred apology.
:p
That will teach you for clumsily horsin' around. No doubt the kid had no other option when confronted with you pigrootin' around.

Mate give it up nobody cares. Can't you just enjoy the win? Nothing worse than a hypocrite.

Thank god we didn't sack Bolton and Teague. Oh yeah....
Being humiliated by your own team winning can't be easy.

McGovern obliterating Boak and Bergman was one of the best things that happened yesterday. When blokes are in that vulnerable position, unfortunately you just have to have the mongrel to go through them with the knee (fairly). McGovern did that, and I'm not sure all of our players would have done the same in the past.

Young would have given them a big hug and warm glass of milk

Agree with McGovern (imposing at times) but he’s still usually the one that misses contests/spoils or has disappointing moments as a defender.

He’s been working on the handballing vs kick option but FMD, how does one find OOBOTF so often…?
Think he could make a really decent HFF with his contested game & marking. Even a pseudo CHF if we went that way.
I like the idea of the butcher playing in the forward line. He is a very solid mark and contested player. When kicking at goal, we could tell him to close his eyes as he would have a better chance imo.
I stuffed up here, must be still hungover. Thought you were talking about Acres.
Just on McGov, he does make a few kicking errors. This is because he chooses the more difficult and attacking options more often than not imo.

Yep, that’s called having a bit of campaigner.
And, it’s about time too

Maybe Dow will get a full game this week vs wet toast. Love to see him play with more confidence and just back himself in to make the right instinctive decisions with ball in hand.
What and compromise our tilt at the reserves flag? :D

Thought he did enough yesterday, lets hope he does.

Autopsy 2023 Rd 18 Bruising Blues shortcircuit Power