Is the Eagles list as bad as we thought?

Why would we want to use the worst team in AFL history as our comparison and desired state?

North having 2 30+ players is your core problem, not something to brag about. Norths next step is to get 3 or so 30+ players of their own in reality.

I think the rebuild is 2 drafts in and so far we have found I think about 7 of our bedt 22 already for next flag in Hough, Hewett, Reid, Brockman, Long, Maric and Ginbey and then we got I think 3 very likely candidates in Johnston, Burgiel and Bazzo injured/yet to debut. Hall/Barnett/J.Williams/Chesser still up in the air

2 more drafts of this nature + some free agents to rpeplace the Yeo, McGovern, Kellys of the world and we are on our way
Because you will be a bottom 2 side whether you like it or not.
The only one in your next finals side will be Reid (if he stays) & Ginnbey.

The sentiment just a few weeks ago was how dire the Eagles are and how far away from finals they are.
Now because they beat an injury crippled Richmond & Freo in a derby all those documented problems are gone?

Because you will be a bottom 2 side whether you like it or not.
The only one in your next finals side will be Reid (if he stays) & Ginnbey.

The sentiment just a few weeks ago was how dire the Eagles are and how far away from finals they are.
Now because they beat an injury crippled Richmond & Freo in a derby all those documented problems are gone?
Kangas fans just cant see past the midfield can they?

We have tons of players outside the midfied playing and doing good things.

The reason most put us as bottom 2 isnt cos our young players are putrid. its because our list depth is completely disgraceful. The nucelus of the best 22 is there but when we get to 32-44 players on our depth charts these players are insanely below AFL quality. FOr this reason outside of that we have 2 more drafts and a host of free agents to come in before we get to where we need to be.

We are 2 years into the rebuild when in reality most pundits believed we hadnt even started it yet cos we didnt delist Yeo and trade Barass. The fortunes of our 2 clubs proved Eagles made the rigfht call on both decisions and are now ahead of North in the rebuild.

Its also pretty stupiud to say Reid (if he stays) when LDU has 1 foot out the door. Me thinks the problem is in the Kangas side not the Eagles side when it comes to this conundrum

Kangas fans just cant see past the midfield can they?

We have tons of players outside the midfied playing and doing good things.

The reason most put us as bottom 2 isnt cos our young players are putrid. its because our list depth is completely disgraceful. The nucelus of the best 22 is there but when we get to 32-44 players on our depth charts these players are insanely below AFL quality. FOr this reason outside of that we have 2 more drafts and a host of free agents to come in before we get to where we need to be.

We are 2 years into the rebuild when in reality most pundits believed we hadnt even started it yet cos we didnt delist Yeo and trade Barass. The fortunes of our 2 clubs proved Eagles made the rigfht call on both decisions and are now ahead of North in the rebuild.

Its also pretty stupiud to say Reid (if he stays) when LDU has 1 foot out the door. Me thinks the problem is in the Kangas side not the Eagles side when it comes to this conundrum
On the weekend you had 1 player in defence under 25 & McGovern is doing a lot of heavy lifting back there at 32 years old.

All the talk about Reid but Yeo & Kelly were the reason you won.

I just think when all the 30+ players retire is when the real floggings will start it's not Harley Reid FC he's just one player.

I wouldn't celebrate to much
Eagles still have a very old list

To use North as comparison
Players over 30+

North - 2
Greenwood & Shiels

Eagles - 6
Darling, McGovern, Cripps, Yeo, Kelly, Gaff

Then breaking down the 25-29 year olds
the Eagles have heaps of players in that bracket.

So I think the rebuild hasn't even began properly they are like North in 2020.
Do you have a grip on reality. About ten teams have more 30+ players than the Eagles including Geelong, Collingwood and Richmond.The fact that you have only two 30+ players says more about the Kangas and how unbalanced their list is.
If we drop off a cliff than a whole lot of teams will also likely as they have lots of 30+ players than us.
Also Gaff"s last year and we are not reliant on his contributions and can't make best 22.

On the weekend you had 1 player in defence under 25 & McGovern is doing a lot of heavy lifting back there at 32 years old.

All the talk about Reid but Yeo & Kelly were the reason you won.

I just think when all the 30+ players retire is when the real floggings will start it's not Harley Reid FC he's just one player.
Which is the ideal way to do a rebuild. You buld oyour 19 year olf KPPs in the reserves, not in the AFL. Bazzo will take over when he is ready, not when he isnt just so we can say "oh look how young our KPPs are yay" while the guy gets smashed

We dont let 30 year olds just retire and sit on our hands and clap. These 30 year olds will be replaced by senior players who will join us as either free agents or also as trade ins when the time is right. We have a history of getting in senior players when the time is right and will continue to do so. We have the salary cap to get it done

Do you have a grip on reality. About ten teams have more 30+ players than the Eagles including Geelong, Collingwood and Richmond.The fact that you have only two 30+ players says more about the Kangas and how unbalanced their list is.
If we drop off a cliff than a whole lot of teams will also likely as they have lots of 30+ players than us.
Also Gaff"s last year and we are not reliant on his contributions and can't make best 22.
Not really reliant on Darling either. Darling only in cos Allen is injured as well.

Only 2 we truly get a ton out of is Yeo and McGovern. Cripps just a stock standard HFF but we have tons of them in reserves with it being our strong point at the club so Cripps replacements just waiting his time also

Club cant just rest on finding replavements for Yeo and McGovern in the older ranks still. Need to work our way through in the next 2-3 years and find more then that which im sure we will.

Not really reliant on Darling either. Darling only in cos Allen is injured as well.

Only 2 we truly get a ton out of is Yeo and McGovern. Cripps just a stock standard HFF but we have tons of them in reserves with it being our strong point at the club so Cripps replacements just waiting his time also

Club cant just rest on finding replavements for Yeo and McGovern in the older ranks still. Need to work our way through in the next 2-3 years and find more then that which im sure we will.
You covered some points i was thinking of adding. If Waterman can become more consistent and Maric keeps developing we won't miss Darling. All lists are in transition and with drafting, trading and free agency we hopefully can replace Yeo and McGovern who will be the two hardest to replace.

West Coast a list infested with absolute list cloggers that is currently being carried on the back of 3-5 players in rare form.

Yeo
Mcgovern
Kelly
Reid
Barrass

Outside of that, it is waves of shit.

Let's not kid ourselves after feasting on the Richmond two's and the most passive Fremantle midfield we've seen in years.

It is a list devoid of high end talent, relying on the performances of a diminishing stock of injury prone A-graders.

West Coast a list infested with absolute list cloggers that is currently being carried on the back of 3-5 players in rare form.

Yeo
Mcgovern
Kelly
Reid
Barrass

Outside of that, it is waves of s**t.

Let's not kid ourselves after feasting on the Richmond two's and the most passive Fremantle midfield we've seen in years.

It is a list devoid of high end talent, relying on the performances of a diminishing stock of injury prone A-graders.
The Eagles only have to be good enough to beat the lesser opposition at this stage of the rebuild lol.

The squad is plenty good enough to be competitive against any opposition right now and that's what you want at this point.

Yeo
Mcgovern
Kelly
Reid
Barrass

Outside of that, it is waves of s**t.

Who are the list cloggers? Reckon we have about 4-5 which will be moved on this year and then it’s either AFL level players or young kids.

Dom Sheed
Luke Edwards
Campbell Chesser
Alex Witherden
Zane Trew
Jermaine Jones
Josh Rotham
Callum Jameson
Harry Edwards
Andrew Gaff

Jury out out on a few others.

As much as I'm not getting carried away with a few good quarters in 3 years, I think what we've seen recently puts more merit on the recruitment of Kelly to complement the midfield.

Yes a lot was paid for him.
But there were 14 games played with Kelly, Yeo, Shuey and Naitanui together in the midfield out of a possible 84 games.
With a lot of those 14 games having one of those players get injured or coming back from injury, so we really never got to see the fruits of that trade.

We can now see more of what Kelly and Co. could have been in a much lesser midfield, it would have been nice to see what could have been had we had a fit list over the last few years.

Dom Sheed - I’m not his biggest fan but has proven to be AFL standard would make every list in the league
Luke Edwards - Yep
Campbell Chesser -He’s a 20yo first rounder, all teams have these types
Alex Witherden - Yep, maybe depth at a stretch
Zane Trew - Yep
Jermaine Jones - Yep
Josh Rotham - Has AFL attributes but probably agree
Callum Jameson - Young tall who has looked alright this year
Harry Edwards - young tall but looking more like a yes than no
Andrew Gaff - Yep

And then once we get rid of those 6 this year? Pretty quick turnaround to getting rid of the list cloggers huh

Dom Sheed
Luke Edwards
Campbell Chesser
Alex Witherden
Zane Trew
Jermaine Jones
Josh Rotham
Callum Jameson
Harry Edwards
Andrew Gaff

You know you can make a list of at least 8 players for nearly every club
you must have been peeking at our contract list and made your list of cloggers from our contract list.
Of this list six are out of contract and how many survive will depend on performance and how many will need to be delisted
to renew the list. At least three maybe six.
Sheed, Chesser and Jamieson have one year left on their contracts and have had lots of injuries and lack of playing footy in the last two years. We will wait and see what the next eighteen months bring for them.
I am comfortable with our list at the moment as we delisted ten last year and we made the right decision.

West Coast were shizenhousin all 2013 & 2014. Where as Freo had their best 2 years in a row then. Eagles were not considered a good team yet at round 3, especially after losing their best 2 defenders in Brown and McKenzie for the year. So I still says a good try there buddy.
read your post again...
Fremantle havn't beaten West Coast in a Derby when we were actually good since 2012 & it was one a piece that year.

Eagles just put your arse to bed a fortnight after being the talk of priority pick needy by VICMEDIA, the team supposedly even worse than Fitzroy.

Little brothers Fremantle are boring as batshit even when they're half decent.
Again read your post....

You said freo havent beaten west coast in a derby when west coast was actually good in 2012.

Dockers beat you once in 2015 when both sides made finals.

Try again.... mate!

read your post again...

Again read your post....

You said freo havent beaten west coast in a derby when west coast was actually good in 2012.

Dockers beat you once in 2015 when both sides made finals.

Try again.... mate!
Let's go back to 2006 a better year. Freo won the Perth premiership they won both derbies .Freo lost the preliminary final and the Eagles won the premiership. In the end i will take a premiership year than winning derbies.