Autopsy 2024 Rd 13 Blues shoot down the Bombers to move into 2nd

Who played well for the Blues in Round 13 vs the Bombers?

Not so sure about Gov. Looked like he was pointing out an injury to his leg with the trainer on the boundary line and then never came back on in the forth quarter.

Can’t be sure but looked like he was pointing to his quad/hammy.

I reckon he was pointing at the outside of his knee

Just, I'd be extremely hesitant to **** with a functioning machine. Our forward line hasn't worked like this for a long, long time, and a part of that is because each player - Owies, Fog, Williams, McKay, Curnow, Cincotta, Lij - each has their definitive role as part of transition and knows each other's strengths. They're all different, and they each are starting to use that difference for advantage.

We have proven our ability through forced change to be able to slot different players into our system.

I'd be picking the best available talent and backing them in to work it out.

Now is the time to expierment. Cincotta & Williams are already two success stores.

2 months to work out the bext mix before we strut onto the G and have a crack at #17.

Expected scoring is a load of shit
Not a total load of shit but should better rely upon better quality of information.

We could have had double our inside 50 count if we weren't so patient with the ball, and willing to lose all our defensive shape for a rebound 50.

Our low inside 50 counts are by design. We will go inside 50 only if we are reliably set up to defend their rebound 50.

Cincotta tagging has the added benefit of him not feeling out of place as a defender. Often they move forward to break a tag, he is adding goal kicking to his list, which makes him dangerous as a forward as well.

The way we are using Cinc & E Hollands is VERY interesting.

E Hollands attends center clearance then runs forward. Cinc comes in from the back line to commence the hard tag.

E Hollands runs forward on his own and kicks snags. Oppositions clearly struggling with the transition.

My only question is who is picking up Cinc's man down back...?

It’s a tough one.

Less eyes might become frustrating with holds, pushes, high contact not seen from the wrong side of a contest.

It just seems to me like they’ve “corrected” holding the ball, but stopped paying incorrect disposal.

How many times do we see players being tackled handing the ball to ground - play on no opportunity!

It’s daft.

Tackled holding the ball requires prior yes, but they have to dispose of the ball legally also - seem not to be paying these.

They’ve rarely paid them, they changed the interpretation on the wrong part of the rule.

It was a good win, but call me a pessimist if you like, but it concerns me that they had complete dominance in the 3rd quarter and we couldn't get the ball out of their forward line. Have to work out some issues transitioning out of our defence. Things could have been different it they had of kicked straighter.

Let's take a moment to reflect on the amazing problem we're about to have. Genuine selection headaches. B L I S S.

Anyway... Fog is not getting dropped for anyone. Ditto Williams. Fog is a pressure beast. Williams too, plus he kicks goals.

Jack Martin walks into this side when fit. Durdin the first to be dropped. Not exactly like for like - but I think Martin and Williams could play deeper if required and probably do that role better than Durdin.

Owies, Durdin & Motlop are battling for the last spot up forward. Pick whoever is in form... or given that Owies hasn't re-signed for 2025 (I think..?) pick one of the others who are younger with an eye to the future. Owies stays for now.. but Motlop comes in when he finds form in the 2's.

I would pick Hewett over Kennedy. Kennedy is a bit more versatile but we do not need any of his versatility - no spot for him up forward, and we can't persist with him rucking.

Getting Cottrell back into the team is where things start to get tricky. I'd drop Olle Hollands. Harsh, but I see no-one else.

2024 best 22 changes vs yesterday:

OUT: O Hollands Owies Durdin Carroll
IN: Cerra Cottrell Motlop Martin

The lineup:

B: Kemp, Weitering, Cowan
HB: Saad, McGovern, Newman
C: Cottrell, Cripps, Acres
HF: Martin, Curnow, Fogarty
F: Motlop, McKay, Williams
FOL: TDK, Walsh, Cerra

INT: Boyd, Hewett, Cincotta, E Hollands

SUB: Kennedy

EMG: O Hollands, Owies, Pittonet, Marchbank
Nice problem to have but I think the biggest benefit is the ability to rest a player each week which we haven't been able to do in recent times

Not a total load of shit but should better rely upon better quality of information.

We could have had double our inside 50 count if we weren't so patient with the ball, and willing to lose all our defensive shape for a rebound 50.

Our low inside 50 counts are by design. We will go inside 50 only if we are reliably set up to defend their rebound 50.
Good post.

We generally get scored against on a quick rebound because we tried to move the ball at light speed into our forward 50. Our defence hasn't had time to structure correctly and if the ball get rebounded out at speed our team defence is at sea. Too many times you see one or multiple opposition forwards goal side of their defender and running into an open goal.

Voss has realised this and has adjusted the speed of our ball movement when we try to go forwards. He just needs time to tinker and get a better balance between ball control, speed and scoring looks.

It was a good win, but call me a pessimist if you like, but it concerns me that they had complete dominance in the 3rd quarter and we couldn't get the ball out of their forward line. Have to work out some issues transitioning out of our defence. Things could have been different it they had of kicked straighter.
By going completely man on man 90s footy style
We've found it difficult to get through anytime we've faced it this year. Clearly it's something we need to recognize.
But its a bit of a defeatist game plan

Pittonet has to stay in the VFL. Nothing against him but he can't play forward and DeKoning has become such a point of difference for us. Need him in the midfield as much as possible.

Cerra's first game back has always been poor. It would be tempting to bring him back via the VFL but he's too good for that and that may not work.

I think there is a good chance we see Cerra for Carroll and Motlop could possibly come in as the sub, although I think we are trying to push his fitness so perhaps not.

Cottrell could be back but I don't think he comes straight back either.

Jack Martin is a possibility as well.

A lot has changed since these guys have been out. Cincotta has done very well in Cottrell's role on the half forward flank. Williams has gone forward and done very well so Martin and Motlop have to work around that. DeKoning has gone from mediocre third tall forward to premier ruckman. E Hollands has come in and done very well in the midfield so Cerra has to work around that. Even Marchbank has had a few games in the VFL in a row so could be considered although his form is not that good.

We might not see everyone come back immediately either.

My guess is that Cerra replaces Carroll and Martin or Motlop replaces Durdin as the sub. Martin could replace Owies but he may have to come back via the VFL.

A healthy list with talent in the VFL would be good to see.

Martin just has to come back via the magoos, he doesn’t get a game until he demands one and gets some match miles in the legs.

Good post.

We generally get scored against on a quick rebound because we tried to move the ball at light speed into our forward 50. Our defence hasn't had time to structure correctly and if the ball get rebounded out at speed our team defence is at sea. Too many times you see one or multiple opposition forwards goal side of their defender and running into an open goal.

Voss has realised this and has adjusted the speed of our ball movement when we try to go forwards. He just needs time to tinker and get a better balance between ball control, speed and scoring looks.
100%. My observation is weve taken a hard lesson on what happened in Sydney. Got absolutely torched on turnover. Pleasing to see we are growing from it

Hoping Cerra back will help us win the ball & distribute better to the outside. Walsh needs help.

As I was watching I had to ask myself who is that slick running number 2 for us ??

Realised later it was Cow - he has a bit of speed and moves a lot better compared to when he first started (which is normal)

Previously he looked a little on the lanky side but now he seems to have much better core strength - moving around nicely and with intensity

He silenced Martin in the last Q :whitecheck:

Rate Scott as a coach, made some good tweaks at halftime, but doesn't have the cattle

What I liked more, Voss had a clear plan and players generally executed for most of the game

Can certainly stomach B Scott, a lot more than C Scott.
The latter is a self indulgent flog who loves the sound of his own voice and waffles on way too much with what he thinks is intellectual insight.

Pittonet has to stay in the VFL. Nothing against him but he can't play forward and DeKoning has become such a point of difference for us. Need him in the midfield as much as possible.

Cerra's first game back has always been poor. It would be tempting to bring him back via the VFL but he's too good for that and that may not work.

I think there is a good chance we see Cerra for Carroll and Motlop could possibly come in as the sub, although I think we are trying to push his fitness so perhaps not.

Cottrell could be back but I don't think he comes straight back either.

Jack Martin is a possibility as well.

A lot has changed since these guys have been out. Cincotta has done very well in Cottrell's role on the half forward flank. Williams has gone forward and done very well so Martin and Motlop have to work around that. DeKoning has gone from mediocre third tall forward to premier ruckman. E Hollands has come in and done very well in the midfield so Cerra has to work around that. Even Marchbank has had a few games in the VFL in a row so could be considered although his form is not that good.

We might not see everyone come back immediately either.

My guess is that Cerra replaces Carroll and Martin or Motlop replaces Durdin as the sub. Martin could replace Owies but he may have to come back via the VFL.

A healthy list with talent in the VFL would be good to see.
So agree. Can only see 2 players out now that make our best 22 - Cerra for Carroll a no brainer and Martin for Owies. Motlop competes as a sub with Durdin (for now anyway).

Owies, Mots, Durdin all behind Zac as a forward option now.

Cotts does not walk back in, but great to have him as excellent depth. Handy depth when right are:

Pitto
Cuners
Marchy

Man on man should be the easiest style to pick your way through
It should be but conditions looked pretty slippery last night, plenty of blokes slipping over from both teams.

Skill level from both teams were not great.

Get them on a dry deck in September it will be a different story

As I was watching I had to ask myself who is that slick running number 2 for us ??

Realised later it was Cow - he has a bit of speed and moves a lot better compared to when he first started (which is normal)

Previously he looked a little on the lanky side but now he seems to have much better core strength - moving around nicely and with intensity

He silenced Martin in the last Q :whitecheck:
And still not yet 20 years old 😵

I think it was the around the start of the 4th - TDK came out firing out of the centre square which resulted in a mark/goal.

I think he got us going in the last, followed up by the likes of Elijah, Hewett Kennedy etc

Cripps and Walsh were well held I thought and the new rules sort of took away their usual dominance - specially Cripps.
Not sure I agree with this. See cripps' game from last week! He still got 20 disposals and 14 were contested. Could have had a goal as well but got burnt.

Every team has times of dominance. Hell, we kicked 14 goals in 3 quarters.

Good thing was for us was that our defensive structure really excelled during their dominance and our rushed kick out of the 50 we couldn’t buy a mark to save ourselves. Harry and Charlie struggled to be that outlet. If we nailed 4 or 5 of those marks, I have no doubt we would have stifled their charge and kicked a few goals and put the game well out of reach in the before 3 quarter time

Elijah Hollands: 19 disposals, 7 marks, 3 goals, 4 clearances is a great game in anyone's book.

Freakin Rolls Royce too. I didn't realise he's listed as 189cm... Same as Judd, but the way he kinda moves around hunched over (no bad thing, low centre of gravity) makes him seem a bit smaller maybe.

Autopsy 2024 Rd 13 Blues shoot down the Bombers to move into 2nd