You can't? Really?I personally don’t really rate Motlop but I can’t see why he can’t give the same output as Owies has.
If Motlop ever kicks 30+ goals in a season I'll eat my hat.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
You can't? Really?I personally don’t really rate Motlop but I can’t see why he can’t give the same output as Owies has.
Would have to be some kind of turnaround to even get to 20+, looks a shell of that 2nd year player currently.Motlop kicked 24 goals in 21 games in 2023 (his second year) - I don't think the jump to 30 is that significant.
Only played 7 games this year largely due to the toe and then two hamstrings in a row from memory. Only 20 years old - I still have faith he can become a good player for us. Has the goal sense you need in a small forward - I just want him to develop the defensive side of his game on top of thatWould have to be some kind of turnaround to even get to 20+, looks a shell of that 2nd year player currently.
I will back Motts to kick 30 plus next season. All he needs is an injury free run and a big pre-season.You can't? Really?
If Motlop ever kicks 30+ goals in a season I'll eat my hat.
Hope so mate. Just really struggling to see it.Only played 7 games this year largely due to the toe and then two hamstrings in a row from memory. Only 20 years old - I still have faith he can become a good player for us. Has the goal sense you need in a small forward - I just want him to develop the defensive side of his game on top of that

Yeh you are 100% right with pretty much everything. Needs a big and hopefully uninterrupted pre-seasonHope so mate. Just really struggling to see it.
Goal sense, yeah maybe - but has practically no other traits of AFL standard small forwards. Not quick (in fact I'd say straight up slow), doesn't apply pressure and just seems unable to get to remotely the right crumbing spots (not that he's on his own there). And yep he is an absolute liability defensively, doesn't chase, doesn't tackle. He was responsible for the entry that led to St Kilda's last goal in round 24, positioned himself like you'd swear the teams were kicking the other way then just lets his man wander across to the stoppage unattended for an easy handball receive
Just a lot to rectify there before he's even vaguely AFL standard, let alone 'good'.
Think we need to step back a little on the Motlop criticism. Was an absolute crucial part of our SF win (his first final!) over Melbourne only 12 months ago. Kicked more than 20 goals in his second season - which is a good return.Would have to be some kind of turnaround to even get to 20+, looks a shell of that 2nd year player currently.
The "defensive side" should just be a non-negotiable for him. The vision of him in the last minute of the Saints game is just inexcusable and almost cost us a spot in the 8. In my opinion we should have the standards that if you dish that up you are immediately dropped the next game. We need to start getting ruthless.Only played 7 games this year largely due to the toe and then two hamstrings in a row from memory. Only 20 years old - I still have faith he can become a good player for us. Has the goal sense you need in a small forward - I just want him to develop the defensive side of his game on top of that
I’d like to see that…can’t atm thoughI will back Motts to kick 30 plus next season. All he needs is an injury free run and a big pre-season.
He doesn't get the job done as a small forward, he gets it done as a 3rd marking forward. I'm not saying he's no good but just that with the dynamic of our forwardline going forward I think we're ok in not overinvesting in him as very soon he may be surplus to requirements and it won't be good for him or club that he's stuck.Who cares what his size or shape is - he gets the job done!
He is not the problem - the problem is that Fantasia, Durdin and Mots are all presently sub standard....
Sure, if others overtake him on output, great - but at present he has earnt a spot.
Out of interest, how many crumbing goals did Owies kick this year???He must have done something to Voss that has really pissed him off otherwise it doesn't make any sense at all to off load the highest crumbing goal kicker we have.
Madness ?????????
On CPH2135 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Make a 2nd effort at reading the thread
So to be clear you are talking about the 3rd year player who has had just 1 full preseason at the club, battled injury this year and was talked up on this site as looking brilliant in this preseason before he got injured?Hope so mate. Just really struggling to see it.
Goal sense, yeah maybe - but has practically no other traits of AFL standard small forwards. Not quick (in fact I'd say straight up slow), doesn't apply pressure and just seems unable to get to remotely the right crumbing spots (not that he's on his own there). And yep he is an absolute liability defensively, doesn't chase, doesn't tackle. He was responsible for the entry that led to St Kilda's last goal in round 24, positioned himself like you'd swear the teams were kicking the other way then just lets his man wander across to the stoppage unattended for an easy handball receive
Just a lot to rectify there before he's even vaguely AFL standard, let alone 'good'.
Signing Motlop and durdin bit of an issue
Durdin crook shoulders ..one of our next batch of injury prones
Motlop bit slow but see how he goes next season
Originally, in a way, yes, Fevola trade was in 2009, we got Lachie and a 1st rounder for Fev and our 2nd rounder. Lachie played with us for years then in 2015 we traded him to Geelong for their 1st round pick (pick 12) which we used to draft Curnow. My point originally was that we are quick to find all of the bad trades we've done over the years and there have been plenty, but you cant just list all of the bad trades without also acknowledging it when it works out. in the light of day, ageing Henderson that didnt want to be at the blues anymore for Curnow was fantastic business. Drafting a dual Brownlow medallist (Cripps) for pick 13 after the pies overlooked him twice was stellar stuff. Theres good and bad but it does nothing to list all of the mistakes without also acknowledging it when we get it right.Fairly sure that that pick was donated by Brisbane, and its coach, in the Fevola trade, not Geelong
We've got blokes who do that every week.Boak kicked it directly to an oppo 3-4 times against swannies …cooked
Bang on - and throw Williams (and Kennedy if he hangs around) in there as well.Warning, here comes a rant!!!
I have read for months now people saying Owies is so much better than Durdin and Motlop and he should be retained. Talk on here that Owies must have pissed of Voss so on and so forth.
What I can tell you is that Owies for all the good he has done, isn’t a small forward in the sense of what is normally deemed a small forward. Yes he is small and is a forward, but he doesn’t do small forward things you would expect a small forward would do.
Owies leads at the ball carrier and kicks truly which we all love. But when you have 2 big elite talls that either clunk it or get it to ground, a player like Owies can be made redundant. We also have Kemp, JSOS and Moir that play somewhat similar to Owies in leading to the ball carrier. What we need is crumbing smalls to cash in on the left overs when a tall or medium doesn’t mark it but brings it to ground.
Now I have seen people bagging out Motlop and Durdin and I can hand on heart say parts are warranted. They both didn’t have great years. But what they both do have is footy iq on knowing where the ball drop will be. Have they been better than Owies this year, no chance. Maybe it’s keeping the better (small crumbing forwards to top off the great work our talls are doing) of a bad bunch? Maybe? But they are crumbing forwards which our club is crying out for. Maybe they have time on their side too and cost less that Owies and would have not much trade capital.
Right or wrong, Owies will be gone and we will look to balance the team better in 2025. We need crumbing smalls and Owies isn’t one.
Yeah point taken, its harsh criticism in a way I know.So to be clear you are talking about the 3rd year player who has had just 1 full preseason at the club, battled injury this year and was talked up on this site as looking brilliant in this preseason before he got injured?
The same kid who has kicked 42 goals and 94 tackles in 40 games playing one of the most difficult roles in modern football?
Doubtful that ever happens though, fair sample size now.We really don't need all three and personally I'd struggle to play two at the same time especially with Fog fit.
Largely agree with the rest of you post but just on this point - do they? I would have said both are woeful at getting to the right crumbing spot with any regularity.Now I have seen people bagging out Motlop and Durdin and I can hand on heart say parts are warranted. They both didn’t have great years. But what they both do have is footy iq on knowing where the ball drop will be.