Game Day Pre-season match thread - Bulldogs vs Hawks Thursday night in Tassie.

That's our vice captain right there.
Theres no doubt in my mind that he's the teams barometer and spiritual leader.

Like his dad. He's going to have to be dynamited out of the joint.

Such is his competitiveness.

It must be something in Nonnas pasta.

I think sanders will be ok, but worried me is the fact he had 22 possessions and less than 100m gained..

sorry if this has been mentioned, just logged in!

Theres no doubt in my mind that he's the teams barometer and spiritual leader.

Like his dad. He's going to have to be dynamited out of the joint.

Such is his competitiveness.

It must be something in Nonnas pasta.
How lucky we are that they are ours. So quintessentially bulldogs and we bloody love it.

I think sanders will be ok, but worried me is the fact he had 22 possessions and less than 100m gained..

5 kicks and 17 handballs probably explains why. Just don't think he is going to be a damaging player unless he can even that up a bit.

Plenty of positives to take out of that. I like the way we’re trying to move the footy, Libba leading by example and moving forward at every chance.

I don’t condone violence, but I do have visions of a Hall/Staker moment with someone/Weew***erwatson. He knows no one can do anything about his douchebaggery so takes it to the highest level.

He’s an extractor I reckon mate. Libba-esque.
His hands are very good in traffic.
Also pretty cool under pressure and clean. Don’t need him to be a metres gained player. Just give it to the runners.

He’s an extractor I reckon mate. Libba-esque.
His hands are very good in traffic.
Also pretty cool under pressure and clean. Don’t need him to be a metres gained player. Just give it to the runners.

Yep, I doubt he’ll be superstar but I think he can be a really important midfielder for us. Every team needs one

No point dragging him to Tassie and he probably watched it on his phone like a bunch of other people did.

Did you want him chained to a desk at Whitten Oval watching it on a monitor for the social team to get a photo op to post up?
He’s said he doesn’t watch footy.

When you look at what we offered tonight, then add Bont, Adz, Red, Marra, LJizz, Rhylee, Flea, Bailey Dale, JJ (most not too far away), I reckon we've got cause to be pretty damn optimistic.
The forward mix tonight put enormous pressure on the Hawks coming out of defence. Caused turnovers which with kicking some.simple shots we missed would have given us a larger win.

Of the players you mentioned only Rhylee and the Flea.bring that pressure.

Marra is a long way from playing seniors.

On SM-S926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

My general thoughts on some of the players today:
  • Libba, Lobb and Darcy all excellent as expected
  • Davidson was excellent in the first half. I wasn’t impressed by him in the Essendon game but he must be locked in to play Round 1 after today. Loved his contest on the wing 2-on-1 with a minute to go, used his body perfectly and setup the sealing goal
  • Freijah’s continued to just be in the right places at the right time and make decisions without panic. Looks even better than last season
  • Duryea wasn’t a stand-out but showed to me he’s still got it for this year. I was 50/50 on whether he should’ve retired but he was still at least usual reliable level today
  • Naughton was excellent after quarter time, thought we were intercepted too easily in the first quarter but he made a big difference after that
  • Garcia and Poulter disappointed, I was hoping to see some progression given how long they’ve now been in the system
  • O’Donnell was fine, I think we’ll be ok with him and Lobb until Jones is back
  • McNeil, Vandermeer, Jones and Dolan all did nice things at different points. Thought Vandermeer was actually going well until his injury but Arthur had a nice second half

Liked the game from all the new recruits.
Arty jones did some good things.
Midfield rotation was interesting.
Garcia needs more midfield minutes. Had no idea what his role was.
Poulter as a third forward is a no from me.
Reckon we had a jamarra sized missing piece in the forward line to support Darcy when Naughton was up the ground.

When you look at what we offered tonight, then add Bont, Adz, Red, Marra, LJizz, Rhylee, Flea, Bailey Dale, JJ (most not too far away), I reckon we've got cause to be pretty damn optimistic.

Sometimes a chunk of injuries at a time can be a blessing in disguise and it's probably a good thing to hold our horses a little bit because most of the time it isn't.

It's still nice to get a little bit excited about playing well against the second flag favourite 2 weeks out from the season!

Game Day Pre-season match thread - Bulldogs vs Hawks Thursday night in Tassie.