Autopsy Round 3, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Fremantle

McQualter was one of the major reasons we brought Baker and Graham over. I have this ominous feeling that Graham will persisted with in the midfield in a similar manner to Simmo and his credits crew.

Hall must return at all costs. Gross must debut. No longer should Graham be playing on ball. Kelly also needs to gtfo.

If McQualter wants to keep the supporters on side we need to see he is willing to make necessary changes.
There's a place for Graham on the ball, but he should be rotating.

Trouble is we have way too many free loaders up forward especially who can't play through the midfield (Cripps legs have gone so can't do the whole ground coverage he used to, Owies/Brockman/Long couldn't find the ball in the midfield if it was served up on a golden platter), so can't rotate Graham, Kelly etc., through the midfield and other locations.

Wasn't a great game .

WC fought out the game well and the effort was good , Archer Reid looks good .

Negatives in our disposal, turnovers make the game plan hard to see and execute.
Hopefully we progress with improvement which I think WC can as the season progresses.
Oscar Allen is a long way of the pace .

Waterman played in a worse team last year and made AA as a forward, Allen can't get a touch.

I know he's missed some football, but we should be shelving talks of a new contract till he shows something/anything, and if not, let him walk.
Hopefully the fact he’s co captain means he’s less likely to feel guilty about wanting to leave. As opposed to being full captain

Used to love Allen but we need to capitalise on FA compo. It sucks being so terrible but not capitalising on the equalisation offerings

Mate you are not getting what im saying at all.
Our mids suck, yes we all know that. We have 2 young mids that we are managing through full games as it is, and you want to add 2 more? we can only bring in so many kids at once without going into games expecting 100+ point losses every week.
Im keen to bring in Hall or Gross, Hall should never have been dropped, but not by just throwing out all the senior players that can at least run out games and provide a base level of performance(which I know isnt great)

Do you think Dewar, A.Reid, etc would have shown as much if we couldnt do anything in the midfield for the last 5 mins of every quarter and the entire last quarter?
Our mids suck, yes we all know that. So why continiously play the same group of people who suck over and over again when they are old and leading us nowhere?

The idea of us playing the older guys in the midfield so we dont get smashed in the midfield doesnt make much sense when we are getting absolutely smashed in the midfield like no other.... It goes back to what someone said before. We are playing these older blokes cos they got credits in the bank only and ignoring the fact that they are not actually making things better in any way. Are any of them blocking for Reid/Hewett or helping them along? Nope. Most are just playing selfish lazy football and getting in the way

I have zero doubt in my mind that Clay Hall helps Reid and Hewetts game more then Tim Kelly is right now. I have zero doubt that we desperately need a tagger in that midfield and a guy like Bo Allan will learn alot from it. He has the discipline and defensive sklls to do it. Im certain that if Baker goes onto a wing, he contributes more then Jayden Hunt and Tom Gross can go into the middle and have a go.

If we are worried about the legs its very simple here. Play a heavy midfield rotation. Play flankers who can go into the middile for a bit. That means dropping Long and Brockman and putting Kelly/Graham on those flanks to help that rotation as opposed to starting in the middle and getting in the way

All up you are wanting to keep the status quo on some weird belief that they are making things better without any proof saying that they are. Put Gross/Allan/Hall in next week and lets see what happens. A fair chance IMHO that these older blokes are not making things better and what happens is 3 guys under 21 outperform them. Outperform them cos they are faster and hungrier

Baker leading our B&F would say a lot.

You gotta give him credit though he busts his ass. Reckon he'll be valuable long term to the youngsters mainly about attitude.

Yes he is scrappy with ball in hand but he's getting it which is more than a lot of others.

What pick did we give tiggers?

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Liam Baker was never intended to come in and play as an inside midfielder for us.

Didn’t spend anytime there in the pre-season. I think it shows that we might have been overly optimistic about what Kelly, Graham and Harley could produce, and how big an out Yeo is .

Any team whose best midfielder is Liam baker is in a world of pain.

If he was allowed to be a half back flank, he’d be fine. That plus he has leadership in spades.

Allen and Kelly are toxic, Cole is a decent role player but is really just a list clogger, as is Owies, and Harley has let himself down with his conditioning.

Need to get 5 top 10 picks in the door this year and really lean into rebuild for the next 3 drafts.

We will finish bottom two when Tassie comes in, and their first pick is pick 3, so at least we don’t need to worry about that.

Liam Baker was never intended to come in and play as an inside midfielder for us.

Didn’t spend anytime there in the pre-season. I think it shows that we might have been overly optimistic about what Kelly, Graham and Harley could produce, and how big an out Yeo is .

If he was allowed to be a half back flank, he’d be fine. That plus he has leadership in spades.

Allen and Kelly are toxic, Cole is a decent role player but is really just a list clogger, as is Owies, and Harley has let himself down with his conditioning.

Need to get 5 top 10 picks in the door this year and really lean into rebuild for the next 3 drafts.

We will finish bottom two when Tassie comes in, and their first pick is pick 3, so at least we don’t need to worry about that.
Fair comment. I think this season is a transition year and our trading is aimed at supporting the transition. We should be better in the second half and young players find the ability to step in and the game plan becomes ingrained. But the next draft-trading period is very important. The coming pre season is also key to players becoming fitter to match the game plan. I suspect, without an insight, that our assistant coaches need a refresh as well.

Players like Archer should keep improving and will be part of our future success.

People gotta lay off Tom Cole. Goes back in the pack, puts his body on the line all the time. In no way comparable to Allen or Kelly whose shirts are cleaner after the game then they were before.

Nope. Don’t care. Cole is a clogger. He’s not part of our next finals team, and while he isn’t playing bad football he is keeping younger players we want to develop out of the team.

The very definition of a list clogger.

Nope. Don’t care. Cole is a clogger. He’s not part of our next finals team, and while he isn’t playing bad football he is keeping younger players we want to develop out of the team.

Dont really see him keeping anyone out unless you are desperate for our pick 12 to be a career back pocket or something? We are very light on at back pocket.

Folks are saying "trying hard" is the bare minimum and we should expect it, have any of you watched the last few years? We've had many games where players were clearly not trying. I don't reckon we got that yesterday.

Bakers been good, missed a couple targets yesterday but was far from on his own. Too many are hung up on that trade

Graham went at 71% DE and had 7 tackles. I'd rather see him play HFF with small stints in the middle, but these 2 are so far from the issue

Maybe look at our current captains and you'll be getting closer
Baker and Graham aren’t the issue but they aren’t the solution either. Graham is taking midfield minutes off young guys and we gave up a lot to get baker.

McQualter was one of the major reasons we brought Baker and Graham over. I have this ominous feeling that Graham will persisted with in the midfield in a similar manner to Simmo and his credits crew.

Hall must return at all costs. Gross must debut. No longer should Graham be playing on ball. Kelly also needs to gtfo.

If McQualter wants to keep the supporters on side we need to see he is willing to make necessary changes.
McQualter brought Graham and Baker over for their workrate, leadership and knowledge of the game plan - to help him instil the game plan. So they are probably non negotiables at this early stage. It's nothing like Simmo and credits. It's for a specific reason to assist him and his plan going forward, not because they're old mates and some loyalty thing.

Not very difficult to understand. It's completely aside from Hall or anyone else. Hall and co. will enter the side in due course. Mcqualter will make changes in due course, not to suit you or the fans but to suit his game plan, strategy, structures and balance going forward. Whether he gets it right is another thing. Whether these young players in line to play AFL, particularly midfield, can step up and be consistent is also another thing.

When they do the review today Oscar should be given the biggest rocket from the coaching staff

One possie in three quarters of quarter is just unforgivable for a captain of this club

He should be given the ultimatum you either sign for us and commit to our rebuild and stand up and be a leader ...or f**k off . This holding out signing because he is looking for more cash is pathetic

You can't have a captain who is more interested in himself over the priority's of the club. The club always comes first

Re:Oscar

When you make a key forward captain (in this case co-cap) you would want to have a very reliable lead by example gun for the boys to get inspiration from on field.

Or at the very least a vocal, encouraging, passionate, clapping while looking angry - ‘come on boys’ type that puts guys on their shoulders with intensity & energy.

What type is Allen?

I don't think being older in a rebuild side is the literal definition of a list clogger

Being older, not holding down a key post such as inside mid or KPP, and not being a strong leader is the very definition of a lost clogger.

When you bring young players into your team, where do you start them? Playing either back or forward, but we can’t because we have older blokes like cole who are just good enough to hold their spot.

Add hunt and and Owies to this list as well.

Re:Oscar

When you make a key forward captain (in this case co-cap) you would want to have a very reliable lead by example gun for the boys to get inspiration from on field.

Or at the very least a vocal, encouraging, passionate, clapping while looking angry - ‘come on boys’ type that puts guys on their shoulders with intensity & energy.

What type is Allen?
Injured knees playing for his career looking to get to Brisbane type

Cole is the last of our worries and he's not keeping anyone out of the team. We already have young defenders with Ginbey and Hough as locks in there plus Maric.

I'd rather Allan start playing WAFL as a mid so he can transition straight in as that's where we need improvement. Kelly has reached the end of the line, Sheed is dead, Yeo has legs made of jenga blocks and Graham looks like a 70 series Landcruiser trying to compete in F1.

Being older, not holding down a key post such as inside mid or KPP, and not being a strong leader is the very definition of a lost clogger.

When you bring young players into your team, where do you start them? Playing either back or forward, but we can’t because we have older blokes like cole who are just good enough to hold their spot.

Add hunt and and Owies to this list as well.
He is a good leader in defense. A great foil for Hough and Ginbey..

Its others who cant and wont lead/

Duggan is a big question mark.

Baker has replaced him in the backline as the resident "tries really hard but not highly skilled" operator. And you can't afford to have many of those.

He doesn't win clearances. I don't think he's a defensive mid, and we have Graham and Baker for that role anyway.

He's decent at finding the ball on the outside but his skills are sub-par. Dewar has locked down one of the wings.

He's now just a bit of a utility who shouldn't be among the starting mids or defenders.