Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Ah, his manager and media mates improving his paycheck!Click bait story's to fill the news.todd Viney has already said the club is not pursuing Maynard.unless he is not offered another contract by the pies..
This is a million miles from the original story. Case study for why we shouldn’t jump at anything that’s reported and can always just wait for something - probably completely different - to happen.![]()
Inviting drama: Should an AFL captain be meeting a rival coach?
These players are yet to sign on the dotted line, and they’ll be at the centre of trade talk in 2025. And with a club captain among their number, the chase is on.www.theage.com.au
Brayden Maynard (Collingwood): North have not made an official offer but are interested in his type, realising they need to add grunt to their team as well as bounce off half-back. Most competition sources still believe he will remain a Magpie, but the Kangaroos are more likely to value him in the $800,000 per year range. Their interest has shown other clubs there’s a chance he may be enticed away from Collingwood, planting the seed that he might move.
And just personally, I'd take any story that "broke" yesterday with a grain of salt.This is a million miles from the original story. Case study for why we shouldn’t jump at anything that’s reported and can always just wait for something - probably completely different - to happen.
Case study for Jay Clark’s propensity to peddle bollocks I’d say.This is a million miles from the original story. Case study for why we shouldn’t jump at anything that’s reported and can always just wait for something - probably completely different - to happen.
The need to be first far, far outweighs the need to be right.Case study for Jay Clark’s propensity to peddle bollocks I’d say.
He’s among the worst though.The need to be first far, far outweighs the need to be right.
It's not just Clark, it is cesspit that is the entire football media.
Says it all really..interested, sources, believe, likely, interest, chance, may be enticed away, planting the seed, might move.
Gosh, that sounds like the pitch is... Accept whatever we offer, even if it's below your free market value and, nudge, nudge, wink, wink, "friends" of the club will make it up to you when your playing career is over.
I thought only Geelong and Carlton could get away with this scam. Obviously I'm wrong.
Start winning games > Play Finals > Win Premierships, is the only way we'll shift the needle.It is an MO of all big clubs. Player agents absolutely utilise to ensure that their most marketable and successful talent lands at big clubs because playing salary will only ever be a single income stream. Where as what big clubs offer is the ability to derive income through multiple sources outside of that which does not disadvantage the big club through their salary cap. This also allows their player a premium that is likely to be more enduring than their playing salary.
IMO it is a factor in why player agents almost shepherd talent away from us. Houston for example, he was a target, he potentially would have come to us, it was and always will be more lucrative to play for a Collingwood than it will an us. They have also been playing better footy.
The world is against us and the only real counters we have are:
over pay
take fringe players
make a point of BFNAAK
start winning games of football and make that more attractive than the financial return.
The last one is the best one. However it is just another hole we have to dig ourselves out of to only being slightly disadvantaged rather than completely lagging behind in.
Hawthorn are the best model to study.It is an MO of all big clubs. Player agents absolutely utilise to ensure that their most marketable and successful talent lands at big clubs because playing salary will only ever be a single income stream. Where as what big clubs offer is the ability to derive income through multiple sources outside of that which does not disadvantage the big club through their salary cap. This also allows their player a premium that is likely to be more enduring than their playing salary.
IMO it is a factor in why player agents almost shepherd talent away from us. Houston for example, he was a target, he potentially would have come to us, it was and always will be more lucrative to play for a Collingwood than it will an us. They have also been playing better footy.
The world is against us and the only real counters we have are:
over pay
take fringe players
make a point of BFNAAK
start winning games of football and make that more attractive than the financial return.
The last one is the best one. However it is just another hole we have to dig ourselves out of to only being slightly disadvantaged rather than completely lagging behind in.
I reckon we should leverage the smaller club angle for the more extroverted types.Hawthorn are the best model to study.
They're not a small club but nor do they command the market forces of a Collingwood or Carlton.
In our case, I'm sure we do already this but we should reflect on a player like Corr chose us and play to these unique strengths-
Smaller club means you can make big money but go about your days normally
Community and social values
A consistently passionate and supportive fan base - contrast to Carlton et al
Push our smaller club feel as a virtue not an impediment
Reckon the stability that comes with having a chair, CEO, coach and GM of footy in alignment isn't to be understated when you look around at the alternatives either.Hawthorn are the best model to study.
They're not a small club but nor do they command the market forces of a Collingwood or Carlton.
In our case, I'm sure we do already this but we should reflect on a player like Corr chose us and play to these unique strengths-
Smaller club means you can make big money but go about your days normally
Community and social values
A consistently passionate and supportive fan base - contrast to Carlton et al
Push our smaller club feel as a virtue not an impediment
You're not mates with Brad Scott by any chance? He used exactly those lines to con Essendon into extending his contractReckon the stability that comes with having a chair, CEO, coach and GM of footy in alignment isn't to be understated when you look around at the alternatives either.
The likes of Carlton or Essendon can't make meaningful promises about what their future looks like when history shows they're rather busy knifing the religious zealots and/or corrupt businessmen they appoint as execs.
Yeah I manage his real estate portfolio. What of it?You're not mates with Brad Scott by any chance? He used exactly those lines to con Essendon into extending his contract
You need to start skimmin g something off the top... and sending me a cut.Yeah I manage his real estate portfolio. What of it?
You should ask for your job back, mate.This sort of hypothetical trade doesn't deserve a thread of it's own, merge it with the 2025 Trade & List Management Thread.
Nice blue boots.Our boy playing well.