Autopsy Round 4, 2025 - Saints upset Port in Adelaide!

Bit harsh IMO, hes clearly put some size on in his time at the club, hes working into it and just his playing style is never gonna be combative and super physical.

He does need a bit more but i dont think hes lacking in physical progression, hes not even 21 and we knew he was raw when we drafted him.

I love the kid but like others at the club he is not giving himself the best chance to suceed. Its not about being conbative it about having the strength or body to hold your ground in marking or ruck contests. Everyone that defends our players in these discussions have obviously never been in a gym in a strength capacity. It doesnt take much for a young kid to put on serious muscle in one preseason if they are prepared to do the work.

Have a look at Keeler's physical development alongside a kid like Caminiti and thats simply doing the work in the gym. Dodson increased his size noticeably over the preseason. Max King compared to his identical twin Ben is another who lacks the body strength. Hunter Clark has been allowed to roll along without any serious physical development and IMO it has cost him injury and career wise.

Given the hours the kids do at the club, obviously they are expected to do work outside the club. Its human nature that some kids apply themselves and others dont. At the end of the the day I just want the best for every player at our club and if they are letting themselves down by not developing as well as others it should be called out.

I noticed Hammer gets caught out with his reaction time for his opponent on the lead. It's his 3rd game as a KPD and we are getting him to learn on the job. That said, incredible intercept marking and reading the play once the ball is in the air. Super exciting prospect and easy to forget his age and inexperience.
He hasn't even had a full preseason with the defensive group yet. He has a lot to work on but he's also doing a lot right. We'd be crazy not to persist with him down there

Just rewatched the last quarter in-between my meetings this morning.

I was way too invested emotionally yesterday to appreciate how good we were in the last 8 minutes when we had to effectively win the game again.

I also missed Roo bury caminiti when has no touch and his man kicks another goal to bring it back to a 5 point game.

How good the body work of collard is to create the space for that mark. Turns his body to shield himself.

How's Higgins work rate by the way? His pressure around the ball and up the ground has been fantastic this year. He's always been good for a goal but it's his work without the ball that is taking him to another level so far.
He would be getting sized up for a blazer if the season ended today.

How's Higgins work rate by the way? His pressure around the ball and up the ground has been fantastic this year. He's always been good for a goal but it's his work without the ball that is taking him to another level so far.

Jack is a gun. Absolute A grader.

As the rest of the team continues to improve it will become more apparent just how good Jack is.

Where's the round 5 preview thread? I'm as emotionally checked in (**** that other thread off) as I've been in about 5 years, I'm rip roaring Chad Warner style and ready for this Norwood oval GWS game.

FYI, Norwood oval dimensions very similar to Marvel ((https://www.afl.com.au/venues/46) (https://www.afl.com.au/venues/3), slightly narrower again. Our wins this year have been built on pressure and at a smaller ground with nowhere to run, nowhere to hide I reckon it will be a very close game. GWS would love to play this on the MCG to get their "tsunami" rebound on the open paddocks going with Jones, Callaghan, Kelly, Ash etc. all spreading out and pushing forward. Need Steele back to support I reckon against Greene and Callaghan in the middle. Will be a tough game for the backline, but we're also 3rd for scoring this year I think behind Crom and Suns. Genuine toin coss.

Always Sunny GIF

It's up now, but don't be afraid to start your own if you get in first! Unfortunately we can no longer schedule posts to go live at certain times, so it's just a matter of when we can make time to get it done.

You kinda made my point.
If that’s the bar Keeler is setting and I posted that he needs to go back and work on his craft.

Heath isn’t even at THAT level.

That’s why Keeler is playing. That’s why he has jumped Heath.

Harsh but the undeniable fact is that the bar set by Keeler ATM is below AFL standard. Simple as that - he may become a very good player but given his role ATM he is virtually a passenger.

Keeler has had his look and hopefully he will improve because of it but dragging him halfway through games because he's simply can't get a touch isn't good for his development.

Clearly King is first preference, but if he isn't ready then its time to look at another option.

Personally I'd play Boyd forward since Marshall is now match fit but in the spirit of player development I'd be happy if they played Heath in that role.

May lumber around like a giraffe but if he gets the ball and halves contest the bar will have risen.

I love the kid but like others at the club he is not giving himself the best chance to suceed. Its not about being conbative it about having the strength or body to hold your ground in marking or ruck contests. Everyone that defends our players in these discussions have obviously never been in a gym in a strength capacity. It doesnt take much for a young kid to put on serious muscle in one preseason if they are prepared to do the work.

Have a look at Keeler's physical development alongside a kid like Caminiti and thats simply doing the work in the gym. Dodson increased his size noticeably over the preseason. Max King compared to his identical twin Ben is another who lacks the body strength. Hunter Clark has been allowed to roll along without any serious physical development and IMO it has cost him injury and career wise.

Given the hours the kids do at the club, obviously they are expected to do work outside the club. Its human nature that some kids apply themselves and others dont. At the end of the the day I just want the best for every player at our club and if they are letting themselves down by not developing as well as others it should be called out.
There is a balance though. Putting on too much weight may have consequences in losing your mobility/agility, Given the amount of running you have to do especially for a ruckman these days

Where's the round 5 preview thread? I'm as emotionally checked in (**** that other thread off) as I've been in about 5 years, I'm rip roaring Chad Warner style and ready for this Norwood oval GWS game.

FYI, Norwood oval dimensions very similar to Marvel ((https://www.afl.com.au/venues/46) (https://www.afl.com.au/venues/3), slightly narrower again. Our wins this year have been built on pressure and at a smaller ground with nowhere to run, nowhere to hide I reckon it will be a very close game. GWS would love to play this on the MCG to get their "tsunami" rebound on the open paddocks going with Jones, Callaghan, Kelly, Ash etc. all spreading out and pushing forward. Need Steele back to support I reckon against Greene and Callaghan in the middle. Will be a tough game for the backline, but we're also 3rd for scoring this year I think behind Crom and Suns. Genuine toin coss.

Always Sunny GIF
Stocker on Greene will be worth the price of a ticket just there.

Sorry to interrupt, but Port supporters are secretly grateful to St Kilda for humiliating that con artist Ken.

And King is also saying that Ken's clowns are such flat-track bullies that anyone who forces them to capitulate are genuine finals contenders.

David King: "Winning on the road is hard to do."

Kane Cornes: "You've smashed Port and told me how bad they are for six weeks."

King: "But Port are the biggest flat-track bullies you have ever seen, right? They beat bottom-eight teams, bottom-ten teams. And they didn't beat this one. You got to recognise it. I think Ross has done a terrific job."

Cornes: "I have said all of that! I have said all of that!"

King: "But you haven't. You said they were bottom four, mate."
Nobody here cares about your coach or your club. We have a real coach and an upward football team, not some tawdry drama about sacking a coach and everything will suddenly change. Go away.

Harsh but the undeniable fact is that the bar set by Keeler ATM is below AFL standard. Simple as that - he may become a very good player but given his role ATM he is virtually a passenger.

Keeler has had his look and hopefully he will improve because of it but dragging him halfway through games because he's simply can't get a touch isn't good for his development.

Clearly King is first preference, but if he isn't ready then its time to look at another option.

Personally I'd play Boyd forward since Marshall is now match fit but in the spirit of player development I'd be happy if they played Heath in that role.

May lumber around like a giraffe but if he gets the ball and halves contest the bar will have risen.
I’m not bringing in boyd to just create a contest.

I’d rather persist with Keeler for the role if that’s the case.

Because when he does touch the thing there are traits that belong at the level. He moves well. He just can’t go physically.

As opposed to Boyd who is a 1 man wrecking ball and all power no finesse.

Ultimately. I just want a fit and firing Max back in.

I think the Saints need to move past him. Other younger players more deserving of a spot.

Interestingly, Cordy has actually looked serviceable as a forward.
I agree but he may be the best option atm.

There is a balance though. Putting on too much weight may have consequences in losing your mobility/agility, Given the amount of running you have to do especially for a ruckman these days

Agree but some players seem to over look the physical strength side of the equation. I bet Marshall wished he was bigger and stronger after getting monstered by Sweet yesterday and Nankervis the week prior. It wasnt that long ago Jordan Sweet was physically beaten by Marshall, but he has done the work and now is a much better player.

Sweet has put on obvious strength but he didnt have any problem running the game out against Marshall. Tilthorpe is another who had a huge off season and can now physically bully his opponents ala Gehrig when he was playing.

Always Sunny GIF
G
GWS will be a big ask.

Norwood a postage stamp so reckon Boyd will come in for Keeler on his old home ground and at least provide a big body (unfortunately Keeler just couldn’t provide any real contest yesterday).

Marshall wasn’t particularly influential yesterday so for this game it might make sense for him to have a ruck buddy and rest forward. RTB noted yesterday we are undersized so I can’t see us going any smaller.

One thing thats great about Hammer is you can see how dirty he is on himself when he gets beaten.

He's a compeditor, all good defenders have that.

He's just lacking in craft at the moment but the talent is there.
Was beaten yesterday by an experienced and skilled forward - no shame in that when you have played as a key back for 4(?) games.

One thing I do like is he seems to pretty much always take the first option by hand to a more experienced teammate to get out of trouble - low risk.

Also want to add Travaglia to the young blokes. Could not be happier with his first two games, he is a tough nut and can tackle well but also reckon he has a touch of class and absolutely looks like a midfielder. Imagine how good he could be after a couple of pre-seasons! Early days but he was a pick that many didn't like and right now he is proving a LOT wrong.
Where is that flog who was potting Travaglia and crying about not getting Murphy Reid? Reid is an excellent midfielder and I would have been happy to draft him, however to complain about Travaglia before he had pulled on a jumper shitted me to tears.
We had a midfield of Macrae, Marshall, Windy, Garcia and Jones, with Trav and Stocker spending some time in there. We have a bunch of mids unavailable who can play at least as well as Jones, Steele, Pou, Carroll, Dow, Clark and kids in Boxshall.
Travaglia and in time Tauru will be seen as excellent picks. Shows trolling because a bloke kicked 4 in a purple patch doesn't mean our club has stuffed up.

Autopsy Round 4, 2025 - Saints upset Port in Adelaide!