List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Gresham only managed 5 handballs to 3Q time against the bottom team? That’s a stinker!

Best decision to move on players like Billings, Dunstan and Gresham. Those players were never going to make the Saints a top four team.
They were complete duds of the highest order. Dunstan had a good final year, Gresham and Billings coasted by on reputation from old games.

By god I'm so glad to have both of those potatoes out of this team. It's good for my mental health to have them elsewhere. Billings proved he was a poor footballer, and Gresham still has time to turn his reputation around, but he won't.

They were complete duds of the highest order. Dunstan had a good final year, Gresham and Billings coasted by on reputation from old games.

By god I'm so glad to have both of those potatoes out of this team. It's good for my mental health to have them elsewhere. Billings proved he was a poor footballer, and Gresham still has time to turn his reputation around, but he won't.
I don’t necessarily buy the poor development argument either. Those guys would have had the same careers they would have had no matter which club they played for. The fact they are producing a similar output at new clubs proves the point. In my opinion of course.

Additionally, north fans have pretty much given up hope. They seriously reckon they will be folding in the next couple years or going Tassie. Pretty depressing to see
It's what happens when you cheat your way to a rebuild. Deliberately blew up their list, then got Laura Kane to approve the concessions that were knocked by Scott that she put together when at North.
They are soulless lazy parasites, hope they fold.

It's what happens when you cheat your way to a rebuild. Deliberately blew up their list, then got Laura Kane to approve the concessions that were knocked by Scott that she put together when at North.
They are soulless lazy parasites, hope they fold.
Yeh no def agree with ya. Better them than us

Additionally, north fans have pretty much given up hope. They seriously reckon they will be folding in the next couple years or going Tassie. Pretty depressing to see

Yeah I feel for them tbh. Nothing the fans did wrong, I have a good mate who's a North supporter and yes I'm jealous that he got to see a couple of flags but ultimately they're in a leaky boat very similar to us.

One of the most distasteful things about capitalism is the way it pits the have-nots against each other. We should be banding together against the big clubs rather than fighting amongst ourselves.

For all the freebies the afl have given nsw and QLD do you reckon it’s actually worked? Yes it has improved the teams but do people in QLD and nsw actually give more of a **** about afl? I’m in QLD and I’m not seeing it. Aussie rules is still allocated the small tv with shit reception in a crap corner of the bar. Yes the media try and push it and pretend they like it same as everyone does with aflw and netball.
It’s more of an awareness than a following of the game.
They’re happy to keep ****ing and backgrounding the smaller grassroots clubs like us nm dees and dogs just to pretend they have this almighty following in the north which is a total misconception.
They should look after what they’ve already got.
I watch **** all neutral games and I certainly don’t get all excited and crack the craft beers out when Collingwood play a shit Essington side on Anzac Day.
They are such a shitful and corrupt organisation I wouldn’t piss on them of they were on fire. But I love my Saints.

For all the freebies the afl have given nsw and QLD do you reckon it’s actually worked? Yes it has improved the teams but do people in QLD and nsw actually give more of a **** about afl? I’m in QLD and I’m not seeing it.
They'll argue that it's the Auskick kids that are what they're going for.

Personally, I'm against growing the game (tm). More money hasn't made the sport better, if anything, it's made it worse.

We don't need to attract the casual fan. We don't need to attract the rugby league convert. There is no competition between rugby and Aussie Rules.

Growing the game is overrated.

They'll argue that it's the Auskick kids that are what they're going for.

Personally, I'm against growing the game (tm). More money hasn't made the sport better, if anything, it's made it worse.

We don't need to attract the casual fan. We don't need to attract the rugby league convert. There is no competition between rugby and Aussie Rules.

Growing the game is overrated.
Hallelujah

For all the freebies the afl have given nsw and QLD do you reckon it’s actually worked? Yes it has improved the teams but do people in QLD and nsw actually give more of a **** about afl? I’m in QLD and I’m not seeing it. Aussie rules is still allocated the small tv with shit reception in a crap corner of the bar. Yes the media try and push it and pretend they like it same as everyone does with aflw and netball.
They’re happy to keep ****ing and backgrounding the smaller grassroots clubs like us nm dees and dogs just to pretend they have this almighty following in the north which is a total misconception.
I watch **** all neutral games and I certainly don’t get all excited and crack the craft beers out when Collingwood play a shit Essington side on Anzac Day.
They are such a shitful and corrupt organisation I wouldn’t piss on them of they were on fire. But I love my Saints.
Growth starts with Juniors and it's improving year on year in QLD. It won't ever get a bigger TV in the bar until waves of interested Juniors start hitting the pubs. 20 year prospect that the AFL need to keep driving but there are green shoots in SEQ.

20 years ago the Brions had just won 3 flags in a row, if that didn't get the kids interested (the kids who are now at the pubs, but still watching the small TV in the corner), then nothing will.

Apparently, not that l know, junior footy is going gangbusters in QLD. The talant coming through the GC academy is some proof the system is working and it was always sold as a generational investment.
If it's actually the case, then yes it's working.

I feel like that's the narrative that the Big 4 promotional departments like Fox Footy and the Herald Sun are running with because we can't have St Kilda being preferred to the mighty Carlton.
I don't think there have been any quotes from TDK or his manager to that effect.

TDK must be looking at their last 20 matches, coming up to a full season now, with only wins against north and the eagles.

And his manager must be looking at a club that hasn't selected a really good coach since David Parkin.

Why would you stay there would surely be as much of a question as why would you join St Kilda. And that's before you factor in the money.
Another part of that narrative is we're being cast in the North Melbourne role - the desperate underdogs with the massive war chest that no player will take. Just look at the snowball around Finn O'Callaghan, umpteen articles all can be traced back to a single, unsubstantiated claim.

That said, landing TDK would probably be our best recruiting snag since Hamill in terms of PR and would put quite the dent in the reputation lazy media are painting us with.

Queensland AFL participation has passed Sth Aust just recently.
Majority of clubs have 2 senior men's and women's teams and junior competitions are booming