Rumour Noah Balta assault charges

That’s bullshit.

Unfortunately this behaviour can lead to deaths and it happens most weekends. Plus it’s alcohol fuelled.
OMG... how many times do we have to hear someone could have died... when they didn't? We're dealing in actualities. The judge didn't even accept that there was a high risk of death.

Maybe unfollow this thread. You're not convincing anyone by repeating the same thing over and over.

The curfew seems like karma for Richmond and Balta not having the good sense to recuse himself from playing pre-sentencing.
Think that’s an odd stance personally since no one knew when the pre sentencing period would be

For arguments sake if he had his sentencing two weeks ago would you have been happy with them playing him straight after and only missing 2 afl games?

Because that could out been the outcome if Richmond just elected to use the sentencing dates as the basis of its club based suspension

6 game suspension and mandatory counselling and anger management re-education course depending on where you work it could be seen as lenient to extreme

Other punishments handed down by via the legal system that was today’s punishment plus a civil payout

Gee whiz if my work place found out I punched someone on the ground 4-5 times in the face I would not be getting a 6 week PAID suspension 😂 😂 😂 😂 what a joke of a punishment

Slap on the wrist, naughty boy Noah !!! Don't smash people in the face until they're hospitalized next time :blush::blush::blush:

Gee whiz if my work place found out I punched someone on the ground 4-5 times in the face I would not be getting a 6 week PAID suspension 😂 😂 😂 😂 what a joke of a punishment

Slap on the wrist, naughty boy Noah !!! Don't smash people in the face until they're hospitalized next time :blush::blush::blush:
Depends on the workplace

If found guilty of a similar charge I would only lose my entitlements of annual leave hours I need to take off to go to court but otherwise my job would be completely un affected and I dare say it would be the same for the majority of people

Unfortunately I don’t think education has helped. I’d wager every weekend there’d be an alcohol fuelled assault occuring. It’s also hard because I know jail can make it worse, as in, you’re not coming out better. I thought it was pretty serious.

Perhaps not jail but home detention? Ankle monitor?

You’d be pretty surprised then the kinds of criminal records rolling around with ankle monitors or kicking back on home detention.

Overall I agree with stricter sentencing, noting I lived in Alice Springs for many years and had been king hit 3 times myself walking in town. Do you support mandatory sentencing?

Depends on the workplace

If found guilty of a similar charge I would only lose my entitlements of annual leave hours I need to take off to go to court but otherwise my job would be completely un affected and I dare say it would be the same for the majority of people

You reckon the majority of workplaces wouldn't remove someone charged with a serious violent crime?

What reality do you live in? Do you think ANY big business or public sector jobs who are so worried about public image would allow it? Maybe some tradie jobs it wouldn't matter.. thats about it.

You reckon the majority of workplaces wouldn't remove someone charged with a serious violent crime?

What reality do you live in? Do you think ANY big business or public sector jobs who are so worried about public image would allow it? Maybe some tradie jobs it wouldn't matter.. thats about it.
Think you will find you are mistaken

The person doesn’t even need to be disclose they have been found guilty unless it directly applies to their position

So basically unless you did a police check before starting the job it wouldn’t matter

The AFL club you support literally has drafted someone after serving time for a violent crime, as has my club

You sound like the tribunal, applying 'potential to cause harm' when it suits you.
You tell other people they have brain fog yet think that applying ‘potential to cause harm’ is a matter of suiting a situation when the very situation did have potential to cause harm.

Unfortunately Balta was caught on camera and we all saw it. Irrespective of his profile this was a very bad day for him.

Think you will find you are mistaken

The person doesn’t even need to be disclose they have been found guilty unless it directly applies to their position

So basically unless you did a police check before starting the job it wouldn’t matter

The AFL club you support literally has drafted someone after serving time for a violent crime, as has my club

Yes but we're talking about the average work place

I know people who have been fired from white collar jobs for possession of weed, you are completely clueless if you think these major woke corporations will be fine with assault. Oh, and in people's contracts u normally have to disclose if you are charged with a serious crime

Now that he's been sentenced and everyone's had plenty of time to vent.....
Any chance they could release the footage of the minutes leading up to the incident? Or has it mysteriously been mislaid?
Yes, I'm a Richmond supporter (que abuse...) but I'm likely in a minority that I don't have any outrage either way.
It shouldn't matter. You can be a lippy dickhead and still expect not to be physically assaulted

Yes but we're talking about the average work place

I know people who have been fired from white collar jobs for possession of weed, you are completely clueless if you think these major woke corporations will be fine with assault. Oh, and in people's contracts u normally have to disclose if you are charged with a serious crime
Possession of weed on the premises? Or just fired because they found out the person had received a fine for weed possession?

It shouldn't matter. You can be a lippy dickhead and still expect not to be physically assaulted
100%

I find it so bizarre that some people think that any prior footage could justify Balta's actions in the CCTV video we all saw

Think that’s an odd stance personally since no one knew when the pre sentencing period would be

For arguments sake if he had his sentencing two weeks ago would you have been happy with them playing him straight after and only missing 2 afl games?

Because that could out been the outcome if Richmond just elected to use the sentencing dates as the basis of its club based suspension

It's all about the vibes, not going to pretend there's a rational basis for it. If the sentencing had come earlier and the public commentary (especially Yze) struck a different tone, then yeah Balta could probably have returned earlier but with less of an "ick" factor. The impression created by the sequence of events as they unfolded to the public eye is that Richmond FC (and the AFL) didn't feel this incident was all that serious and couldn't wait to get Balta back on the park because the poor man has been punished enough, etc. and smugly counting on the fact that he wasn't going to receive a custodial sentence. In that context, the magistrate handing down a "monkey's paw" verdict that (a) keeps him out of jail but (b) does actually complicate his playing schedule for a few months going forward... yeah, it feels like karma.

Punching someone is a premediated act. He is very, very lucky that the victim didn't fall the wrong way otherwise playing football would be the least of his problems. Have a look at the stuff that has happened outside of nightclubs etc.
No excuses and the suspension he was given from Richmond was ridiculous.
David Hookes.
One punch. And this great state lost one of its treasured individuals.

I think main thing frustrates us Richmond supporters but should frustrate the whole general public, is that we are currently experiencing problems in society due to weak judicial systems, where repeat offenders are allowed back into society to intentionally commit crimes at no fear of recourse.

Now Balta has committed crime, 1st time a offence and didn’t intentionally go out that night to commit one however circumstances have put him in a situation that he did the wrong thing.

Now we have media jump on him to want further punishment and then disgraceful premier of the state weigh in wanting further punishment.

Like what a joke the media and this premier should be demanding tougher sentencing of repeat violent offenders but they don’t care they just want get moral high horse and not in touch with reality.

Lastly judge has obviously made this curfew as further punishment probably due media scrutiny and I don’t want to hear that honourable Judge wouldn’t take that into consideration but I don't have any faith in judges in this country.

If your someone think he deserves further punishment fair enough but I hope your the same on all other offences no matter of who you are

Yeah nah. You're just making sh*t up. A more telling factor would be the publicity surrounding any case and/or if the offender is a recidivist (you can look that up).

Regardless, it's attitudes like this that see individuals stereotyped and marginalised. Which could possibly lead to more crime, which I'm guessing you don't want.

I know this is anecdotal but...

Friend of a friend assaulted an Uber driver (after a disagreement). Similar circumstances; (video footage of incident), first offence, not premeditated, family man and gainfully employed.

He is currently serving his sentence in prison in WA.

Maybe we have tougher laws in WA?

Yeah nah. You're just making sh*t up. A more telling factor would be the publicity surrounding any case and/or if the offender is a recidivist (you can look that up).

Regardless, it's attitudes like this that see individuals stereotyped and marginalised. Which could possibly lead to more crime, which I'm guessing you don't want.

We already have PLENTY of violent crime.

Perhaps we need to start locking these people up instead of constantly letting them back onto the streets?

OMG... how many times do we have to hear someone could have died... when they didn't? We're dealing in actualities. The judge didn't even accept that there was a high risk of death.

Maybe unfollow this thread. You're not convincing anyone by repeating the same thing over and over.
As many times as it takes for it to sink in.

Rumour Noah Balta assault charges