Autopsy Bulldogs lose 127-113 to Geelong. Flat

I'm treating this year like 2015 and enjoying the football . I don't expect too much. You've got to live in the present & enjoy the spectacle. It's no fun living in the past or the future. Bev would agree

You can’t see any difference between this year & late last year compared to post 2021?

I can, but we've got to get the results on the board. We need to beat Hawthorn. We need a scalp.

We then need to get on a run as the draw opens up and if we do that we finish Top 4. We play Brisbane up there but no reason why we can't win that.

I can, but we've got to get the results on the board. We need to beat Hawthorn. We need a scalp.

We then need to get on a run as the draw opens up and if we do that we finish Top 4. We play Brisbane up there but no reason why we can't win that.
Completely agree 👍

I don’t begrudge people being able to be positive.

But I can’t, since 2016 the amount of times this team rips your heart out every time you think we are good.

Hawks elimination final last year when we go in as the top rated side in the comp on recent form.

40 points up over Freo in the elimination final before collapsing.

2021 granny which I was lucky enough to be able to go to and we just capitulated.

Add to that the constant big slip ups out of no where. crows last year, eagles and hawks in 2023.

Every time there is hype or positivity around this team they just fall to pieces yet they continue to draw you in to think this time will be different.

Serious question...

How do you folks who've seen this again & again stay so positive?

The poor finishing.

The constant cycle of media hype, lose a big game, miss top 4. Again.

Sitting mid table & dropping out?

We're staying relevant but we've still lost to the Lions, Pies, Suns & Cats.

It's a challenge at times but the rewards can be awesome and when they come, we know they are real and deserved, not assisted wins like other clubs.

It's a bit like the rare occasion when the back marker gets up and wins the Stawell gift, it's so much sweeter than the more common wins for guys who got there, courtesy of generous treatment from the handicapper.

The poor finishing is largely a player anxiety issue rather than a technical problem in my opinion.
Hopefully, our young players will benefit in the long term from the experience of participating in a big game with a lot of media hype and focus.

But I can’t, since 2016 the amount of times this team rips your heart out every time you think we are good.

Hawks elimination final last year when we go in as the top rated side in the comp on recent form.

2021 granny which I was lucky enough to be able to go to and we just capitulated.

Add to that the constant big slip ups out of no where. crows last year, eagles and hawks in 2023.

Every time there is hype or positivity around this team they just fall to pieces yet they continue to draw you in to think this time will be different.
I feel this so deeply, Man. But Hey- Think of those poor St Kilda supporters. Stuck in perennial club no man's land.

Gotta keep the faith that we'll acquire that superior clutch gene. We're so close to being unstoppable.

We’re a very good footy side. Much better than last year. Our depth players have improved and we still have Darcy and Treloar to add in.
Undoubtedly. But we need to turn some of these honourable losses to wins. The hawks game becomes a must now. Can’t drop that and expect to go 9-2 from our remaining games.

Yeah, beating down shit teams by 90-100 points is fun, but how about another competitive loss against an actually good team?

Unfortunately moral wins aren’t actual wins and don’t get you 4 points.

Our record against quality opposition, and in close games generally, is pretty concerning.

We shouldn’t be acting like North supporters talking up spirited efforts against good sides. We should be taking tough games.

At present we appear to be flat track Bullies and not much more. The pressure was on in the first half and we were absolutely rattled.

Next week

IN: Inanimate Carbon Rod

OUT: McNeill
I must sound like grandpa Simpson warning people about the end times with the amount of posts I’ve made saying McNeil isn’t up to it. Because he isn’t.

Not his fault he keeps being picked, but he has no more improvement in him. I genuinely don’t see what other people have seen this season. He’s playing like he always has.

I couldn’t agree with this more.

I can’t comment on administration and other items, but this is not an AFL issue.

We’re better than the cats. But we can’t actually beat them until the club and playing group stand up and stop being weak.

Need to mail these games.

I’m a stretch including last year where we can see things turning the corner, taking a scalp in a close game still seems to be evading us.

Have to add that string to the bow.

Let these arrogant flogs enjoy the win. We did everything right except win the game. I know it's a bit of a consistent theme losing these games but seriously between umpires, us kicking soooo bad, then not being able to miss, the rematch is ours. I just pray we get them on a final. Watching scott complain about the shot that hot the post but saying the mark 1m over the line was the final nail for me. Fk those arrogant flogs

I'm treating this year like 2015 and enjoying the football . I don't expect too much. You've got to live in the present & enjoy the spectacle. It's no fun living in the past or the future. Bev would agree

You're right. I started out this year thinking it was a development year. Too many injuries and a shitshow of a preseason. Our leading goalkicker from last year going MIA. Best small forward missing the whole season with a freak medical issue. Just everything against us. But we've played some really good footy. Just need to temper expectations and not get sucked into the hype just because we have belted some weak teams and gotten close to some of the better ones. We're on track for a bottom half of the 8 finish which is great considering the run we have had with injuries. I'm sure we have plenty of enjoyable footy left to watch this year and who knows what can happen if we qualify for finals. I didn't enjoy what happened tonight but we are playing better than at least 11 other teams so you can't be too disappointed.

Obviously the Hawks is now a must win clash. But does anyone now how many games we can possibly drop and squeeze into the 4th seed?

I love the way this team goes about it. But I'm also not going to deny what our history and form says. We need the double chance with such a young core through the middle.

We have to beat Hawthorn. Otherwise we are just going to head into finals as a Port Adelaide type flat tracker, beating up on the shit sides and being a slight level below the good ones.
Same as every year then? We are no doubt a better team this year than previous years, and are a genuine chance to win it this season. But we need to start winning those games vs teams in the top 6. Getting over falling short all the time.

You're right. I started out this year thinking it was a development year. Too many injuries and a shitshow of a preseason. Our leading goalkicker from last year going MIA. Best small forward missing the whole season with a freak medical issue. Just everything against us. But we've played some really good footy. Just need to temper expectations and not get sucked into the hype just because we have belted some weak teams and gotten close to some of the better ones. We're on track for a bottom half of the 8 finish which is great considering the run we have had with injuries. I'm sure we have plenty of enjoyable footy left to watch this year and who knows what can happen if we qualify for finals. I didn't enjoy what happened tonight but we are playing better than at least 11 other teams so you can't be too disappointed.

Aside from Hawthorn and Brisbane, we should go into every game after the bye as strong favourites.

Every chance we play like we are and we only drop one or maybe two we end up 15-8 or 16-7. That's a top 4 finish.

Our first half was poor. We looked nervous and made way too many turnovers making stupid decisions and choosing a lot of really poor options.

We also kicked poorly for goal and got the unfortunately now predictably typical poor treatment from the umpires.

Yet we only went down by a small margin against a top four contender at their home fortress, with some key players missing from the side.

Plenty to be disappointed about and plenty to work on in terms of self-improvement but also plenty of reason to remain optimistic about the immediate future.

It's a challenge at times but the rewards can be awesome and when they come, we know they are real and deserved, not assisted wins like other clubs.

It's a bit like the rare occasion when the back marker gets up and wins the Stawell gift, it's so much sweeter than the more common wins for guys who got there, courtesy of generous treatment from handicapper.

The poor finishing is largely a player anxiety issue rather than a technical problem in my opinion.
Hopefully, our young players will benefit in the long term from the experience of participating in a big game with a lot of media hype and focus.
OMg yes, yes this.

We have Darcy back in a month, if we play Geelong again, it won’t be in their sand pit, it will be in the big boy league.

We are still in the eight with a lot of easy kills.

Top four here we come !!!

8 years in a row we have been "fixtured" at KP, only twice in that time have Geelong had to come to our place.

Time some of the other Melbourne clubs started to get "fixtured" down there, this is becoming a fairness issue.
Geelong football club gets kissed on the dick because of friends in high places

Nothing will ever change mate.

We have to not only beat them.. But the system too.

We’re a very good footy side. Much better than last year. Our depth players have improved and we still have Darcy and Treloar to add in.

Are we though?

If we were, Cleary and Duryea would not be playing. Harmes on the borderline. Odonnell mist have had 10 goals kicked on him. Naughton tried but is still sadly out of form compared to his former self.

Overall it was textbook bulldyog tactics. Wait for us to get the ball, then have a playing sitting on their back. One bad handball and the ball is whipped out of the stoppage.

And the goals over the back. We let the slowest guy on the field get a cheap out the back. How does that happen ffs!!!

There, that feels better...

Autopsy Bulldogs lose 127-113 to Geelong. Flat