Opinion Non-Crows AFL 12: It's the confectionery with 1000 uses

• Thread starter Thread starter screech

Do you think the Tasmanian AFL team will ever happen?

Nah I like him. Absolute star of the competition and isn't a corporate robot just towing the company line. Has good banter. It's refreshing, nothing he has said is even remotely offensive.

Hate him when he is BOG with 35 touches and a goal against us.

But jeez - he is good for the game. Footy needs all types.

Bloke shows a lack of respect to a mob he walked out on.

You have a strange view on this one.

It's harmless banter, if you'd be offended by that, then you shouldn't venture outdoors, it's a scary place this world. If I can support Milera referring to Swans as a rabble, why would I be up in arms about those comments from Smith. What I notice is that people's positions seem to change a LOT dependent upon what club the person in question represents. You'll find I'm very consistent when it comes to this kind of stuff.

I guess you reckon Milera is a flog then. And Rankine is a sniper. Because I can guarantee, swap guernseys, and the likes of yourself and Moogle would be all over them.

If I’m his coach I wouldn’t necessarily like it, as it’s giving his opposition unnecessary ammunition. Those things can come back to bite you later.

However, we do live in an age where every single thoughtcrime is blown up to be a (fake) news story.

If you want player interviews to be interesting you can’t jump on them every time they, you know, say something interesting.

Robert Redford Nod GIF

It's harmless banter, if you'd be offended by that, then you shouldn't venture outdoors, it's a scary place this world. If I can support Milera referring to Swans as a rabble, why would I be up in arms about those comments from Smith. What I notice is that people's positions seem to change a LOT dependent upon what club the person in question represents. You'll find I'm very consistent when it comes to this kind of stuff.

I guess you reckon Milera is a flog then. And Rankine is a sniper. Because I can guarantee, swap guernseys, and the likes of yourself and Moogle would be all over them.
The Milera situation would be comparable if he was a former Swans player that went turncoat. You would then have grounds to question his motivations for saying that.

I don't think the comments are all that comparable either. Milera was referring to Sydney's players squabbling amongst each other on the field. That's fully within the players direct control. The Bulldogs playing in Ballarat is a commercial decision that relates to the club's finances. That's something their players are just sort of stuck with and don't have any control over. I could see why it might rub them the wrong way.

I love to see Cornes get called out more than anyone, but these umpires are having a laugh. A defence to defamation is if a statement is opinion. Thats literally what their job is, to give opinions. They’re not journalists, they literally have a panel to give there thoughts and opinions.

Slippery slope silencing the media.

Umpires need to focus on being better at their jobs rather than crying hurt feelings whenever someone criticizes them. It’s one of the reasons the game is in the state it is because we can’t have honest discussions and feedback about umpiring performance.
I haven't really followed this, but using opinion as a defense in defamation only works if it's obviously just a viewpoint and not a factual assertion.

And wasn’t what was said based on what the AFL told the world?

This was the highlight for me:

The bye was a circuit-breaker and we are really clear on the issue we need to fix. It is a tough competition so it will be a challenge to go to work and fix those things, but I am really confident in this group and what they are capable of doing.

"This year, so far, we haven't but (across time) we have been a pretty consistent footy club. And we have been pretty reliable. I back in the evidence that we have and trust this group of players - I always do."

Watch him step aside after round 19.

Then we get an invigorated stress free Port Adelaide with nothing to lose in Rd 20.
Port trying to capture the new coach bump in a showdown round would be pretty smart. I'd like to think there is **** all chance of that working based on the quality of each side but who knows? Showdowns often don't follow form trends.

I love to see Cornes get called out more than anyone, but these umpires are having a laugh. A defence to defamation is if a statement is opinion. Thats literally what their job is, to give opinions. They’re not journalists, they literally have a panel to give there thoughts and opinions.

Slippery slope silencing the media.

Umpires need to focus on being better at their jobs rather than crying hurt feelings whenever someone criticizes them. It’s one of the reasons the game is in the state it is because we can’t have honest discussions and feedback about umpiring performance.
Nah - journalists very much have to worry about defamation when writing or giving opinions. Also this is not just about poorly umpiring but the implication they didn’t care about players welfare and are thus unfit to do the job.

But it is worth noting that Australia’s defo laws are pathetic and do hinder free speech in a way that would not occur in the USA

I still think Ken walks some time after the bye. Maybe around round 18 or thereabouts. That would give Carr 6 games to muck around.
I really don't think they want Carr taking over for a few weeks and showing just how shit he is

Me neither, but wouldn’t their discussion be predicated upon the factual assertion made by AFL HQ? Wasn’t all the discussion centred around the AFL’s clustereff handling of the event?

Watch him step aside after round 19.

Then we get an invigorated stress free Port Adelaide with nothing to lose in Rd 20.
How good would that be, welcome to coaching Josh with an 80pt loss.