Autopsy Round 15 - Collingwood v St Kilda

Getting rid of Membrey has never made sense to me. Personally I think Ross marked his card the day he didnt turn up to the final. Hate seeing ex players doing well at other teams, it's like watching your ex with another guy, but wish the skunk well.
Him or Sharman - Sharman the future Tim not..
Ok with Membrey in his twighlight at pies good luck to him but he’s not what we need at our stage

Did a lot right but also did a bit wrong in the end.

What’s the point of training Wilson as an inside if we just chuck him back to the wing.

Zero point giving Clark 20 CBAs at 66% game time. If he hasn’t improved his tank enough in 8 seasons of footy to impact a game when he’s not inside a phone booth then he never will.

Not enough rotations through the middle which looked stock standard and vanilla by the end.

Probably Sinclair’s worse game for as long as I can remember.

Odd starting Byrnes to say the least.

Liked Viking’s debut.

Statistically we did a lot right, just lacked a little polish inside 50, and let them run away in the last with some bruise free footy.

Him or Sharman - Sharman the future Tim not..
Ok with Membrey in his twighlight at pies good luck to him but he’s not what we need at our stage
Agreed. Membrey would be struggling to get a game with us at the moment even with King out. If he was we'd all be saying to drop him and play one of the kids in his place.
I'm actually surprised he's getting a game at the Pies. Hasn't set the world on fire in any game for the Pies but usually snags one or two goals each week in a team that's really firing. I actually don't think skunk is best 22 at the Pies and with deGoey available his position will be flaky. Good luck to him, hope he holds his place but he's no loss to us given our list as it stands.

Saw some green shoots tonight. Thought Keeler really showed something tonight, was great until he was subbed because he was gassed. Also competed really well in the ruck (Ryder vibes) which bodes well for the future of our ruck stocks.

Speaking of the ruck, Marshall monstered. I really hope he stays when De Koning comes because he would make a great CHF but I honestly think he is a bit of a poisoned chalice as a ruck. Racks up numbers but doesnt actually help the team except when he is drifting around taking marks and kicking goals (which he does really well and could do as a CHF). Daicos made a point of singling out Cameron tonight and highlighting how important he is to Collingwood's systems which is why TDK is so important.

It's been this way for years. I love RoMa because he gives 100% every week, but he's overrated somewhat because of his big fantasy numbers. His first priority is to get the ball and blindly boot it as far as he can. He literally tried to soccer the ball out of the ruck about 8 times tonight. Cameron was smarter, more proactive and more disciplined. I can now see why he got AA over Marshall last year.

This is yet another game that highlights how important it is that we get a confident and healthy King back in the side, especially if Keeler can keep improving. Tauru has already proven how critical he will be to help our undersized defense.

Clark had a good second half and showed his composure and ball winning ability, but needs to be more consistent throughout. I was happy to see Wilson play a good game, hopefully he can use his time in the VFL as a springboard like Pou did last year. Was sad to see Pou looking so upset, but I love this kid because he just wants it so bad and doesn't try to hide it. Our list is full of introverts and it's good to see someone who you can see wants to be great and doesn't hide from it.

Feeling much better after that compared to the Dogs debacle.

Hardly.

Saints general manager of football David Misson confirmed Phillipou had been carrying a plantaris issue since the club’s Round 12 clash with Melbourne in Alice Springs.

“He trained fully all week no problem, first warm up (today) no worries. As soon as he came out for that second warm up, he felt a sharp pain and said he couldn’t play,” Misson said.

Last year it was the back, then it was the hip, then the calf, now the foot? What the heck is going on down there?

What's going on with Higgo? Can't play with Butler in the side as well? First 10 games he was on AA pace with 28 goals at 3.5 shots a game. Last 4 games he's kicked 2 goals at 1.5 shots a game.

Getting rid of Membrey has never made sense to me. Personally I think Ross marked his card the day he didnt turn up to the final. Hate seeing ex players doing well at other teams, it's like watching your ex with another guy, but wish the skunk well.
We never "got rid" of him. Don't fall into the media narrative that we gave him the sack. We offered him a contract. The Pies offered him a better contract which we gave him full blessing to take. Unfortunate but that's the business side of footy. I wish him the best

Biggest difference between these two sides was just confidence. The Pies knew they had us covered and trusted in their game style, while many individual Saints players were panicking on and off from the start leading to some poor turnovers or missed opportunities.

The workrate was there, the gamestyle was fine, the skills weren't even that bad - it's just mindset that's the hard part. The game's played in the six inches between the ears.

Are our medical team up to the job? Questions need to be asked over summer you’d hope

In the post match presser Lyon says that "the sport science people were concerned" but since he trained and Pou said he was good to go, they picked him. Sounds like the qualified people got overruled by vibes

That game plus the previous Dogs game, pretty much highlighted all our issues that need addressing to go forward and up the ladder. Hard to compete with top teams, when senior players just don't bring their best game, and the younger brigade are still sorting their games out and building their tanks. There's some tactical issues, especially in defensive work across the lines, that coachy and his assistants need to sort out. The young fellas all show promise, though looking at the VFL game, I think that Boxshall should come in over Trav, and Carroll over Byrnes

We needed to prioritise Owens and Sharman. Only so many undersized key forwards a team can carry at once.

Hardly.

Saints general manager of football David Misson confirmed Phillipou had been carrying a plantaris issue since the club’s Round 12 clash with Melbourne in Alice Springs.

“He trained fully all week no problem, first warm up (today) no worries. As soon as he came out for that second warm up, he felt a sharp pain and said he couldn’t play,” Misson said.

“Club says in interview they didn’t stuff it up”. Shock horror.

Pulled something at training - nah he’s alright. Off in the first minute against Melbourne. Rinse and repeat last night but this time couldn’t even get through the warmup. Don’t need to be a medical professor to work that one out. Once I can understand but twice is amateur hour.

Biggest difference between these two sides was just confidence. The Pies knew they had us covered and trusted in their game style, while many individual Saints players were panicking on and off from the start leading to some poor turnovers or missed opportunities.

The workrate was there, the gamestyle was fine, the skills weren't even that bad - it's just mindset that's the hard part. The game's played in the six inches between the ears.
I was really happy with the way our skills looked for most of the game to theirs.
We just need to keep getting young quality into the team.
And play lots of games together to get the sort of cohesion the pies have.

Pulled something at training - nah he’s alright. Off in the first minute against Melbourne. Rinse and repeat last night but this time couldn’t even get through the warmup. Don’t need to be a medical professor to work that one out. Once I can understand but twice is amateur hour.
So you didnt want us to name him after fully completing a week of training with no issues?

From Lyon to the medical staff, to the surgeon we use, I have absolutely no confidence in what the Saints are doing.

The treatment of Pou's injury here is utterly bizarre. We seem to have NFI what was going on with King.

Lyon insists on rolling out the exact same midfield rotations. Yeah sure, last night was a better performance, but we were still quite poor in a lot of areas.

This list does have some potential. We are 5-9 and grossly underperforming.

Edit: I will add to this our recruiting has left us completely exposed. We have no key forward or key back depth. Could have very easily picked up a 200cm key forward in Whitlock to have somebody coming through.

Nah, lets get another defender in Barrett who is guess what "undersized." Anybody watching the 2s yesterday would have seen that Barrett is not big enough to halve a contest, ended up having 6 kicked on him.

Maybe he would have a good third tall, but we need to be recruiting and developing some key position players. Then Lyon turns around and says "We are a bit undersized." Well some of us have been saying that for a decade Ross. This scattergun approach to list building is not working.

We just keep making small mistakes but they compound to the point where we have a unbalanced list, which further blunts kids development as you have too many competiting for a similar spot.

If the talks of Bergman and Aleer are true, we are doing it again🤣 How many defenders can you have on the list, none of which can play key position? Aleer is a maybe, but still skinny and 194cm.

The mind boggles at the things we do.

Honestly felt the opposite watching him. He was a great player for us but he wouldn't make a difference now. He fits into a side where he's basically their sixth best forward.

So you didnt want us to name him after fully completing a week of training with no issues?
That’s correct, especially given what had already happened. We try and play funny buggers (no no it’s not a calf it’s a plantaris - WTF is that) and act like we’re smarter than everyone else but I don’t think we’re anywhere near as good as we think we are in the medical room. Nobody comes back without one or two setbacks.