SANFL List Management 2024-25

Its because players can move 4 or 5 grades over a few weeks, so as players have to own their own jumper they give out numbers that can't be repeated, if they end up in the higher grades.

I was asked what number I wanted and they started in the high 100's. I went with 191 because I figured I was never going to play A grade and would have to improve a fair bit to play B grade, so I figured over time I could get my number down. And it happened. I also didn't want a 200 number as they were smaller numbers to fit on the jumper.

After a couple of years I tore off the one of the 1's and it became 19 and then a couple of years later tore off the other 1 and it became 9. Number 9 was awarded to a star player in the A grade so secretary Dr Fred Chocka Bloch had no problem with me wearing 9 in the lower grades.

I reckon it was in 1990 when the Blacks had 9 open age teams, and Chocka told me he had registered 353 players.

A guy I played with - Rattling Robert Read - wore 173. He had part of his number torn off in a game, Chocka gave him new numbers for his mum to sow on, and she sowed it on as 731.

These days I think the Blacks have 6 open age male teams and 3 open age female teams.
We didn't have these problems at North Pines 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Remember playing under your dad, one of my first games of senior footy, had a squiz at the number of the bloke I was standing playing CHB, #1256. Three minutes later found #1258 thinking it was the same bloke and then their CHF, #1256 kicked a goal and I was sitting in our Forward Pocket…

Omg haha at Para Hills or North Pines? I swear dad knew everyone! He unfortunately passed away in 2021.

Pines, He was a great man and always had time for everyone. The world needs more blokes like him and Uncle Bomber!

Confirmation that Preston Cockatoo-Collins is in the QAFL with Morningside, and left Port Districts.
489843038_1410216359958676_3463181588486436767_n.jpg

Maybe he did the same thing as Surman did after he didn't get a mid year draft selection and asked to be released....
Was an emergency for us this weekend so probs not

WWT lost by 124 points (actually had a second half recovery) and Burgoyne had 9 touches, 1 more than old mate Nathan Barkla.

I didn't know Rome Burgoyne was allowed to play league for the eagles, I thought he could only play in their reserves when not selected for us.
514279145_1387298096121360_3906233940022060105_n.jpg
Freaking rules are so confusing. Wish we just kept the magpies reserves/academy team. Least we could've kept our SANFL listed players together when they get squeezed out of the league team.

SANFL List Management 2024-25