SANFL List Management 2024-25

• Thread starter Thread starter RossFC

Hugh Ferrari, Dustin Launer, Will O'Brien, Cormack O'Reilly and Kye Roberts re-sign for another year.

New signings:
Jack Watkins - Recruited from North Melbourne VFL, 24 year old midfielder who was their captain.
Mack Bowman - Recruited from South Clare. 24 year old who also played a game for North Adelaide in 2022.
Ryan Carnelly - Recruited from Goolwa/Port Elliot. Played 3 games for Centrals in 2020.
Nic Couroupis - Recruited from Henley Sharks. Also played a game for West Adelaide in 2023.
Happy to see Hugh Ferrari stay. Had a good solid year, at one point Was our highest goal scorer

SANFL top-up players in the squad for Crows trial game
Mack Bowman
Rome Burgoyne
Ryan Carnelly
Nic Couroupis
Hugh Ferrari
Heath Growden
Austin Harris
Dustin Launer
Shay Linke
Kyle Marshall
Jez McLennan
Will O’Brien
Cormack O’Reilly
Kye Roberts
Jack Watkins
Jake Weidemann

Bailey Chamberlain, Harry Williams, Aidan Turner, Brayden Calvett, Josh Byrne and Miller Carter have re-signed.

Preston Cockatoo-Collins (Morningside QAFL), Dylan Aldridge (Moonta/PINT), Will Ferrari (Old Ignatians), Lachlan Pascoe (Golden Grove), Reed Stevens (Goodwood Saints), Oliver Cheesman (Glenunga), Beau Baldwin (Rostrevor OC), Cody Gilchrist (South Gawler) and Nathaniel Cooper (Goodwood Saints/Tiwi Bombers) have all left.

New aligned clubs:
Kye Roberts has left Murray Bridge Ramblers, and his new aligned club is South Gawler.
Harry Williams has left Solomontown, and his new aligned club is South Clare.

Finalised sanfl list

Nick Moore (c)
Jez McLennan*
Jack Watkins*
Oli Francou
Rome Burgoyne*
Kyle Marshall
Jake Weidemann
Shay Linke*
Nic Couroupis*
Hugh Ferrari
Aidan Turner
Will O’Brien
Ryan Carnelly*
Miller Carter
Dustin Launer
Bailey Chamberlain
Josh Byrne
Brayden Calvett
Kye Roberts
Harry Williams
Heath Growden*
Austin Harris*
Mack Bowman*
Cormack O’Reilly

Bailey Chamberlain, Harry Williams, Aidan Turner, Brayden Calvett, Josh Byrne and Miller Carter have re-signed.

Preston Cockatoo-Collins (Morningside QAFL), Dylan Aldridge (Moonta/PINT), Will Ferrari (Old Ignatians), Lachlan Pascoe (Golden Grove), Reed Stevens (Goodwood Saints), Oliver Cheesman (Glenunga), Beau Baldwin (Rostrevor OC), Cody Gilchrist (South Gawler) and Nathaniel Cooper (Goodwood Saints/Tiwi Bombers) have all left.
Was just about to post this haha

Happy Josh Byrne re signed, he looked really damn good in the few games he played before his injury. Hope to see abit of him this year

According to the SANFL site, Cockatoo Collins signed for Port District
Was already there. For some reason he's registered with Morningside in the QAFL now.

SANFL team numbers

1 Nick Moore
46 Jack Watkins
47 Jez McLennan
48 Jake Weidemann
49 Hugh Ferrari
51 Aidan Turner
52 Josh byrne
53 Dustin Launer
54 Ollie Francou
55 Bailey Chamberlain
56 Kyle Marshall
58 Miller Carter
60 Shay Linke
61 Ryan Carnelly
62 Harry Williams
63 Nic Couroupis
64 Austin Harris
65 Kye Roberts
66 Heath Growden
67 Mack Bowman
68 Rome Burgoyne
70 Will O’Brien
72 Brayden Calvett
73 Cormack O’Reilly

SANFL team numbers

1 Nick Moore
46 Jack Watkins
47 Jez McLennan
48 Jake Weidemann
49 Hugh Ferrari
51 Aidan Turner
52 Josh byrne
53 Dustin Launer
54 Ollie Francou
55 Bailey Chamberlain
56 Kyle Marshall
58 Miller Carter
60 Shay Linke
61 Ryan Carnelly
62 Harry Williams
63 Nic Couroupis
64 Austin Harris
65 Kye Roberts
66 Heath Growden
67 Mack Bowman
68 Rome Burgoyne
70 Will O’Brien
72 Brayden Calvett
73 Cormack O’Reilly
Looks like an Adelaide Uni set of numbers.

My cousin says "South Adelaide" lol

I dont see why some players can't wear higher numbers, we know what power players will never play for the magpies, so let guys like Jez, Watkins, Weids wear those numbers
It's 1 club so everyone gets their own locker and number. If the AFL captain was coming back from injury and was playing SANFL, he'd use No.20.

But they didn't during the Summo days. Rudloff wore 4, Tom Grey wore 5, Sharrad wore 7, Reynolds wore 10.

Don't get me wrong, I prefer this than what they were doing during the Suttclife days, where outside of him, everyone had random numbers, one week Weidemann would be wearing 16, then the next 42, then the next 45, then back to 16, it was ridiculous.

But it is silly seeing the numbers in the 70s

But they didn't during the Summo days. Rudloff wore 4, Tom Grey wore 5, Sharrad wore 7, Reynolds wore 10.

Don't get me wrong, I prefer this than what they were doing during the Suttclife days, where outside of him, everyone had random numbers, one week Weidemann would be wearing 16, then the next 42, then the next 45, then back to 16, it was ridiculous.

But it is silly seeing the numbers in the 70s
Well I'm not sure why 70, 72 and 73 are being used when 50, 57 and 59 are available.

There was a Blacks player called Damien who played down in the old A6s or lower and he wore 666.

RussellEbertHandball might know him.
I will have to think about it and who it was. I will ask a couple of people.

I do remember someone wore it, but I don't think it was between 1983-91 when I played for the club.

It's something that I could see Dirty Darrien O'Reilly would have done. He played around that division near the end of my time and continued on after I moved to Sydney.

Adelaide Uni often have 3 digit numbers. Used to see their C/D grades play near Park 10 when I played lacrosse there.
My eldest son's C grade side has played against Uni in some seasons.
Can remember a bloke with a number in the 300's 😳
Must be a lower grade player who rose up the ranks, or else it was the only number available 😃

Adelaide Uni often have 3 digit numbers. Used to see their C/D grades play near Park 10 when I played lacrosse there.
Its because players can move 4 or 5 grades over a few weeks, so as players have to own their own jumper they give out numbers that can't be repeated, if they end up in the higher grades.

I was asked what number I wanted and they started in the high 100's. I went with 191 because I figured I was never going to play A grade and would have to improve a fair bit to play B grade, so I figured over time I could get my number down. And it happened. I also didn't want a 200 number as they were smaller numbers to fit on the jumper.

After a couple of years I tore off the one of the 1's and it became 19 and then a couple of years later tore off the other 1 and it became 9. Number 9 was awarded to a star player in the A grade so secretary Dr Fred Chocka Bloch had no problem with me wearing 9 in the lower grades.

I reckon it was in 1990 when the Blacks had 9 open age teams, and Chocka told me he had registered 353 players.

A guy I played with - Rattling Robert Read - wore 173. He had part of his number torn off in a game, Chocka gave him new numbers for his mum to sow on, and she sowed it on as 731.

These days I think the Blacks have 6 open age male teams and 3 open age female teams.

Its because players can move 4 or 5 grades over a few weeks, so as players have to own their own jumper they give out numbers that can't be repeated, if they end up in the higher grades.

I was asked what number I wanted and they started in the high 100's. I went with 191 because I figured I was never going to play A grade and would have to improve a fair bit to play B grade, so I figured over time I could get my number down. And it happened. I also didn't want a 200 number as they were smaller numbers to fit on the jumper.

After a couple of years I tore of the 1 and became 19 and then a couple of years later tore off the other 1 and became 9. Number 9 was awarded to a star player in the A grade so secretary Dr Fred Chocka Bloch had no problem with me wearing 9 in the lower grades.

I reckon it was in 1990 when the Blacks had 9 open age teams, and Chocka told me he had registered 353 players.

A guy I played with - Rattling Robert Read - wore 173. He had part of his number torn off in a game, Chocka gave him new numbers for his mum to sow on, and she sowed it on as 731.

These days I think the Blacks have 6 open age male teams and 3 open age female teams.
I attended one of those end of season games at Adelaide oval in the late 1960's with a mate who played colts footy for Sturt to watch them play the vfl premiers Carlton, and the curtain raiser for that game was the ammo premiers Adelaide Uni v the sanfl magoo's premiers Norwood.

Uni had a fair headed rover half forward type who had the number 62 and a half on his jumper, resulting in plenty of laughing and joking amongst the crowd.