List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

It’s not ‘a few hundred k’ it’s the ability to pay 105% of the cap when we’ve been paying 95% - an additional 10%.

The cap will be close to $17mil next season. 10% of $17mil is $1.7mil.
TDK is $1.7m.

Some posters on here want to move on from Steele & Dougal over summer. Potentially Ro. So suddenly we’ve got an even bigger hole of space to fill to reach the cap floor, let alone hit the 105% we’re able to.
The suggestion from Caro was that we’re only at 95% because we’re front ending contracts. Without that we’re actually closer to 85%, meaning we can pay 20% more next year, or $3.4 mill.
If they don’t get TDK they can give it to me.

The suggestion from Caro was that we’re only at 95% because we’re front ending contracts. Without that we’re actually closer to 85%, meaning we can pay 20% more next year, or $3.4 mill.
If they don’t get TDK they can give it to me.
And simultaneously willing to offer Rowell close to $2m a season.

The TDK contract will be so front loaded it’ll will have no zero effect on wanting to pay for the elusive A-Grade midfielder we’ve been chasing for 15 years.

Can’t we just be excited we have a player who is wants to come to us in his prime opposed to players who have passed it or we’re banking will hit it with us?

For those who say “he’s only coming for the money”, I say wake up and realise where we are at. Until we can find consistency and stability in the realm of a Geelong or Collingwood, money is our draw card.

The TDK contract will be so front loaded it’ll will have no zero effect on wanting to pay for the elusive A-Grade midfielder we’ve been chasing for 15 years.

Can’t we just be excited we have a player who is wants to come to us in his prime opposed to players who have passed it or we’re banking will hit it with us?

For those who say “he’s only coming for the money”, I say wake up and realise where we are at. Until we can find consistency and stability in the realm of a Geelong or Collingwood, money is our draw card.
Of course he is only coming for money, why does that matter? It is obvious. But who cares. He has checked out at Carlton and saving himself for his new club.

Based on last night TDK has checked out.

Interesting my Carlton mate 6 weeks ago said TDK was a superstar in the making.

Last few weeks- he was never worth $1.7M pa and you blokes are fools if you destroy your salary cap.

Last night it was he will never leave because he won’t get to play in front of huge crowds @ Saints (hope he enjoyed the utter humiliation last night playing in front a big crowd for a Club that is absolutely nowhere. Honestly they are in far worse shape than us in the medium term).

Carlton supporters - just delusional!

100% this.

SDK in return so he can play with is brother. I reckon we could cover some of Marshall's salary for a bit to help u out with cap space.
My mind is racing thinking of the thought. Is Marshall for SDK fair value?

Gut feel yes.

2026 backline: SDK, Aleer, Wilkie, Sinclair, Stocker, Hastie. Caminiti as depth or moves up field.

Webster retires.

Howard traded for points for Fincher.

Exciting times.

Gut feel yes.

2026 backline: SDK, Aleer, Wilkie, Sinclair, Stocker, Hastie. Caminiti as depth or moves up field.

Webster retires.

Exciting times.
Needs more Tauru.
Edit- where's NAS?

Last few weeks- he was never worth $1.7M pa and you blokes are fools if you destroy your salary cap.

Last night it was he will never leave because he won’t get to play in front of huge crowds @ Saints (hope he enjoyed the utter humiliation last night playing in front a big crowd for a Club that is absolutely nowhere. Honestly they are in far worse shape than us in the medium term).

The Scum are just a zombie team now. It'll be interesting to see if the executive will accept a rebuild or fall into the trap of self delusion. Either way is fine, they'll be forced into rebuilding when Tassie come in no matter what.

After last nights experience, I can tell you one for certain.

TDK will only have one more one question for SOS and that's - Can you really guarantee me that if I come to St Kilda I won't be stuck playing FF for 40% of the game?

I'm expecting SOS's answer will be - no worries there, if you join the Saints then Rowan will be playing at Geelong.

Your first mistake was engaging in any form of conversation with a Carlton supporter.

They think all their players are stars, that they should be contenders etc.

They are all the same. Even the ones that seem to come across as genuine and reasonable - they are just foxing, waiting for the slightest drip of success to go full nuffie.

They are the worst supporter base bar none.

Gut feel yes.

Webster retires.

Exciting times.
I reckon Cats would consider that overs for us, given their respective ages. However, if we paid some of his salary which enabled them to lure another gun, maybe they look at it.

Your first mistake was engaging in any form of conversation with a Carlton supporter.

They think all their players are stars, that they should be contenders etc.

They are all the same. Even the ones that seem to come across as genuine and reasonable - they are just foxing, waiting for the slightest drip of success to go full nuffie.

They are the worst supporter base bar none.
Guilty as charged your Honour!

After last nights experience, I can tell you one for certain.

TDK will only have one more one question for SOS and that's - Can you really guarantee me that if I come to St Kilda I won't be stuck playing FF for 40% of the game?

I'm expecting SOS's answer will be - no worries there, if you join the Saints then Rowan will be playing at Geelong.
And that’s fine. This year’s Geelong first and next years second.

We send that second to GWS for Aleer.

A first and Aleer for Rowan.

Try and get Steele over to GWS for their first.

Unless someone contracted pops up from here as wanting out.

3 firsts + Fincher & TDK + Aleer.

Steele and Marshall out.

Some interesting comments in Age article during the week from Chris Pelchen comparing Carlton's situation with the position the Saints found themselves in 2011 after our unsuccessful flag attempts.

At least we got to finals

"This situation appears similar to one I experienced at St Kilda at the end of 2011, where the top 10 players attracted in excess of 60 per cent of the salary cap and were collectively paid over 20 per cent more than the top 10 players at Hawthorn from where I had just come – a team that included Luke Hodge, Sam Mitchell, Jordan Lewis, Lance Franklin, Jarryd Roughead, Shaun Burgoyne, Cyril Rioli, Grant Birchall, Josh Gibson and Brad Sewell.

Rather than operating a suitably tapered player payments model, St Kilda and now, it appears, Carlton, choose to pay their best players above market value, either out of fear of losing them, or due to the void in talent between these and others on their list."

King is not on $1m+.....

It was prominently publicised that we signed him on a long contract at significantly under what he could have got elsewhere...
That just means other clubs offered north of 1m. I could be wrong, but I have seen nothing to suggest it would be under 1m. All references to his contract seem to suggest "around 1m". If it is less, it wouldn't be by much.

And that’s fine. This year’s Geelong first and next years second.

We send that second to GWS for Aleer.

A first and Aleer for Rowan.

Try and get Steele over to GWS for their first.

Unless someone contracted pops up from here as wanting out.

3 firsts + Fincher & TDK + Aleer.

Steele and Marshall out.
Not sure if we would do that well in the trades but fundamentally, that's the scenario that seems to be at play.

Then we'd need two things to happen next year for us to become a finals team.

1: KING MUST PLAY REGULARLY!!!

2: Someone, anyone must make an Ed Richards, Miles Bergman output leap in the midfield.

I'm getting beyond frustrated that most people cannot comprehend this. We need to spend that money one way or another. The front loading means his contract will be pretty average by the time we plan on contending. It is a no brainer getting him without trading anything out, even on that money.

If he doesn't take that money, it still needs to be spent somewhere else, and no other A-graders want to come. So spend it on TDK now and get a big fish while we can!

Not sure if we would do that well in the trades but fundamentally, that's the scenario that seems to be at play.

2: Someone, anyone must make an Ed Richards, Miles Bergman output leap in the midfield.
If Geelong finish top 4. That pick turns into a traditional early ish second rounder

That just means other clubs offered north of 1m. I could be wrong, but I have seen nothing to suggest it would be under 1m. All references to his contract seem to suggest "around 1m". If it is less, it wouldn't be by much.

Last year during all the Battle compensation talk, there was articles saying that by the end of 2030 $1m per season wouldn’t necessarily trigger band 2 compo.

King is not on $1m+.....

It was prominently publicised that we signed him on a long contract at significantly under what he could have got elsewhere...
Still, not bad coin for going to the gym.

I think either Garcia or Pou are capable of stepping up to that level.