Review R19: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Gold Coast SUNS

They're as good at judging distance run as they are at judging 15m kicks

If the AFL wanted they could have distance data fed to the umpires in real time. The technology is good enough.

They don't care

What was good...... pretty much everything.

What was bad, the utterly predictable, unpredictable umpiring. Absolutely garbage.

What was ugly..... booing Mac Andrew. Yep he's a flog, and yep he's so easy to wind up that he makes JHF and Reid look like church mice, but it was needless.

Extremely pleasing to win a game without Dawson being the biggest factor.

We are a very very serious football side.
Why cant we boo Mac Andrew? Can fans not boo opposition players? As you have noted, he is a flog, people dont like him, and they were expressing that. If there was anything to do with race in it, fair enough, but there isnt.

He should be called Captain Obvious
Next match I watch Dermot commentate I'm going to play the Dermot Brereton Patronising Comment Drinking Game. Every time he says 'good boy', I have a shot.

I expect to be shitfaced by midway through the first qtr.

I’ll give credit where it’s due to Berry. I was skeptical with him playing this year. But he’s impressed me last night.
Was really noticeable at the game how Rowell-like he is these days at being able to run out of congestion to get space. He's come on nicely.

How many people watched the replay of the Rankine travelling call, vs only having seen it live?

Watching it live on TV, my initial reaction was WTF umpire? Then Kayo showed the replay, which showed that Rankine was well and truly travelling, and that the umpire got it 100% right.
Interesting. Was not my impression having seen it live or on the replay but it's possible I guess.
I also reckon I could find more than 10 instances of other players taking more steps than that example that weren't paid

Interesting. Was not my impression having seen it live or on the replay but it's possible I guess.
I also reckon I could find more than 10 instances of other players taking more steps than that example that weren't paid
No doubt about that at all - as has been pointed out previously, Lance Franklin was often allowed to run 30m without being called.

The fact is that he was called correctly. Whether they missed numerous other similar offences is immaterial. FWIW, Rankine wasn't the only player pinged for travelling last night.

I was worried about Peatling's shoulder. Looked quite an awkward one last week. Got strapped up and played on but you never know how these things settle down.

Needn't have worried. He was immense yesterday. Crashed in as per usual, no strapping
The bloke is an animal

I love him. He's unpolished with his skills but a total nuisance to the opposition. Pretty quick too.
Yeah he’s a fast rising favourite. Looks like he might snap at any moment but bounces back up every time.

How many people watched the replay of the Rankine travelling call, vs only having seen it live?

Watching it live on TV, my initial reaction was WTF umpire? Then Kayo showed the replay, which showed that Rankine was well and truly travelling, and that the umpire got it 100% right.

Bounce location

1753067780038.png

Ran too far called

maths.png

Based on my calculations he ran approximately 15 to 18 meters which is technically correct but extremely harsh

I love - just love - watching Hardwick whine about frees in the coaches box :)

His "swings and round-a-bouts" comment just gets better and better.

He obviously sent his team out to complain in the second half, Anderson spent more time complaining than playing football.

Loved the whole shebang, all of it. We won on every scoreboard that matters.
I find it very amusing how Hardwick is constantly complaining now that he is experiencing it all from outside of the Melbourne bubble.

I can just imagine how much of a sook he'll have if GC lose a GF under his tenure

Don't forget he ran around in a circle for a bit, before retreating backwards - only then was he called.

I'm factoring that in. The locations I marked are ~15.6 meters apart, he runs diagonally then straight down, not too much backtracking at all.

I actually reckons he travels further between his second last and last bounce

1753069562842.png

1753069672513.png

Review R19: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Gold Coast SUNS