Are West Coast the worst team since Fitzroy 1996?

The answer is yes, they are the worst team since Fitzroy 1996. Fitzroy were bad for 3 seasons, 94 - 96 and it would have been really hard to put in during the last part with the club folding.

Games 66 Wins - 8 Losses - 58 Win % = 12.12%

Current WC team for the past 4 seasons

Games 86 Wins - 11 Losses - 75 Win % = 12.79%

If they don't win a game for the rest of the year they go past them and their record is worse for longer.
No team in modern times over 5 years have been as bad as North.

North have only 19 wins with 103 losses since 2020.

No team in modern times over 5 years have been as bad as North.

North have only 19 wins with 103 losses since 2020.
WC will have 11 in 4 seasons if they don't win again this season which is a higher probability. I can't see them winning 8 games next year so I think your 5 year record will get broken.

Ginbey will be a good player - he's a third tall/flanker but he'll be a career player. Has had a good season, something many of his team-mates haven't.

Hewett is a goer but has struggled to stay on the park.

Still, most WCE folk don't lose sleep over this one.

Ginbey is one of the players earning his pay, at present.

Playing above his weight division.

Be West Coast. Trade your top draft picks for experienced players. Then turn around and say “look at our list, we have no top 10 picks, we need a priority pick”. Profit.
That was Jon Ralph who said that.

Now let me ask you this, what should WCE have done?

Split pick in 2022, panned for it.

Didn't split in 2023 and took Reid, panned for not splitting.

Panned for not having enough senior leaders, split pick to bring in Baker after being shafted initially by Hawthorn during trade week, panned for that also.

Replaced every single off field senior position since the start of last year.

So genius, tell me how, since 2022, WCE should've handled things?

Bear in mind that in that from 2011-2021, WCE had a total of one top 10 draft pick during that time(Sheed) due to their ladder position.

Not every club gets thrown multiple top 10 draft picks every year for free like Gold Coast does, so what's the solution for a club that has had a total of 4 top 10 draft picks from 2011-now?

In a media landscape that features Tom Morris and Sam McClure, Jon Ralph is often overlooked as the biggest flog in the business, but when you actually look closer at his contributions (?) to the news cycle, he really does stake a significant claim for this status.

In my mind Melbourne of 2013 vintage will always take some beating in these discussions.

I went to their game against Essendon in Round 2 of that year. 148 point trouncing, Essendon kicked the last 15 goals of the game.

I was there that night with someone who’d also gone down the highway to witness their 186 game against Geelong 18 months earlier and he was adamant the mauling from Essendon was worse; at least Geelong 2011 were an amazing side, so you could reason they were just on a hiding to nothing that day.

It was a very odd experience as the supporter of the team doing the mauling; kind of felt awkward and not that enjoyable after a certain point, because the opposition were so obviously beyond broken and shattered as a side.
13' would have been the Mark Neeld period i guess.
They were putrid on field and off.
They were is a worse position then W.C.

This current West Coast side is worse than their 2022-2024 sides which were compared to Fitzroy 1996.
I know North have been bad in recent years but not even they have been as bad as the current West Coast side.
Port weren't even this bad in 2011 despite having tarps and no money.

Do you think the current West Coast side is the worst since Fitzroy 1996?

On field maybe there is an argument as we have read so far.

Off field. Lol. Still get 44,000 turning up and making profits. A balance sheet the envy of the competition even when at the bottom rebuilding.

So......no.

Panned for not having enough senior leaders, split pick to bring in Baker after being shafted initially by Hawthorn during trade week, panned for that also.

Bear in mind that in that from 2011-2021, WCE had a total of one top 10 draft pick during that time(Sheed) due to their ladder position.

Not every club gets thrown multiple top 10 draft picks every year for free like Gold Coast does, so what's the solution for a club that has had a total of 4 top 10 draft picks from 2011-now?
I ain’t reading all of that. I’m happy for you. Or sorry that it happened.

Its definrtly been worse. IMHO the biggest issue Eagles have had since 2018 is simply our player management. In that space of tine we lost 4 players to concussion retirement, 6 players to early retirements due to injury issues and multiple players due to salary cap issues. At one point we did have 1 mill+ on our cap for concussion retirements (Venables and Sheppard)

In a way the losses havnt been as bad as watching the players fall away. I cant remember the last time we had a player legit play a retirement match to be honest. I think maybe Josh Kennedy? Everyone else has retired injured, been traded or retired concussed. Sheed/Shuey/NicNat/Shep/Venables/Gov/Redden/Vardy/Edwards is a insane amount of players to lose to injury in the space of 3 years.

People focus alot on the wins/losses but to me losing the above in such a way has been the most disappointing part of all. It truly sucks that in Round 20 we go to a home game to watch 2 legends of the club drive by in a ute to say goodbye. In a way we need to fix that before we fix anything else. You cant have a club that exists on saying goodbye to players on the back of a truck when its all said and done.

On this, is there concern about the high performance/medical team re the soft tissue injuries? Obviously concussion is a different kettle of fish, but Yeo, Shuey, etc unable to get on the park feels like more than a coincidence from the outside looking in.

Yes when Shuey was still playing for us. But since then we pretty much sacked them all. Yeo's injury this year was a trauma one from a tackle.

As it currently stands, the new HP/Med team has us at 1 current soft tissue injury. And to be fair, its to Callum Jaimeson (who I hear you ask) and he does injuries getting out of bed.

Be West Coast. Trade your top draft picks for experienced players. Then turn around and say “look at our list, we have no top 10 picks, we need a priority pick”. Profit.

Be Gold Coast. Build a list of top 10 picks, fail, then turn around and say “look at our list, we need priority picks and an academy, we don't have enough top 10 picks".

Before last year the only first round picks WC have traded for experienced players are pick 18 in 2012, pick 21 in 2015, pick 16 in 2019 and pick 18 in 2020.

Want to take a stab why we didn't have a top 10 pick in 2011/12, 2014 and 2015-21?

They won 10 games in 2012-14. They were pretty terrible.
Yet they slowly improved when Paul Roos was coach from 2014 to 2016.

4 wins in 2014, then 7 wins in 2015, then 10 wins in 2016.

Simon Goodwin got them 9th in 2017 then finals in 2018.

I mean swans in 1992 to 1994 was bad. Yet somehow improved quickly to make finals in 1996

Why would it?

Don’t think I’ve ever denied the team is currently bad.
I reckon the thread implies both, yes you are shit and will be shit for a long time :)

your post hasn't aged well.....tigers 4 games clear of your mob and also higher on the ladder than the joker who liked your post. :p

They never age well in his favor :)

Yep we are shite at the moment, no doubt. We have had these patches in the past although this one has gone longer than we would have liked. But am so glad I support WC and not the likes of Essendon, Carlton, Adelaide, Freo and Port. Blues and Carlton two of the most successful VFL clubs and the other 3 from powerful AFL states that have done nothing – just bouncing between 5 th and 14th on the ladder sometimes looking like they will make a run then crashing back to earth to disappoint the supporters and never seriously threatening for a flag. To have not seen a flag for over 22 years would be a hard slog as a supporter. At least we have had a number of good times since our inception. I have no issue riding out this low period because I know the club will win a flag again before most of the teams mentioned above. The best balance sheet in the comp and still getting 44000 supporters isn’t too bad for a team worse than Fitzroy…

Taken Curtin for starters. Taken Carlton's picks instead of ours. Not gone for good (not great) older players with top picks.

If Reid does go, look for an established player in the trade not just more picks. You have plenty of those.

And dont pay 15% of the cap to Reid if he does stay. That will ruin the team.

Taken Curtin for starters. Taken Carlton's picks instead of ours. Not gone for good (not great) older players with top picks.

If Reid does go, look for an established player in the trade not just more picks. You have plenty of those.

And dont pay 15% of the cap to Reid if he does stay. That will ruin the team.
Why would we have taken Curtin over Reid?

Also, the rumoured amount is roughly 11% of the cap, not 15.

Tom Lynch has the highest salary in the AFL, relative to the salary cap. Did ok for Richmond, no?

No I don't, I remain convinced the Demons side coached by Mark Neeld was the worst side I have ever seen.

I still remain convinced that Melbourne side is worse. They had only 5 wins in the entire time Neeld was there and I'm pretty sure 3 was against the Giants, 1 was Gold Coast and the other was Essendon. The Giants and Gold Coast were brand new sides then. In the year Neeld got the sack (2013), they finished 17th, only won 2 games and had a percentage of 54.1%. They were truly atrocious. Just go watch videos of their games back then and you won't find a shining light anywhere.

Are West Coast the worst team since Fitzroy 1996?