Official Match Thread Season 40, Round 1: Dragons FFC vs Fighting Furies at Ljp86's Lair

Yeah... not like this. I reckon it was the most flat I've felt about a performance since losing that 22' prelim. I know it wasn't Newcombe's fault and certainly don't blame him or the Hawks, but I was so angry at Howe going down. Poor bloke finally gets back and cops that (again no one's fault just so frustrating). I remember saying to a friend "I hate footy sometimes". Reckon the way I felt - that flatness - was mirrored by the players.

I would hope to see a response against Adelaide - a team we've beaten the last 10 times - but based on respective forms, gee it's hard to imagine.

Stupid Pies.

Beating Hawks would have bettered West Coasts draft hand while potentially knocking them out of finals.

Interesting. With how much American culture stuff crept in here, especially the likes of Halloween, I'm surprised pumpkin pies haven't become a thing too
I’ve found most people here don’t like Halloween. They kind of turn their noses up and say it’s an American thing rather unpleasantly. 🤷🏼‍♀️ They do go overboard at home a lot of the time; but, what’s not to like about little kids dressed up, knocking on your door, giving them candy…they’re so cute. And fussing over them, asking who they are…it doesn’t hurt to interact and show them that not all people are bad.

I’ve bought candy every year since I’ve been here. This past Halloween was the first time I got to give some out. I sat at the sidewalk so I could be seen , waved my arms to get their attention…geez. :laughv1: I had fun! Mr. Strig didn’t know what to make of me. 🤭 He did say that he enjoyed it. He sat back on the porch with the dog. We got mostly teenagers. They’re a little easier to interact with. At least they weren’t out getting into trouble or doing that stupid screeching their tires on the roads. 👍🏻

I’ve found most people here don’t like Halloween. They kind of turn their noses up and say it’s an American thing rather unpleasantly. 🤷🏼‍♀️ They do go overboard at home a lot of the time; but, what’s not to like about little kids dressed up, knocking on your door, giving them candy…they’re so cute. And fussing over them, asking who they are…it doesn’t hurt to interact and show them that not all people are bad.

I’ve bought candy every year since I’ve been here. This past Halloween was the first time I got to give some out. I sat at the sidewalk so I could be seen , waved my arms to get their attention…geez. :laughv1: I had fun! Mr. Strig didn’t know what to make of me. 🤭 He did say that he enjoyed it. He sat back on the porch with the dog. We got mostly teenagers. They’re a little easier to interact with. At least they weren’t out getting into trouble or doing that stupid screeching their tires on the roads. 👍🏻
I enjoy it personally :thumbsu: All a bit of harmless fun

The kids enjoy it, and it is good for building your local community - I've got no problem with it as long as those that aren't participating are left alone.

If your porch light is on during the time frame…all are welcome. Plus, a decorated house is a good sign they’re into it.

So weird that it’s not in the fall though. Doesn’t get dark enough.

Nothing like a
Excited Sugar Rush GIF by Leroy Patterson
😆

:hearteyes::hearteyes:

Yeah... not like this. I reckon it was the most flat I've felt about a performance since losing that 22' prelim. I know it wasn't Newcombe's fault and certainly don't blame him or the Hawks, but I was so angry at Howe going down. Poor bloke finally gets back and cops that (again no one's fault just so frustrating). I remember saying to a friend "I hate footy sometimes". Reckon the way I felt - that flatness - was mirrored by the players.

I would hope to see a response against Adelaide - a team we've beaten the last 10 times - but based on respective forms, gee it's hard to imagine.

I just hope Howe's ok, you hate to see that happen to anyone. He would have been beneficial for you guys last night with his intercept marking. I've got a feeling the Moore/Howe combo would have influenced the decision to persist with 4 talls in our forward line for this match.

Stupid Pies.

Beating Hawks would have bettered West Coasts draft hand while potentially knocking them out of finals.

This just makes me throb even more...

Hi Strigoi , I hate to tell you that the Art of Rucking has developed a lot since you last got a hit-out.

I am happy to take you for an extra training session this week, if you want to learn from the best.

I understand if you are a little to shy to approach me for this lesson, as it would be an awe-inspiring experience.

Hi Strigoi , I hate to tell you that the Art of Rucking has developed a lot since you last got a hit-out.

I am happy to take you for an extra training session this week, if you want to learn from the best.

I understand if you are a little to shy to approach me for this lesson, as it would be an awe-inspiring experience.
Oh yeah - also I look forward to our match up on Sunday.

It's actually a close run thing historically between you two as ruck:

Screenshot_20250808_110911_Samsung Internet.jpg

I just hope Howe's ok, you hate to see that happen to anyone. He would have been beneficial for you guys last night with his intercept marking. I've got a feeling the Moore/Howe combo would have influenced the decision to persist with 4 talls in our forward line for this match.
If the players felt as flat as I did when it happened, it makes sense there was very little effort. Being beaten by a better team on the night is one thing, but for the first time in a long time we genuinely lacked effort which has been a hallmark of ours. Definitely at a crossroads now, want to see a far better effort against the Crows (who we typically play well against).

:hearteyes::hearteyes:

Sounds good - except for the peanut butter. That would ruin the taste to me. I’d also add some other spices. They look cute. 🙂

Surely you jest. I’m a very good ruck at my whopping 5’2”. I can hit, smack, jump, kick, and lope down the field with the best of them.

Catch you Sunday, bub.

Arrested Development Flirt GIF

Sounds good - except for the peanut butter. That would ruin the taste to me. I’d also add some other spices. They look cute. 🙂
I'm a peanut butter fiend so could go for it, but I could totally understand anyone else not wanting that mix.

Official Match Thread Season 40, Round 1: Dragons FFC vs Fighting Furies at Ljp86's Lair