Recommitted Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera - two year extension

The deal always gets done.

If NWM asks to be traded. He will get traded.

Saints might not get exactly what they feel he is worth.. but thats trading.. every club thinks they get less than what they feel their player is worth when a top player at the club leaves.

Do you reckon the crows thought they got top dollar for brad crouch?.. Jake Lever?.. Patrick Dangerfield?.. at the time they traded these players?.

The only way NWM stays a saint is if he wants to be a st kilda player.. he’s not going to stay just cause “the saints cant seem to get what they want at the trade table for him”..

No player would ever be traded if that was how it worked because the club losing the player would just put a massive unrealistic price on their players head and say “stay please cause the other club wont pay us this”..
Let me be clear. I’ve not once said in many posts in this thread that we will get maximum value.

But we won’t be taking 3 firsts that end up as Seconds and fringe players because that’s all they’ll offer or because they don’t want to trade players out.

I’ve said if in the event he does want to leave a fair deal will get struck.

Now that happens isn’t on the saints. It’s an Adelaide/port issue

It doesn't matter. The reality of how deals have been the last 10 years shows that uncontracted players 99 % of the time get to the club they choose and 99 % the club losing them gets relative unders on the trade. That's just where the afl has allowed the system to get to.
Unders and getting bent over are wildly different.

Say the only fact with me.

He doesn’t get to either club unless the saints agree to a trade.

To those who think that a two or three mid-twenties picks gets it done because he's out of contract: if St Kilda says no thanks and the choice is between going to West Coast in the PSD and staying with St Kilda for two years to give the SA teams time put a proper package together, which do you think he choses? Uproot his life to move to a worse team in a place he doesn't want to be, or a few more years at the club he currently plays for?

When was the last time a ooc player after requesting a trade turned around and stayed at that club because the club wasn't happy with the offer? Give me one or two decent examples.

Unders and getting bent over are wildly different.

Say the only fact with me.

He doesn’t get to either club unless the saints agree to a trade.

If the saints don't agree to a trade they lose him for nothing. That unfortunately counteracts your argument.

Losing him for nothing and losing him for 3 second rounders are the same thing.

So back to facts.

He doesn’t get to either SA club without the saints agreeing to a trade.

That’s not me saying he won’t get there. That’s me saying a fair deal is required

I love when people try to pretend they are educated in player trades.

Cameron was a RFA. The Giants matched a bid and instead of getting pick 18ish as compo.

They got pick 13,15,20 for Jezza and 2 second rounders.

So they upgraded 2 seconds and upgraded the pick they got instead of what the compo equivalent would have been.

There is no free agency applicable to this process. So it is entirely irrelevant to the discussion.

The Cameron trade is relevant in the sense that GWS had three options in that scenario.

1) take the FA compo (first round pick).
2) match the contract and force a trade
3) match the contract, fail to come to an agreement on a trade, resulting in losing him for nothing.

Obviously option 3 was never a realistic option. Also note there is no option 4) being where they match the contract, fail to sort out a trade but still keep him instead of seeing him go to the PSD.

No realistic person is saying that St. Kilda just have to bend over and take whatever offer is presented. But if NWM requests a trade to either SA clubs, and the offer is in the vicinity of two first round picks and possible further pick swaps in St. Kilda's favour, the Saints aren't going to say no and lose him for nothing irrespective of what you believe is to be a fair deal.

If the offer was a few seconds it would be a whole different discussion. The offer will be multiple firsts and change, not something any side in the middle of a rebuild is going to snub.

Losing him for nothing and losing him for 3 second rounders are the same thing.

So back to facts.

He doesn’t get to either SA club without the saints agreeing to a trade.

That’s not me saying he won’t get there. That’s me saying a fair deal is required

They are not the same thing at all.
Ask a club like Geelong that routinely drafts quality players outside the top 10.
It's unfortunate but you take the picks and you make it work for you.
You dont end up being so stubborn that you get nothing.

They are not the same thing at all.
Ask a club like Geelong that routinely drafts quality players outside the top 10.
It's unfortunate but you take the picks and you make it work for you.
You dont end up being so stubborn that you get nothing.
We aren’t Geelong. So irrelevant.

Going by the evidence I have seen (pressers, journo’s etc) he’ll be requesting a trade and in this day and age the deals get done. Like one of the earlier posters mentioned, Bailey Smith.
It’s tough for Saints fans to accept the reality that they will be back in no man’s land, massively overpaying for a B grade ruckman and a crippled salary cap

The Cameron trade is relevant in the sense that GWS had three options in that scenario.

1) take the FA compo (first round pick).
2) match the contract and force a trade
3) match the contract, fail to come to an agreement on a trade, resulting in losing him for nothing.

Obviously option 3 was never a realistic option. Also note there is no option 4) being where they match the contract, fail to sort out a trade but still keep him instead of seeing him go to the PSD.

No realistic person is saying that St. Kilda just have to bend over and take whatever offer is presented. But if NWM requests a trade to either SA clubs, and the offer is in the vicinity of two first round picks and possible further pick swaps in St. Kilda's favour, the Saints aren't going to say no and lose him for nothing irrespective of what you believe is to be a fair deal.

If the offer was a few seconds it would be a whole different discussion. The offer will be multiple firsts and change, not something any side in the middle of a rebuild is going to snub.
Great, so you agree that when people put junk like here are our 3 firsts for the next 3 years that look to be more like second rounders when the picks are “live” on draft night.

Won’t get it done.

That’s all any stkilda fan has pointed out.

How you get better quality is on you. The likelihood is that players would need to be involved directly or indirectly

When was the last time a ooc player after requesting a trade turned around and stayed at that club because the club wasn't happy with the offer? Give me one or two decent examples.

I don't think I need to provide examples for you to consider the question that I asked.

Which do you think Nas would prefer in the short term? Remain at the Saints, or pack up his entire life for a move to Perth for a year or two?

Pointless arguing with Stav. Not worth the brain cells. Acts like he's the saints list management and he's in charge and knows everything yet knows little IMO and has had many of his claims wrong throughout the last several weeks. Him and others stating what Jay Clark has said or Joey has said somehow makes it factual. I wouldn't trust Jay Clark on anything footy either, he's clueless. Joey is just confident and I don't blame him wanting to be confident but it doesn't mean it's a fact. But saints supporters will read body languages and all sorts of things and claim it magically means he's staying. On topic though, saints refusing 3 first rounders because these supporters claim its not enough or because of the compromised draft especially in 2027 is irrelevant and would make saints out to be an even worse club managed by imbeciles. They won't refuse future 1sts and force Nas hand to delist and enter the draft. It's bad PR for starters and saints get absolutely nothing making it worse. That and the AFL would definitely step in if 3 1st round picks were offered and saints refused and tell saints to accept it. Again, bad PR otherwise. A trade will happen one way or the other and it won't get to the PSD and I can guarantee that all these players names from Crows and Ports being thrown around that need to be in the trade WONT be. Yes, saints can ask these players and its up to the players but it just won't happen. No club will trade an elite player for an elite player unless it's a mutual player swap by all parties and more so if both OOC. As I've stated before it will be 2 first round picks REGARDLESS of what they are and MAYBE. fringe player who decides they want that opportunity. Won't be Butters, Won't be Bergman, Won't be Rozee, won't be Soligo, won't be Worrell, won't be Rachele, etc etc.. When Nas finally decides and its to move back to SA then it will happen. Simple.

And no one knows anything except Nas, his manager and family (possibly), no media journalist knows, no saints member knows, no saints journalist knows, and so on.. it's obvious has heck that no one knows. Will be known at the end of the season, more likely closer towards saints best and fairest or after it.

The deal always gets done.

If NWM asks to be traded. He will get traded.

Saints might not get exactly what they feel he is worth.. but thats trading.. every club thinks they get less than what they feel their player is worth when a top player at the club leaves.

Do you reckon the crows thought they got top dollar for brad crouch?.. Jake Lever?.. Patrick Dangerfield?.. at the time they traded these players?.

The only way NWM stays a saint is if he wants to be a st kilda player.. he’s not going to stay just cause “the saints cant seem to get what they want at the trade table for him”..

No player would ever be traded if that was how it worked because the club losing the player would just put a massive unrealistic price on their players head and say “stay please cause the other club wont pay us this”..
Ah yes please enlighten us about the Brad Crouch trade

The reality is they’ll probably have to settle for someone like Farrell or Bergman and a first-rounder from Port. Or maybe Pedlar or Curtin plus a late first-rounder from the Crows at best. Saints fans can keep dreaming about three firsts, but especially with him out of contract, that’s just fantasy.

Crows would be silly to let Curtin be in this trade even if it's to goto Eagles for picks. Curtin is definitely going to be a solid player and a utility type. He's got a lot more potential even more so then Reid overall in my opinion. Both different player types but Curtin would be a player that a team needs more so than a player like Reid.

The play might just be to convince him to sign for 2 years on stupid money and then gamble that you can convince him to re-sign in another 2 years. The Saints won't be getting any value in a trade for him, especially if he is trading with Adelaide. He's worth a top 5 pick and another in the early teens at worst.

I don't think I need to provide examples for you to consider the question that I asked.

Which do you think Nas would prefer in the short term? Remain at the Saints, or pack up his entire life for a move to Perth for a year or two?

Good. So you agree that what you are suggesting would be the opposite of all recent precedents of how these trades work then.

Let me be clear. I’ve not once said in many posts in this thread that we will get maximum value.

But we won’t be taking 3 firsts that end up as Seconds and fringe players because that’s all they’ll offer or because they don’t want to trade players out.

I’ve said if in the event he does want to leave a fair deal will get struck.

Now that happens isn’t on the saints. It’s an Adelaide/port issue
Mate we heard this argument a hundred times ad nauseum from North supporters when JHF requested a trade.

Its not on Port/Crows to offer players against their will to trade. This isn't the NBA.

If no players are interested in going to the saints it will be picks and picks only.

Mate we heard this argument a hundred times ad nauseum from North supporters when JHF requested a trade.

Its not on Port/Crows to offer players against their will to trade. This isn't the NBA.

If no players are interested in going to the saints it will be picks and picks only.
Yeah that’s fine but the problem is the picks themselves can’t be crap. They won’t take 3 firsts that end up as 25 no matter what Port or Crom say

Ummm as I've said on posts before... If 3 first round picks are offered ( as an example ) and saints refuse that offer I can assure you that the AFL will step in and pretty much say to accept it REGARDLESS of the stupid nonsense of these picks potentially being late picks due to compromised drafts.. Especially if Saints said no to 3 firsts and were going to refuse trade to force him to sign with them knowing full well he wants to depart to SA ( if that is what happens ) and to stop a PSD situation because of stupid list management by Saints. Guaranteed the AFL will step in and pull the Saints in line. There is absolutely no way the Saints will refuse or argue with 3 first round picks. Even if it was 2 first round picks whether this year and 2026 or both futures in 2026 and 2027.. seriously there are some ignorant and silly people on here. Stop listening to people like Stav at Saints who is absolutely clueless.

Can you provide examples where the AFL has stepped in and made clubs accept trades? 🙃

I’ve not said any player has to go to stkilda.

But if we tell you we want 1 x5 pick and 1 x 10 from this draft.

How do you think either club is getting them?