jmac70
On the porch
Gee, we got out of jail there. Great to see Jordy back to near his best.
Hopefully Hawks can knock off Brisbane by a single point margin.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
I don’t think it’s necessary with Frampton and Moore . We need to replace Howe with a mobile player not a tall player.Probably already being said. With Howe like to miss I would actually play McStay down back for Howe and bring in Cox up forward and as second ruck.
Surprised more hasn't been said about the performance of the Goat last night.I don’t think it’s necessary with Frampton and Moore . We need to replace Howe with a mobile player not a tall player.
You know, hindsight is 20/20.Easy to assess the game on the back of the Port win. But at the time, when we thought we needed a 60+ win against a bottom 6 team, we were horrid. To trail by 2+ goals in Q4 and need a late comeback is a huge worry.
For our psyche, we needed to win one of the games against the other top 8 teams - not Melbourne.
He has to. Mcstay has to go back, we are extremely vulnerable with only 2 kpd, moore becomes a fish out of water when he doesn’t have another key defender other than frampton alongside him.The issue is with our mids. So many panicked kicks.
I think finals footy will suit our game plan though.
No way Cox comes in, we would be even worse with him as a forward.
We got lucky Melbourne’s goal kicking went bad. They were 11.5 before ending the game with 5 straight behinds.
Someone find me a wall to run through.You know, hindsight is 20/20.
What have we learned from AFL Season 2025 to date:
- We learned the Magpies rebounded from an undesirable flag defense, in 2024, to bounce back with the third "top four" finish, in four seasons, under Fly as Head Coach.
- We learned the Magpies got a little ahead of themselves by running off 14 wins in their first 16 games, and 15 of 17, before a series of
- After Round 17, the Pies' record stood at 14-2 (56 points), first place, 10 points clear of the second placed team. They ultimately finished at 16-7 (64 points), and "likely" fourth place finish and double chance.
- In doing so, they slumped towards the end of the season, when they played the best teams in the league, during a period when their own players were injured, not performing at peak efficiency or simply couldn't put those top teams away in the end as we've been grown accustomed to seeing.
- Fly and his staff handled the "balancing act" well between resting their older players, and holding back their injured stars, until they were "ready" to resume playing, in a strategic move to have them as healthy and energetic as possible for the finals.
- The Pies blooded young talent throughout the season and offered hope for the future when the team's older players finish up.
I could go on and on, but while many here expressed disappointment in how the team played against their old rivals, it all worked out in the end.
I remember reading here after the Crows' defeat how delicious the home cookin' was by the refs. Maybe a bad luck thing for us. But pissing and moaning about it doesn't get you very far. You handle it with class, keep pushing forward and, soon enough, you catch a break that changes your fortune and, all of a sudden, things are looking so bright, you gotta wear shades! Sure enough, Adelaide got caught with their foot in their mouth when Rankine lost his professional bearing and broke the league's conduct policy. Bam! Gone for four weeks. Following the win at the 'G over the Demons, back in Adelaide, where the luck went sour for the Pies, the week before, the undermanned hit over-inspired Power knock out the Suns to, for all intents and purposes, gift us a top four finish. Maybe the Adelaide gods were a little late in evening the score for us, from last week, but Hinckley and Boak's farewell match was the most unlikely of gifts given to us which should be just enough to seal the top four finish.
From here on out, instead of worrying, I'm going to heed the words of Fly, who has told us, over and over, that this phase of the season is finished. They kick into a new season, new strategy, new hopes. With two weeks to rest and prepare, he'll have our boys ready to go.
No sense worrying about the past and what might have been. They're in and have a double chance. I think many of us, after that season-opening slaughter at the hands of GWS, would have thought a top four finish would have been out of the question. I didn't feel that way and look how this season has played out thus far.
Consider the top nine teams have been the same since Round 17, jockeying for position to get into the finals. I think we're going to be in for an outstanding finals campaign!
Here's hoping the Black and White flag is hoisted at the top of the hill when it's all said and done.
Peace!
I might be the odd man out here, but I’d rather play Adelaide in Adelaide if we’re to be without Howe, than Geelong at the MCG right now.Gee, we got out of jail there. Great to see Jordy back to near his best.
Yes, there were a few players back in form last night and it was a great pre finals hit out against Melbourne. Exciting signs. It’s not the doom and gloom some are making it.Rewatched the last quarter, Maynard was huge. I reckon he saved us about 3 goals himself.
Agree with your sentiment. I’m largely indifferent. But as a general rule home is better than away so if I had a choice, I’ll pick Geelong.I might be the odd man out here, but I’d rather play Adelaide in Adelaide if we’re to be without Howe, than Geelong at the MCG right now.
I’d say the same if we didn’t have such an amazing record at the venue and against the team, plus Rankine out.Agree with your sentiment. I’m largely indifferent. But as a general rule home is better than away so if I had a choice, I’ll pick Geelong.
Definitely. Combine that with DeGoey building nicely and Houston playing one of his best games for us, there are heaps of positives to take.Yes, there were a few players back in form last night and it was a great pre finals hit out against Melbourne. Exciting signs. It’s not the doom and gloom some are making it.
You could see at the ground Maynard had his running game and ruthless attack back.
Great post. You have nailed it. We are right on track with Flys finals plan. Sure we had some hiccups but that will make us stronger and more resilient.You know, hindsight is 20/20.
- We learned the Magpies rebounded from an undesirable flag defense, in 2024, to bounce back with the third "top four" finish, in four seasons, under Fly as Head Coach.
- We learned the Magpies got a little ahead of themselves by running off 14 wins in their first 16 games, and 15 of 17, before a series of
- After Round 17, the Pies' record stood at 14-2 (56 points), first place, 10 points clear of the second placed team. They ultimately finished at 16-7 (64 points), and "likely" fourth place finish and double chance.
- In doing so, they slumped towards the end of the season, when they played the best teams in the league, during a period when their own players were injured, not performing at peak efficiency or simply couldn't put those top teams away in the end as we've been grown accustomed to seeing.
- Fly and his staff handled the "balancing act" well between resting their older players, and holding back their injured stars, until they were "ready" to resume playing, in a strategic move to have them as healthy and energetic as possible for the finals.
- The Pies blooded young talent throughout the season and offered hope for the future when the team's older players finish up.
I could go on and on, but while many here expressed disappointment in how the team played against their old rivals, it all worked out in the end.
I remember reading here after the Crows' defeat how delicious the home cookin' was by the refs. Maybe a bad luck thing for us. But pissing and moaning about it doesn't get you very far. You handle it with class, keep pushing forward and, soon enough, you catch a break that changes your fortune and, all of a sudden, things are looking so bright, you gotta wear shades! Sure enough, Adelaide got caught with their foot in their mouth when Rankine lost his professional bearing and broke the league's conduct policy. Bam! Gone for four weeks. Following the win at the 'G over the Demons, back in Adelaide, where the luck went sour for the Pies, the week before, the undermanned hit over-inspired Power knock out the Suns to, for all intents and purposes, gift us a top four finish. Maybe the Adelaide gods were a little late in evening the score for us, from last week, but Hinckley and Boak's farewell match was the most unlikely of gifts given to us which should be just enough to seal the top four finish.
From here on out, instead of worrying, I'm going to heed the words of Fly, who has told us, over and over, that this phase of the season is finished. They kick into a new season, new strategy, new hopes. With two weeks to rest and prepare, he'll have our boys ready to go.
No sense worrying about the past and what might have been. They're in and have a double chance. I think many of us, after that season-opening slaughter at the hands of GWS, would have thought a top four finish would have been out of the question. I didn't feel that way and look how this season has played out thus far.
Consider the top nine teams have been the same since Round 17, jockeying for position to get into the finals. I think we're going to be in for an outstanding finals campaign!
Here's hoping the Black and White flag is hoisted at the top of the hill when it's all said and done.
Peace!
Agree Melbourne is a good team that's had a crap year.Very pleasing win. Melbourne despite rumours to the contrary are a good team. They just had a crap year.
Loved Sideys game. Jordy needs to be cleaner but he’s building nicely. Lippa had some better moments with his inside 50 delivery. Roan was very clean and his kick to mcstay in a 2 on 1 contest was pinpoint accurate. Pendles just brings it when needed. Mccreery was outstanding on one foot. Frampton was awesome.
Gradually our forward connections are improving. Our forward line is not the best in the world but with better delivery they are good enough.
Easy to assess the game on the back of the Port win. But at the time, when we thought we needed a 60+ win against a bottom 6 team, we were horrid. To trail by 2+ goals in Q4 and need a late comeback is a huge worry.
For our psyche, we needed to win one of the games against the other top 8 teams - not Melbourne.
You know, hindsight is 20/20.
Peace!
Pendles activated god mode in the last quarter!!
I think Houston may be big in the finals. Playing wing on the MCG and dropping into holes in the backline is damaging. Looking forward to seeing his best.Definitely. Combine that with DeGoey building nicely and Houston playing one of his best games for us, there are heaps of positives to take.

He hasn't put a foot wrong in any senior game he's played. He has to stay in. Parker comes back for Howe and I'd play Allan over Lipinski. If Allan gets dropped for being soft how is Lipinski getting a game?
None of us ladder predictor/results options had Pies by 6 points Port by 4 points

Membery is the one who should go. A great back up, but no point of difference.I thought Lipinski was ok. McStay is well off, I think probably needs to be played out of the goal square…we’ve been throwing him back and in the ruck.
Pretty sure we beat lions in 2003 qualifying convincingly, then we all know what happened 3 weeks laterI've seen huge turnarounds in form once the finals start. I've seen sides flogged by 12 goals in a qualifying final and two weeks later flog the same team they were humiliated by. Geelong did this to Essendon in 1989. Essendon beat Geelong with the final score being: 24. 13. 157 to Geelong 11. 15. 81. Two weeks later they met in a preliminary final: Score Geelong: 24. 20. 164. to Essendon: 10. 10. 70.
Unbelievable. Anything can happen in a final. We are in with a chance.
Membery is the one who should go. A great back up, but no point of difference.
My question is why does Gawn go up forward to rest, whilst we bench Cameron? Why don't we rest Cameron up forward?
If we drop mcstay on the eve of finals we are basically saying you aren’t playing for the rest of the season. He’s down on form but people do still forget cox’s form. The old saying “the grass is greener” comes to mind.
Im not sure what the answer is.. no arguments mcstay isn’t offering a lot. But it would be a huge decision to replace him for finals. Which is what we’d be doing.
Cox is a ruckman that can chip in down forward.
Hes a backup if Cameron goes down NOT a replacement for a key forward.
Membery is the one who should go. A great back up, but no point of difference.